R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-20-2007, 05:10 AM   #16
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 297
Default

Forgive me for getting off topic but, what makes this lathe so expensive? Is it because of the convenience of not needing external power or does it just cut that much better? From what I've seen, she sure looks pretty.

Jason
Stampede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 07:20 AM   #17
Tech Master
 
busman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Enumclaw, Washington
Posts: 1,435
Default

You must have the cutting bit lined up with the center line of the com, if it is'nt centered, as in above center or below it will dig or rub, not cut, center it and you're problems will vanish.

go talk to a machine shop, they will show you, you have a miniture version of what they have in the shop you visit.
__________________
But, Is it farther to Seattle or by Bus??????
Be obsequious as opposed to obtuse
The more Government expands, The more Freedom contracts!!
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 09:01 PM   #18
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stampede
Forgive me for getting off topic but, what makes this lathe so expensive? Is it because of the convenience of not needing external power or does it just cut that much better? From what I've seen, she sure looks pretty.

Jason
nothing really i like the fantom one the best,but i only own a cobra which iv had for a very long time
and its still true and the diamond bit is just as old.
i use the cobra lube to cut with.
but im sure its a very nice lathe,the pull arm i think is a little but if it works.
wallyedmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 09:47 PM   #19
Tech Fanatic
 
CHRIS CHAVEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Weekend Warrior
Posts: 962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge
Are you sure the motor is turning in the right direction, and that the lathe bit is in the right position? You should be able to get a good cut with a carbide bit.
I bet the motor is turning the wrong direction. I had the exact same results when the motor on my lathe was going backwards.
__________________
"Dirt is for growing Potatoes"
TQ RC Racing
CHRIS CHAVEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 11:45 PM   #20
Tech Elite
 
flameoutgarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Srcr Seattle, Wa
Posts: 3,642
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to flameoutgarrett
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge
Are you sure the motor is turning in the right direction, and that the lathe bit is in the right position? You should be able to get a good cut with a carbide bit.
the bit it comes with is just like the ones used in real machining....
it is a triangle and i tried everything to make it cut right....its loud and doesnt cut very well...put a diamond on and it cut way better...


(this is what i do for a living, i cut comms all day long and mess with lathes...)
__________________
Team fun-Www.rc-trim.com-Team Speedmerchant-Team Orca-Team Br00d
flameoutgarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 12:28 AM   #21
Tech Elite
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,020
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

ive seen him do it... TRUE STORY!!!!!
__________________
Maclan Racing Products-Bellgate Distributions-PR Racing- Prospeed
jeff jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 06:51 AM   #22
Tech Regular
 
thecrow2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 451
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallyedmonds
you cant get a decent cut with out a diamond
some say you can but you just cant.
Thats utter crap. The carbide bits cut just as good but detoriate faster, I doubt you can honestly tell much difference between the cuts anyway.
thecrow2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 08:18 AM   #23
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flameoutgarrett
(this is what i do for a living, i cut comms all day long and mess with lathes...)
I thought you just sat around drinking Monster Energy Drink and looked at Porn all day!!

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 08:20 AM   #24
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thecrow2k
Thats utter crap. The carbide bits cut just as good but detoriate faster, I doubt you can honestly tell much difference between the cuts anyway.
I know that you can get a good cut from carbide but I have NEVER been able to. And everyone I have seen try to use carbide never get a good cut either.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 09:30 AM   #25
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 1,853
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Getting a good cut out of a carbide blade is easy if you sharpen it yourself. To be honest I did exactly that for a while but the constant maintenance on the bits became a gigantic P.I.T.A. so I went back to a diamond bit. Easy to get good cuts and lasts a long time.
__________________
SMC ( www.smc-racing.com the only place to order your batteries online.), Awesomatix, Gonzo Paints, BN Racing

"Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery."
Advil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 02:58 PM   #26
Tech Regular
 
thecrow2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 451
Default

I cut two armatures using a carbide bit this weekend. Got the CD finish you look for, this was on a Twister lathe aswell. You dont need the best stuff to get a good cut.
thecrow2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 03:17 PM   #27
Tech Elite
 
flameoutgarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Srcr Seattle, Wa
Posts: 3,642
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to flameoutgarrett
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports
I thought you just sat around drinking Monster Energy Drink and looked at Porn all day!!

EA
you got me on the monster part.....but the porn is after work...lol

or at the races....it gets lonely there
__________________
Team fun-Www.rc-trim.com-Team Speedmerchant-Team Orca-Team Br00d
flameoutgarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 03:23 PM   #28
Tech Elite
 
RCSteve93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,601
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I get very good cuts with my Hudy Tech Lathe that uses a carbide bit. After 4 cuts I start looking really hard for imperfections. Usually at the 5th or 6th armature i'm cutting, it gets bad enough to change the bit. By the way, I've only been cutting communators for half a season now.
__________________
rm -rf /windows
RCSteve93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 04:48 PM   #29
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thecrow2k
Thats utter crap. The carbide bits cut just as good but detoriate faster, I doubt you can honestly tell much difference between the cuts anyway.
i can and dont say its uter crap thats not nice if i say i can i can
and a diamond lasts for eeeeevvvvvverrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr iv had ppl say my coms are to shiny and they can see there face it them i know i know you dont need this you just need it round but a diamond you put it in and forget about it.
wallyedmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 12:53 AM   #30
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Collins Colorado
Posts: 206
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default What the?

Where do youu guys come from. First I had to register to tell you guys this after years of just looking. Second, You can get a good cut out of a carbide bit and it is possible to get a better cut than a diamond bit. I have an Integy Super Auto Lathe. Possibly the best lathe for the money, only 180 bucks. it is not quite as cool as the Hudy auto lathes but is half the price too. it comes with a carbide bit. i used that bit for 3 years before the carbide was gone. and a new bit is only 12 bucks. it takes less than 10 seconds to sharpen the bit with a 6 dollar diamond knife sharpener i bought from Wal-Mart. it took me awhile but i figured out how to sharpen it to get a better cut that i ever got with a diamond bit on several other lathes. if you don't believe me read this http://www.bigjimracing.com/tuningtips.php
the part i want u to read is in the middle some where as why a carbide bit is better than a diamond. and the carbide bit on my lathe cut comms for more than 8 people many running multiple classes and it still lasted 3 years and i only sharpen it once a month and thats when the cuts START to get worn,
mxzhonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XXIP Comm Lathe and Orion Quick set lathe vino1 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 01-25-2008 04:35 AM
Trinity Tru Lathe Motor Comm Cutter Lathe maximum R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-14-2007 04:56 PM
XIPP Super Lathe 3 / (pics) comm lathe diamond bit evostyle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 12-01-2006 12:53 PM
Motor Lathe (Integy Xipp X-Mod Super Lathe) Geppetto R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 01-27-2006 05:10 PM
Tire Lathe, Motor Dyno, Comm Lathe For Sale 17Mark71 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 06-05-2005 01:07 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:27 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net