Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
15T motor with 17T ESC >

15T motor with 17T ESC

15T motor with 17T ESC

Old 02-06-2007, 03:56 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Default 15T motor with 17T ESC

can someone tell me the conciquences of using lower turn motor than your ESC is rated to?? i have a 17T robitronics ESCin my TT01 basher, and im up for a new motor was thinking of whacking in a 15T motor,.... possible problems???
Thanks in advance
ReVd_uP is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 04:55 AM
  #2  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

In short, the electronics can only cope with a certain amount of load. If its exceeded the ESC will go up in smoke, it is only designed for what it says.

Personally, I wouldnt try it just to risk burning up the ESC!
tc3team is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 11:32 PM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Default

even if it has a thermal cut off built in???
ReVd_uP is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 11:50 PM
  #4  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (22)
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

You dont want it shutting off all the time.
UN4RACING is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 11:52 PM
  #5  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (22)
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Throw in a 19 turn cameleon, there fast.
UN4RACING is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 11:58 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (30)
 
PoLsKiE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,256
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

ya true a chameleon 19 i was passing worked nitro tc3's in the turns with one i highly reccomend that or a checkpoint money 19
PoLsKiE is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 12:02 AM
  #7  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (22)
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by PoLsKiE
ya true a chameleon 19 i was passing worked nitro tc3's in the turns with one i highly reccomend that or a checkpoint money 19
Your ESC will run cooler to.
Rev: You could also put a fan on the ESC, But it will still over load it if you put to hot of a motor in it.
UN4RACING is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 02:11 AM
  #8  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

You may even get it to thermal if the gearing is out on a 17t motor. Most 19t motors these days are pretty good, I have used a checkpoint money motor for a while and had no problem with it.Give the esc a little breathing space and run a 19t at the most, to allow for bad gearing and general bashing when you are on and off the throttle/brakes a lot, it will ensure it does its job comfortably
tc3team is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 09:58 AM
  #9  
Tech Adept
 
Wayne1one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bowie, MD
Posts: 239
Default

Hey just run the 15t and tell us what happens in your next post . I cant wait
Wayne1one is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 10:26 AM
  #10  
Tech Adept
 
JonboyGB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 118
Default

Originally Posted by Wayne1one
Hey just run the 15t and tell us what happens in your next post . I cant wait
a little video would be good also!
JonboyGB is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 10:32 AM
  #11  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 559
Default

Originally Posted by JonboyGB
a little video would be good also!
Way to help a rookie. Listen to the helpful people. Dont run a lower turn motor than your esc is rated for. You will either burn up the speedo or just have it shut down on you all the time when it goes into thermal shut down.
WhoMe is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 10:34 AM
  #12  
Tech Adept
 
jo90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 125
Default

simple answer - don't. It's like the signs that say stay away from the tracks, you don't think "i'll just go a little closer to see if it will be ok"

Your speedo will go bang !
jo90 is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 11:19 AM
  #13  
Tech Adept
 
Wayne1one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bowie, MD
Posts: 239
Default

Im sorry, I just could'nt resist. Its simple if you know you have a 17t ESC everything thereafter is self explanitory.........(follow direction) simple and plain.

I thought the question was a joke, my bad
Wayne1one is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 03:44 PM
  #14  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Default

thanks for the help fellas (and the jokes ).... i only asked because a ran a 13T in it for a few mins borrowed out of a mates car, was just wondering how far i could push it before it turns into a smoke show.... i think ill stick to the ESC's limits for now and avoid pointless spending.... thanks again
ReVd_uP is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 04:16 PM
  #15  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
daveaustin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 482
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've done it before and it cut out after a minute or so. It worked again when it cooled down but it'd keep stopping pretty quickly. There was no damage to the esc.
daveaustin5 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.