R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-28-2007, 07:21 PM   #91
Tech Regular
 
coons88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to coons88
Default

Used mine for the first time at a meeting this weekend and it was pretty good. Took me a couple of tests to work out the partial charge as it is in amps instead of milliamps. So far I have only one complaint being that the aligator clips are too fat and don't fit into the corally style plugs most people use on their batteries, but not too much of an issue.
__________________
Associated TC6.1 | Hobbywing V3 | LRP X12 | Spektrum | Futaba | Reedy
coons88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 09:27 AM   #92
Tech Apprentice
 
hotbodies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Selangor. Malaysia
Posts: 51
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default lipo charging method on pulsar3

hi there. need some help on lipo charging on the pulsar3. i have been charging my lipo packs (2 cells, 4000maah) on the pulsar3 without going thru a balancer. question is, will it deteriote the lipo packs?. at most time, i would just discharge n balance the lipo packs, then later charge it on the pulsar3. i know that the pulsar3 doesn't have a built in balancer.After the lipo packs are fully charge, i would use a voltmeter to check the individual cell. most of the times the volts in each cell are the same. i having contradicting idead on how to charge lipo3 on the pulsar3. some guy at the track says that a balancer must be use to charge the lipo packs on ther pulsar3. any comments?
hotbodies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 07:45 AM   #93
Tech Regular
 
steveonamission's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 348
Default

Ive been charging my trackpower 4900 from my pulser 3 without any problems.

Havent used a balancer so far, but maybe once in a while it should be done

Its not neccesary to balance it every time your charge

Discharging Lipo???? I would'nt, apparently it hurts the cells, and there is no advantage doing so.
steveonamission is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 09:19 AM   #94
Tech Adept
 
spoket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 142
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Is it worth to use E station two meter as a balancer together with pulsar 3 as a charger.
spoket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 01:14 AM   #95
Tech Fanatic
 
Tpg racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 967
Default

Sorry to bring up an old post but is this charger worth getting for charging lipo? Im still using Nimh on and off but planning to go lipo soon.

So is this charger still worth getting with the use of an external balancer during lipo charging?

How does it perform compared to other lipo chargers?
Tpg racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 09:32 AM   #96
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tpg racer View Post
Sorry to bring up an old post but is this charger worth getting for charging lipo? Im still using Nimh on and off but planning to go lipo soon.

So is this charger still worth getting with the use of an external balancer during lipo charging?

How does it perform compared to other lipo chargers?
It works great with an external balancer and can charge at 10 amps. If you plan on charging 4S batteries, you are out of luck.
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 09:41 AM   #97
Tech Fanatic
 
Tpg racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart View Post
It works great with an external balancer and can charge at 10 amps. If you plan on charging 4S batteries, you are out of luck.
Neh i'm sticking with 2S lipos for touring and the most i would go is 3S for transmitter packs...

So two thumbs up for this charger?
Tpg racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 09:52 AM   #98
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tpg racer View Post
Neh i'm sticking with 2S lipos for touring and the most i would go is 3S for transmitter packs...

So two thumbs up for this charger?
Yes.
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 11:52 AM   #99
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 242
Default

today still remains one of the best chargers, in efficiency is greater than
which is currently, the only disadvantage it has is that software is a little
old, for new models of batteries that are coming out, even so, the charge
equally well .

Greetings, Luis C.
__________________
## NOSRAM ## YOKOMO BD5W ## BMI DB12RR+ ##
luic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 02:03 PM   #100
Tech Elite
 
tom_chang79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,591
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Yup, I concur, the limitations in my opinion are:

a) No balancing (need to get external)

b) Can only do up to LiPo, no newer tech such as LiFe

c) Only do up to 3S


But the charger is great. I have the Pulsar 2 and 3, and the reason why I got my Pulsar 3 is for the same reason, I'm not ready to jump into the LiPo technology yet, with 8+ battery packs that are still in great shape, and I'm so used to the interface of the Pulsars, I couldn't see myself getting another one.

LRP did it right with the user interface, it is one of the most simple interfaces, no-hassle, no-bs, interfaces...
__________________
RIP TAP RC
tom_chang79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 03:06 PM   #101
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wauconda, IL
Posts: 959
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

I thought I would ask this here since where on the subject about the charger, can you run 2 Pulsar 3's on the lrp power supply
toughtrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 08:15 PM   #102
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 233
Default

What kind of external lipo balancer can connect to the pulsar ? Also how do you connect them? A picture showing the connection would be great. Thanks in advance.
hardmankam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 05:03 AM   #103
Tech Fanatic
 
dsrbltoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 890
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hardmankam View Post
What kind of external lipo balancer can connect to the pulsar ? Also how do you connect them? A picture showing the connection would be great. Thanks in advance.
I have had all three different pulsars, and loved them. I use the pulsar 3 with or with out the balancer. The balancer I use is shown here, with great pics.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...cer-ports.html
dsrbltoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pulsar, Pulsar 2, Novak Smarty Tray SE, Integy Discharger prodirt19 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 01-22-2008 02:58 PM
lrp pulsar competition 2, lrp pulsar sport, turbocharger/matcher CHEAP billjacobs R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 08-21-2006 09:57 AM
Pulsar Competition,Pulsar Sport CarbonWorks R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 05-07-2006 12:24 AM
LRP Pulsar 2 and Pulsar For sale or trade JJ187RC R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 21 03-19-2006 02:08 PM
WTB LRP Pulsar or Pulsar Sport A_Stratus R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 12-11-2003 04:44 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:58 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net