Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Is there an setup jig like Hudy for 1/12? >

Is there an setup jig like Hudy for 1/12?

Is there an setup jig like Hudy for 1/12?

Old 02-12-2007, 03:28 AM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (52)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: socal
Posts: 858
Trader Rating: 52 (98%+)
Default Is there an setup jig like Hudy for 1/12?

Is there a setup jig like Hudy for 1/12? I have 12L4. Thanks.
straightaway is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 03:43 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (41)
 
Anthony.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 2,874
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

When Xray comes out with their 1/12 you can bet there will be....
Anthony.L is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 04:37 AM
  #3  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (93)
 
BSchorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 4,824
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

When is their 12th scale going to come out? I havent heard anything about it, end of 07?
BSchorr is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 04:41 AM
  #4  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (13)
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,867
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

after wrenching on our new car trying to get our it up to speed,i wish i would have had a set up station for my 1/12th to save me some time.i think i am going to start on one.we got the new car working awesome but by the time we did it was too deep into qualifying.i will have a setup station very soon
protc3 is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 09:35 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Jekyll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 430
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by protc3
after wrenching on our new car trying to get our it up to speed,i wish i would have had a set up station for my 1/12th to save me some time.i think i am going to start on one.we got the new car working awesome but by the time we did it was too deep into qualifying.i will have a setup station very soon

I'll be ordering one for sure.

I never seem to get the toe the same on both sides.
Jekyll is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 09:44 AM
  #6  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 68
Default

Gentleman,

Check here:

http://www.unitytool.com/Unity_Tools...ek_boards.html

I think it rocks, it is not cheap but heck nothing is these days
Nilezb is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 09:44 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by protc3
after wrenching on our new car trying to get our it up to speed,i wish i would have had a set up station for my 1/12th to save me some time.i think i am going to start on one.we got the new car working awesome but by the time we did it was too deep into qualifying.i will have a setup station very soon
Jason,
Glad your going to make this happen.
I have the Niftech and it works pretty good but it seems it could be a bit better.
Thanks for always looking out for us racers...

-Shookie <><
Mr. Shookie is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 09:51 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (130)
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,692
Trader Rating: 130 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Nilezb
Gentleman,

Check here:

http://www.unitytool.com/Unity_Tools...ek_boards.html

I think it rocks, it is not cheap but heck nothing is these days
I have the Unity Tools Tweak/Setup station and it does rock....Can set toe and camber accurately on a 1/12th as well as balance it for tweak. I use the station on all my cars from my 1/12th scale, my touring cars, and my offroad cars. It comes with all 3 center bars to handle from 1/12th to 1/8th. Not to mention how cool it looks setup in your pit space
Glowster21 is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 10:45 AM
  #9  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Glowster21
I have the Unity Tools Tweak/Setup station and it does rock....Can set toe and camber accurately on a 1/12th as well as balance it for tweak. I use the station on all my cars from my 1/12th scale, my touring cars, and my offroad cars. It comes with all 3 center bars to handle from 1/12th to 1/8th. Not to mention how cool it looks setup in your pit space
3 bars? does it come with the toe/camber/caster measuring blocks as well?

curious on how it it sits on the bars to measure toe... what keeps it perfectly aligned with the bars?
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 01:51 AM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (52)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: socal
Posts: 858
Trader Rating: 52 (98%+)
Default

I have hudy jig for my 1/10 on road 1/8 on road and 1/8 off road. The cars seem to run straighter w/o fighting to left or right after aligements. Several of my friends also agree after I set up their cars/buggies.

People at my track run 19 on 1/12. It is super fast and I can't see how people can run by eye balling.
straightaway is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 03:49 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (130)
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,692
Trader Rating: 130 (100%+)
Default

It uses 3 separate length center bars for each scale. It also comes with toe/camber blocks that are machined with a channel to ride on the tweak bar itself. My buddy just used mine to set up his CRC 3.2r and was so stoked about how it worked he bought a unity station on the spot. I don't work for Unity, it's just a product that really works and makes it easier to set up a car.
Glowster21 is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 05:44 AM
  #12  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (261)
 
Scottrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 6,371
Trader Rating: 261 (100%+)
Default

I've got a Unity station (had to, I'm a complete tool whore) but guess what--I never get it out of the bag. In fact, the last several races I haven't even taken it with me.

The Niftech alignment bar will set toe EXACTLY. I can build a brand new car (done it a half-dozen times this season), sub-trim the servo, set the toe with the Niftech device and do the camber with an RPM guage set to -1 and the car will drive straight every time without touching the trim "lever". The Niftech piece is a little fiddley to learn, but after you've done it twice it's easy-peasy. It will do camber as well, but I like the ease and speed of the RPM guage for that. And at only $25 (plus $10 if you buy the RPM guage) you've got perfectly suitable tools.

That said, I set my toe to zero--which is a no-brainer with the Niftech. I can appreciate that if someone actually uses + or - toe it might be a bit more complicated and the Unity would "save the day". But zero toe and -1 degree camber give me the handling I want and the tires wear perfectly square every time.

The one advantage to the Unity is the fact you don't have to remove the front wheels to use it.

A further advantage to the Niftech is the ability to EASILY center the axle using it.

What the hell...get 'em both. I did

Scottrik
Scottrik is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 07:36 AM
  #13  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Nilezb
Gentleman,

Check here:

http://www.unitytool.com/Unity_Tools...ek_boards.html

I think it rocks, it is not cheap but heck nothing is these days
Thats the one I saw some factory drivers using at the birds.....
Nova F1 Racer is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 08:04 AM
  #14  
Team EAM
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,498
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

The Oval company KSG has one for pan cars. It looks like a smaller version of the Hudy set except it doenst have a plastic toe thing for the top. It has 4 pointer's....2 front and 2 back that you measure from. It sets camber as well. I used it at the Snowbirds. They retail for 74.95 and come in black and blue.

EA
EAMotorsports is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:29 AM
  #15  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
James35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 752
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Nova F1 Racer,
Were the factory drivers you are refering to from CRC? Mark Calandra told me the one they were using (looks like this Unity tool) was from Germany and cost $300. I wonder if it is the same item.
James35 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.