Dyno Question

Old 01-22-2007, 11:24 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 102
Default Dyno Question

Hey everyone, Got a question about Fantom Dyno's what would be a sufficient power supply to get to run this? Or would it be better to get a battery? thanks Jeff
jeffbhhs is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 11:59 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Sal Amato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island ,New York
Posts: 2,246
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

I have a rivergate 55 amp that I run my turbo dyno on.I also run three chargers and two novak trays off it at the same time.Really good power supply.
Sal Amato is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 12:03 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
Andrew Gray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Fairfield, Pennsylvania
Posts: 555
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

IF you are going to use a power supply, you'll need a 75amp one. Most people will just use a deep cycle battery as they are cheaper than buying a 75 amp power supply.
Andrew Gray is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 12:26 PM
  #4  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 102
Default

Got another question for you guys, Do you know what the differences are between all of the different color faceplates? I know they are different versions, but do you know if there are any differences with hardware and performance? I have seen black simple face plates, blue face plates, and a red face plate...I know the black is the oldest and red is newest... thanks again Jeff
jeffbhhs is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 02:27 PM
  #5  
Tech Addict
 
BigDaddyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Port Moody, BC
Posts: 620
Default

I'm not aware of any differences. I had the oldest one with the plain black faceplate, and a newer one with the red plate and there wasn't any functional difference between the units.
BigDaddyT is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 09:22 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
 
MEGAVOLTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: marshfield WI
Posts: 396
Default

I just use a 6 cell 3800 battery pack to run my fantom dyno. It only needs 5 volts and with the pack it can draw as many amps as it needs, and because it only runs for about 10 seconds for each test, you can do alot of tests before you pull the pack down below 5 volts. If it takes 8 minuts at 30 amps to bring a 6 cell pack down to 5 volts, That means you should be able to do atleast 20 10 second test at 75 amps before you even get close to running the pack down to far. I'v ran 5 test in a row and then checked the pack and it still had almost a full charge. AL
MEGAVOLTS is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.