R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-19-2007, 06:31 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Fervidsea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 251
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default H.A.R.D. Lathe

Anyone have any luck with there HARD Lathe? I purachsed one last month and still can not get a good cut out of it.

When I move the bit left it doesnt cut. But when I move it back to the right it digs in to the comm and makes one huge mess out of it. Slowing down the speed of moving the bit back to the right helps just a little but it still looks like I am cutting spirals into it.

Any help? Suggestions? Anyone want to buy an expensive paper wieght?
Fervidsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 06:52 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 699
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AChupp2
Default

Eric Anderson has one. If he doesn't see this you might try sending him a message.
__________________
Fantom Racing Team Manager
AChupp2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 07:02 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Coming Soon " The Further adventures of NeedleDick Nicholas"
Posts: 149
Default Diamond bit

Hello,
If i could suggest, Order a carter Diamond bit. This will make that lathe cut like butter.
Trinity has the bits available.
I have a carter bit in the lathe and it's awesome.

Sarquis
__________________
Coming Soon...........
The Further Adventures of "NeedleDick Nicholas"

Sponsored by Grey Goose Vodka
Allendale Bar
Special Thanks to Upscaleescorts.net
"Where the RC big dog's go"
Now with delivery service and rates for Florida

"When you screw up, You find out who yours real friends are"

If having a letter that cost you $9000.00 gets you into Harvard, I'm in too
Sarquis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 07:04 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Fervidsea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 251
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I want to buy a diamond bit of course, however not until I can get a decent cut out of it with what I have.
Fervidsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 07:05 PM   #5
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

I use a carter diamond bit in mine and it leaves an awesome finish. One thing you will need to do with this lathe though is to start on the inside of a comm and cut out. Do not try to cut in with it. Make sure you lube the guides along the bottom very good. The lower block rides on a bunch of O rings and will bind up if not well lubed. That is also why you dont want to cut in and out...only when pulling out.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 07:07 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Fervidsea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 251
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Ok, so only cut from the inside out... that is what it has been doing but it seems it still doesnt give a great cut... Might just be the bit, but I would hate to buy a new one and jack it up as well.

Anywhere inparticular to pick up the diamond bit for it?
Fervidsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 07:08 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fervidsea
I want to buy a diamond bit of course, however not until I can get a decent cut out of it with what I have.
you cant get a decent cut with out a diamond
some say you can but you just cant.
wallyedmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 07:11 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 699
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AChupp2
Default

You can get them from teambrood.com or carterdiamondtools.com
__________________
Fantom Racing Team Manager
AChupp2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 07:18 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Fervidsea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 251
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Which bit?

Diamond Lathe Bit S-3353

or

Diamond Lathe Bit S-2907

This is off of broods site.
Fervidsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 07:22 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 699
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AChupp2
Default

Not sure. One is a left hand bit one is a right hand bit and I don't know which one you need for that lathe.
__________________
Fantom Racing Team Manager
AChupp2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 07:34 PM   #11
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fervidsea
Which bit?

Diamond Lathe Bit S-3353

or

Diamond Lathe Bit S-2907

This is off of broods site.
S-3353 is what you need. It will fit 90% of the lathes out there as well if you decide the Hard lathe isnt for you. Ive got about 4 of the carter bits for my two lathes. Once I use one of them for a year or so I send it in for re-lapping and put the other one in. I need to sell some of these and get a natural!! LOL

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 07:44 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

http://www.teamcobra.com/cobra/comlathes.htm try this.
wallyedmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 11:23 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
TeamButter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TeamButter
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports
...will bind up if not well lubed. That is also why you dont want to cut in and out...only when pulling out.

EA

You were speaking about a lathe right?
__________________
Xray / BMI Racing / KO Propo / Team Epic / Parma-PSE / High Velocity Racing / TeamButter / P3 Graphics / MDI Racing
TeamButter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 02:34 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
flameoutgarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Srcr Seattle, Wa
Posts: 3,642
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to flameoutgarrett
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fervidsea
Which bit?

Diamond Lathe Bit S-3353

or

Diamond Lathe Bit S-2907

This is off of broods site.
we have them in stock.

u want the 3353, which fits most other lathes, fantom uses the 2907, i have a hard lathes and i also put a diamond bit on there...cant beat the conv of not having to have a ps....

i do love my fantom tho...still can bring myself to stop using her..
__________________
Team fun-Www.rc-trim.com-Team Speedmerchant-Team Orca-Team Br00d
flameoutgarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 03:57 AM   #15
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Are you sure the motor is turning in the right direction, and that the lathe bit is in the right position? You should be able to get a good cut with a carbide bit.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XXIP Comm Lathe and Orion Quick set lathe vino1 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 01-25-2008 04:35 AM
Trinity Tru Lathe Motor Comm Cutter Lathe maximum R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-14-2007 04:56 PM
XIPP Super Lathe 3 / (pics) comm lathe diamond bit evostyle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 12-01-2006 12:53 PM
Motor Lathe (Integy Xipp X-Mod Super Lathe) Geppetto R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 01-27-2006 05:10 PM
Tire Lathe, Motor Dyno, Comm Lathe For Sale 17Mark71 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 06-05-2005 01:07 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net