R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-17-2007, 05:49 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
RCMits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,051
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default anyone reroute CE t30/5 power wires to back?

i did a search on turbo30 case mods, etc.. and can't find it.

im re-routing the power wires to the back, but the heat sink is in the way. im thinking i can shave some of the case down to squeeze the wires by over the top instead of in the little hole where the fan wires go.

anyone got pics or have done this?

i could have SWORN i saw pics of this online here somewhere...
RCMits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 06:04 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
HVFracingwilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oshkosh
Posts: 1,379
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HVFracingwilly
Default

I personally routed mine out the front made it much more user friendly. But if you must have them out the back, just drill a large enough hole though the heat sink and route you wires through that. Be sure to insulate the wires well so the wont rub on the bar aluminum.
__________________
Hobbytown USA Oshkosh
www.revolutionraceway.com
HVFracingwilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 06:11 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
RCMits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,051
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HVFracingwilly
I personally routed mine out the front made it much more user friendly. But if you must have them out the back, just drill a large enough hole though the heat sink and route you wires through that. Be sure to insulate the wires well so the wont rub on the bar aluminum.
oh the "charge" wires are coming out the front, but im talking about the power wires (to power supply).

ps.. dont want to drill the heatsink, dont have drill strong enough to do that...

been staring and i think i can edge some of the ribbing off to make it fit on top of the heatsink.
hmm
RCMits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 09:33 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to burbs Send a message via Yahoo to burbs
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCMits
oh the "charge" wires are coming out the front, but im talking about the power wires (to power supply).

ps.. dont want to drill the heatsink, dont have drill strong enough to do that...

been staring and i think i can edge some of the ribbing off to make it fit on top of the heatsink.
hmm
Ive seen peopl do this, but you change the length of the wire and it changes the readings... The wire length is how they get the chargers to read as close to each other.. I had one and went to longer wires.. It always read different when cycling after that.. all my numbers went down a bit from the stock length and settings..
burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 09:58 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Skruger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: AT YOUR TRACK
Posts: 1,529
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by burbs
Ive seen peopl do this, but you change the length of the wire and it changes the readings... The wire length is how they get the chargers to read as close to each other.. I had one and went to longer wires.. It always read different when cycling after that.. all my numbers went down a bit from the stock length and settings..
It should NOT effect the power supply wires ...

But if you change the charging lead's wire or legnth then it will change the readings a little.
__________________
ROAR # 11-118753 / MATT #11-118754
MECH # 11-118755 / RYLEE #11-118756
RIP :Loretta Plueard 2017
SUPPORTING NORTHWEST HARVEST --- WWW.NORTHWESTHARVEST.ORG THE HUNGER STOPS HERE

Last edited by Skruger; 01-17-2007 at 09:58 PM. Reason: typo
Skruger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 10:48 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
RCMits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,051
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skruger
It should NOT effect the power supply wires ...

But if you change the charging lead's wire or legnth then it will change the readings a little.
a little dremel, a little soldering, i did it. thanks for everyones help. ill post pics tommorow or so.

power wires run OVER the heatsink and have plenty of heat shrink and come out the back with banana plugs that are drilled into the back right of the fan.

the charging leads and sensor leads are untouched and come routed out the front via two holes to the left of the controls with a rubber grommet.

the whole case can be taken off without any wires getting in the way.

ahhh.. so much cleaner.
the things you do when your sick at home.
;-)
RCMits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 12:45 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
RCMits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,051
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

tada..


RCMits is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
back pressure effect on performance, mileage, - max power back pressure adjustment tomkelley Nitro On-Road 4 07-31-2008 05:12 AM
Back lit Ice charger, 15a power supply, distribution block ky_savage R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 08-18-2007 08:58 AM
AMB PT - New Wires? jsmax Electric Off-Road 1 04-06-2007 09:33 PM
Wires!!! Tpg racer Electric On-Road 19 06-18-2006 06:21 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:15 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net