R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-20-2007, 05:03 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 81
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default interference help

Today I was in my yard tring out my new track. I started my rc10gt and as soon as the engine starts the electrics start glitching like crazy. So I changed the channel and still the same result. So then I tried my b4 buggy with the same radio the only diffrence was the gt has a novak reciver and the b4 has a jr both are synthsized. The b4 ran without problem. My buddy was here with his traxas and he was having the same problems just not as bad.My electronics work fin in the gt until the engine is running. Any opinions will be very appreciated.The only thing i can figure was maybe a cb or somthing in the area so i drove about a mile away but still had the same result oh yea the b4 was running on the same channel as the gt it did glitch a little in some spots but the gt was just going crazy.
riley1131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 05:30 PM   #2
Tech Lord
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Sound's like a vibration problem in the rec. Try another rec. Only be sure not to mount it to tight or secure and see if it still glitch'es. If it was previuosly mounted to tight it may have suffered some damage from the hard landing's.
Carefull run away's are hard to catch, Also it could be a servo.
__________________
A Special Thanks to Arno and Rigor for there support...
http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road/664682-ae-factory-team-b44-2-thread.html
http://www.petitrc.com/setup/associated/setupb44/B44.2_BuildAdvice/
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 05:44 PM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Which airport am I at?
Posts: 26
Default

How come they never run as fast as when they are a runaway!
Hungbrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 05:47 PM   #4
Tech Lord
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Yeah its never full on brake's.
Just full on throttle.
__________________
A Special Thanks to Arno and Rigor for there support...
http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road/664682-ae-factory-team-b44-2-thread.html
http://www.petitrc.com/setup/associated/setupb44/B44.2_BuildAdvice/
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 06:50 PM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 81
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Ill try another one.I thought about that but it was working fine when i quit running it monday at the track.I ran the battery completely dead monday but it should be ok, its only a week old.It ackted like this before with a bad battery.I was going to try the receiver out of the b4 but the plus are different n the servos in the gt.Im going to fool around with it tommrow. Rite now it just isant making much sense.
riley1131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 06:52 PM   #6
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,208
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by riley1131
Today I was in my yard tring out my new track. I started my rc10gt and as soon as the engine starts the electrics start glitching like crazy. So I changed the channel and still the same result. So then I tried my b4 buggy with the same radio the only diffrence was the gt has a novak reciver and the b4 has a jr both are synthsized. The b4 ran without problem. My buddy was here with his traxas and he was having the same problems just not as bad.My electronics work fin in the gt until the engine is running. Any opinions will be very appreciated.The only thing i can figure was maybe a cb or somthing in the area so i drove about a mile away but still had the same result oh yea the b4 was running on the same channel as the gt it did glitch a little in some spots but the gt was just going crazy.
one word "spektrum"
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 06:53 PM   #7
Tech Lord
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Maybe check to see if there's fuel on it.? Good luck the glitch gremlin can be hard to catch too.
__________________
A Special Thanks to Arno and Rigor for there support...
http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road/664682-ae-factory-team-b44-2-thread.html
http://www.petitrc.com/setup/associated/setupb44/B44.2_BuildAdvice/
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 07:47 PM   #8
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 81
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Allright I just took the receiver out and held it in my hand while it waas running and it worked so i guess it somthing in the receiver.Ill have to send it to novak i guess.Are these novaks known for this? Do yall recommend a diffrent brand? Ive always had good luck with their speed controls and they have great service.Just wondering if the jr are better.
riley1131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 08:03 PM   #9
Tech Lord
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I use a JR radio with a JR rec. R200. As long as you keep the rec. cushioned when you mount it you should be OK with the novak.
__________________
A Special Thanks to Arno and Rigor for there support...
http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road/664682-ae-factory-team-b44-2-thread.html
http://www.petitrc.com/setup/associated/setupb44/B44.2_BuildAdvice/
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 09:47 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Iceracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Dirt got into my receiver through the unused servo plug openings. Any vibration moved the dirt around and caused glitch. I had to remove the double printed circuit board, unsolder and separate the two boards, unsolder the metal box that covers the RF section and clean out the dirt. Works fine now. Bottom line, tape up any openings.
Iceracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 12:54 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
PoLsKiE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,256
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PoLsKiE
Default

i had the same problem with my mugen mbx5 only when i got on it it would glitch a bit an freak out it was the recuiver i had a novak xxtra 2 probs with it 1 there was small little rocks in it and 2 i had small cut in the antenna wire i would go with a diffrent reciver the vibration also shakes the synthesized switches just enough to make it glitch thats your problem if that dont help then i hate to say it its your property or place your running at there could be wires or somthing in the ground glitching it
PoLsKiE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 11:21 AM   #12
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 81
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I just went out and tried it again.I put a piece of foam under it and instead of straping it down,I just more less let the servo wires hold it down. It worked until about half throttle but then just went wild again. I think it will work in a electric car and novak charges $35 + 7 dollars shipping to replace it with a refurb which is as much as I paid for it. I got a little use out of it and I figure thats what I get for buying used.Im looking for a better option, I have my jr rs300 in my b4 but the plugs on the servos will not work with it without a adapter so I cant just switch them.I dont really want to replace it with a new or used novak after this and hearing others have been having the same problem but I may not have any other logical choice.I did open the case on it and split the boards and everything was clean and looked fine.What do yall recommend?Im using the xs3 radio I guess I could put a cheap fm crystalized reciever in and tune to the crystal with the radio but that really defeats the purpus of sythsized.Anyway thanks for all of yalls help and advice.
riley1131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help please with interference Wing Chun Electric On-Road 26 02-22-2007 08:37 PM
Interference makytc4 Electric On-Road 5 06-11-2006 05:17 AM
ESC Interference? ksj44 Electric On-Road 19 10-19-2005 08:39 AM
Interference please help Mr-s413bt Australian Racing 17 05-04-2004 10:43 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:51 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net