R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-23-2007, 11:19 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 102
Default Question about Battery as a powersupply

I have a question about using a car or tractor battery as a power supply for my fantom dyno...I heard that these types work best, but I heard that you need to keep them on trickle chargers. Now what I was unclear about was is it ok to use the battery while it is being trickle charged? Also do you guys have any recommendations on which batteries(type or brand) are good to use for running the dyno? thanks Jeff
jeffbhhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 11:39 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 3,121
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to A. Rhodes
Default

You do not want to keep the trickle charge on when using the battery to power the dyno. Deep cycle batteries work best for powering the dyno. You should be able to pick one up at the local auto parts, Walmart, etc.

Optima makes some of the best batteries money can buy - http://www.optimabatteries.com/publi...nfig/home.html
__________________
Retired from RC....
Quantum - St. Croix - Bass Pro Shops - XPS - Rapala
A. Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 11:42 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,859
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to brians11
Default

If you have a 12 volt power supply, you can hook that directly to the battery in lieu of a trickle charger... I have a lead acid battery for a dyno, which seems to work well, and is lasting longer than the car/motorcycle battery. Possibly if I had kept the previous battery charged, it may not have been a problem, but those style batteries don't like to be ran down, whereas the lead acid battery has been fine to this point...
__________________
Team Tekin | Superiorhobbies.com
brians11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 12:14 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 102
Default

got another non battery related question, but has to do with the dyno...Would I be able to dyno both stock and spec (21t) motors using the same flywheel I have seen that there are two different flywheels... thanks again Jeff
jeffbhhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 01:11 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 3,121
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to A. Rhodes
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffbhhs
got another non battery related question, but has to do with the dyno...Would I be able to dyno both stock and spec (21t) motors using the same flywheel I have seen that there are two different flywheels... thanks again Jeff
Yes, the optional wheel is for mods, usually used with motors lower than 19T.
__________________
Retired from RC....
Quantum - St. Croix - Bass Pro Shops - XPS - Rapala
A. Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 02:19 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ROAR HAD ME BANNED FROM RC TECH.
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Another battery option that would be a little cheaper, lighter, and easier to use than the optima would be a 12V 33AH VRLA/AGM battery (http://www.interstatebatteries.com/e...archGroup&js=1) They are deep cycle (which is what you want) they are lighter, and it's $100 less than a optima.

You can go cheaper and run a wet cell deep cycle, like a marine/rv battery but you will have to deal with the mess. They are much cheaper in price though.

But in the end, I would question if you really need a dyno; unless your building motors most club racers don't need one. I don't know of many pro's who do other than a non dyno like a motormaster.
Desolas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007, 09:52 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
MEGAVOLTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: marshfield WI
Posts: 396
Default

I just use a 6 cell IB3800 pack to power my fantom dyno and it works great. the dyno only neens 5 volts to run and it can draw as many amps as it wants from the pack. You can run several tests before you need to repeak the pack. I know most people wont beleave that it's that easy, but try it , u'll see what I mean.
__________________
Remember, Every thing I post is just my opinion, But if you don't agree with it, You know where you can go.... LOL

Al Schwarze
MEGAVOLTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BK2 battery question myk505 Electric Off-Road 3 08-13-2005 06:33 AM
Yet another battery question SteveB Electric On-Road 3 03-06-2005 02:00 AM
This is gonna sound stupid question but I have a battery Question. Smoke21 Electric On-Road 7 04-25-2004 09:10 PM
indi charger question/3300mhz battery question TT_Vert Electric Off-Road 4 12-27-2003 12:46 PM
Battery question! tbbucschic Rookie Zone 52 10-10-2002 09:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:40 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net