Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Charging AA's with CDC v6b >

Charging AA's with CDC v6b

Charging AA's with CDC v6b

Old 01-19-2007, 06:04 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Charging AA's with CDC v6b

Hey,

Has anyone ever charged transmitter batteries (AA's) with a CDC v6b? If so what rate do you charge at and what cutoff do you use?

Cheers,
Dave
surrealmaterial is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 06:23 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (81)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,200
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

what is the capacity of your aa's? nicad or nimh?

this is for nimh: for 1800mah and below, i charge at 0.5 amps. it takes about a couple of hours to peak but i found that this rate doesnt heat up the batteries as much. for 2000mah and up, i charge at 1 amp. if the batts heat up too quickly, i drop the charge rate a bit. i use the lowest cutoff available for nimh, i think 2mv (or .2 ?? ) is the lowest for cdc. hope this helps
marvi is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 06:33 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

thanks....i am using 2650mah AA nimh....can i put them all into a pack and charge them all together or do i have to charge 1 by 1? Also they are 1.2v, will this be enough to power my Futaba 2PL?
surrealmaterial is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 06:49 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (81)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,200
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

im not familiar with the 2PL. does it have a charging jack? if it does, try looking for a futaba jack that fits it and hook up the positive and negative leads to your charger. this way, you dont have to take out the batts everytime you charge.

if you dont have a charging jack, you can buy an 8 cell battery holder from radio shack or other electronics shops. put all your batts there, make sure the polarities are correct, then hook up the + and - to your charger

1.2V per cell is enough power for your radio 8 cells peak at 10+ volts total and stay above 9v for a long time this is ok for your radio
marvi is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 06:52 PM
  #5  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

ok cool thankyou
surrealmaterial is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 07:33 PM
  #6  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

on my 2PL if i let the batteries go down to 8.5v (which is were the alarm sounds) will i loose control of my car?? or will it be fine for a few more minutes?
surrealmaterial is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 07:36 PM
  #7  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Take the out of the radio. Charge them at .7amps with a 3mv/cell cuttoff. They will do just fine! You can go up to 1-1.5amps but the cells will get a little hotter when peaking. I would only use if you do not have time.
Casper is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 07:57 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
CarlosG.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Falls City,TX
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper
Take the out of the radio. Charge them at .7amps with a 3mv/cell cuttoff. They will do just fine! You can go up to 1-1.5amps but the cells will get a little hotter when peaking. I would only use if you do not have time.

I have found out that charging them over .8 amps that they don't hold a charge long enough, but if you charge them at or below that rate they will last longer. They don't really like to be fast charged. I have the Energizer 2100mah AAs. The charger that it came with over heated them and did not hold a charge long enough.
CarlosG. is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 08:00 PM
  #9  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

well i got Duracell 2650mah and the recommended charge rate is .27amps over 16hrs......should i charge at a current below this?
surrealmaterial is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 08:02 PM
  #10  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Charging at .5 will be safe. They tell you to slow charge them which is not bad advice but it will take forever!
Casper is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 11:10 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (81)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,200
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by surrealmaterial
on my 2PL if i let the batteries go down to 8.5v (which is were the alarm sounds) will i loose control of my car?? or will it be fine for a few more minutes?
you wont lose control once the alarm sounds, but its better to bring the car in.
marvi is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 02:58 PM
  #12  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

i am in the process of charging them at the moment and they have reached 3800mah, and still going.......there supposed to be around 2650mah..........should i stop the charge or keep going? (they are only warm at the moment)

Last edited by surrealmaterial; 01-20-2007 at 03:45 PM.
surrealmaterial is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 03:46 PM
  #13  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

I would pull them off. That is way too much for those batteries.
Casper is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 03:46 PM
  #14  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

ok
surrealmaterial is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 02:05 PM
  #15  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

i just finished charging them all, they charged to 3800.......i put them in and they showed 11.2v. When there only supposed to be 1.2v ea x8=9.6.....
surrealmaterial is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.