Mounting a Fan

Old 01-19-2007, 01:50 PM
  #16  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by VooDooPH
come to think of it, why would you need a fan if you're running a stock johnson motor? if the motors coming off really hot i doubt a fan will help. might be better to check out your gearing and/or roll-out numbers.
the gearing im running is perfect for the track, so id prefer to keep that the way it is. Because when i come off the track my motor smells really bad, so ill give the fan a go and if it doesn't work ill take it off
surrealmaterial is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 02:03 PM
  #17  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default I use a heatsink w/fan

I use a heatsink w/fan that has the fan directly over the sink by 3racing. That puppy works like a dream. Running the 4.5, my motor has never seen a hair above 130 degrees. Running Li-Po, I have run 20 minute races with nitros and the motor never gave me a problem. I have tested it without the fan, and that was the only time the temps shot up to the 140's. By brushless standards, that is about average. So, I must give the big thumbs up to fans on the heatsink.
bxpitbull is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 02:04 PM
  #18  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

ok thanks....what brand and size fan are you running??
surrealmaterial is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 05:40 PM
  #19  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Birky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 1,668
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I don't think you will be able to use a heatsink and fan on the FK04 because of the bulkhead running over the motor (there is no way of mounting the heatsink to the motor). This is why I upgraded my Evo2 to a FK05 because it gets extremely hot in summer where I race and there was no way (apart from mounting a fan direct to the chassis) to artificially cool the motor.
Birky is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 06:45 PM
  #20  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
killingtime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,658
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I'm using this mount and am VERY pleased with it. It puts the one fan at an angle into the endbell/comm and the other pulling hot air out of the can.

Team Tamale , just click on "clamp on fan mount"
killingtime is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 06:54 PM
  #21  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by killingtime
I'm using this mount and am VERY pleased with it. It puts the one fan at an angle into the endbell/comm and the other pulling hot air out of the can.

Team Tamale , just click on "clamp on fan mount"
Is anyone you know of stock this fan or did you order it directly from them? That looks really trick.
wyd is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 07:05 PM
  #22  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
I)arkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria,Aus
Posts: 1,125
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

yeah i dont think your going to be able to mount a fan on the 540 motor with the fk04 unless you try and put some wholes on the endbell , then tap it which it might hold the fan on the end

that car is just like the tamiya ta04 there is no room at all except the endbell option

Last edited by I)arkness; 06-10-2008 at 01:37 AM.
I)arkness is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 10:12 AM
  #23  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
killingtime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,658
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wyd
Is anyone you know of stock this fan or did you order it directly from them? That looks really trick.
Directly from Team Tamale. I don't think he can make them fast enough to try to stock another shop other than his own.
killingtime is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 11:08 AM
  #24  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (4)
 
rc1racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas,Tx
Posts: 25
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Teamtamale used to make a mount for the FK04 that clamped to the bulkhead above the endbell and was angled toward endbell.
email Larry at:
[email protected]

Also his web site:
http://www.teamtamale.com/
rc1racer is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 04:49 PM
  #25  
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

Originally Posted by surrealmaterial
Hey Guys,

im in the process of trying to mount a small fan to blow air onto the endbell of the motor in my Xray FK'04.........any ideas???

thanks
Try wwwcoolcanfan.com
Cheers Malc
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 04:49 PM
  #26  
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

Originally Posted by surrealmaterial
Hey Guys,

im in the process of trying to mount a small fan to blow air onto the endbell of the motor in my Xray FK'04.........any ideas???

thanks
Try www.coolcanfan.com
Cheers Malc
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 04:57 PM
  #27  
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

Originally Posted by jo90
Get the Much more endbell fan screws and then search the web for 30mm fans, alot cheaper than most of the options and alot more affective too !
As this guy is asking for one to fit his FK04 that houses a silver can, our kit WILL fit and do the job that he is after, and will look the part to.
Malc
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 01:37 PM
  #28  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7
Default

I have a Topcad fan and heatsink to mount on my electric motor but am not sure where to plug this in. I am assuming that it plugs into one of the receiver ports but the wires are not long enough to reach. Any advice would be appreciated.
conrod51 is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 10:58 PM
  #29  
Tech Addict
 
more$thanbrains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sooke BC Canada
Posts: 677
Default

cut them, strip them, new wire, soldering, and shrink tubing in that order
more$thanbrains is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 07:28 AM
  #30  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (217)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 31,175
Trader Rating: 217 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by masta-racah
cut them, strip them, new wire, soldering, and shrink tubing in that order
really? you cant shrink wrap them first them solder?? j/k
Marcos.J is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.