Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Need help picking an ESC!

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2007, 05:52 AM
Tech Apprentice

Need help picking an ESC!

Hi, i am looking for a new ESC for my tamiya TT01, i will be running a 17T motor (http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXJZN4&P=K) and need an ESC to use with that motor, i have looked at afew, tell me what you think.

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXDEM7&P=K

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXAXT8&P=M

Also, im pretty new to this, the standard motor what came with the TT01 didnt need breaking in, and i think the 17T motor i am buying will need breaking in, how do i do this? also any tips? ive heard of people breaking motors in under oil?

Thanks, Danny
Old 02-11-2007, 06:03 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)

Im not sure of your budget but I would look at one of the Novak speed controls. Also I would buy it at your Local Hobby Shop rather then Tower. They will provide better service for you.
Old 02-11-2007, 06:11 AM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)

Originally Posted by or8ital
Im not sure of your budget but I would look at one of the Novak speed controls. Also I would buy it at your Local Hobby Shop rather then Tower. They will provide better service for you.
The best advise he can get. Try to support your local tracks and shops 1st.

Go with a no motor limit speedcontrol.
With those two speed controls you may want to run a 19 turn?
Old 02-11-2007, 06:21 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default Novak

Novak are pretty darn good.
by the looks of your links..you'll be on a budget or restricted to a certain type of speedo (for spec type class).

take a look at the GTS, a bit cheaper than a gtx but good quality and has a 12 turn motor limit.

Tower hobbies GTS

if on a more tighter budget the XRS may work..it has a 14 turn motor limit.
Tower hobbies XRS

hope that helps.
Old 02-11-2007, 06:42 AM
Tech Apprentice