R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2007, 10:23 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 102
Default Motor Lathe Question

I am thinking of purchasing a new tool, a motor/comm lathe. I have been looking around at various products and have heard also that a diamond bit is almost a must or the comm will have waves in it (is this true?) I wanted to spend under $200, but would really prefer to spend under $150 if at all possible, what are some good lathes at this price? I also noticed that a lot of them say for Modified motors only... I am trying to true stock motor comms for the most part, but also need to true trinity spec motor comms(not sure if this falls under the modified motor category). Is there any lathe that will do both? Thanks in advance Jeff
jeffbhhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 10:29 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Iceracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Both rebuildable stock and mod motors have removable armatures and can be rebuilt on the same comm lathes. There are definately those who use carbide lathe bits and are very satisfied with the finish. Shouldn't cause ripples unless there is some unsteadyness. I bought a used Cobra lathe with diamond bit and have been very happy with the results.
Iceracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 10:38 AM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 102
Default

This is the one I am talking about,
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXNB54&P=ML
it says in the title description For Modified Motors Only... So this should work with all motors? thanks again
jeffbhhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 10:48 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Iceracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Oh crap, I don't understand their description either.

"-Stock coms feature a tight fit to any stock style motor."???

Try looking at Team Cobra's website for a better description. I can't understand why it wouldn't work with a rebuildable stock armature. That's pretty similar to the one I have, called motor builder's lathe. I have the optional power base that holds 4 cells to drive the drive motor.

I think their description as "modified" simply means its not the lathe for rebuilding stock, sealed can, motors, the kind that turn the armature without having to remove it from the sealed can.
Iceracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 10:51 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
todd8603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oshawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Yip it'll work

I have the eagle and diamond bit(came with it). Better than nothing and other than a name, I have not seen a better cut.

Carbide is good for home use. ie limited number of custs. A diamond bit will last alot longer. Hence better for the hardcore racer. Carbide will last about 1/4 of the time a diamond bit lasts and more than 4x the price. Make your choice with your wallet. It wont affect performance.
todd8603 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 11:35 AM   #6
Company Representative
 
Team Kwik's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to Team Kwik Send a message via MSN to Team Kwik
Default

That description you are seeing on Tower is extremely old. Way back when you didn't have the ability to remove the arm from a stock motor. You would bolt the motor into a very different looking lathe, remove the hardware and cut through the opening in the endbell. The wording "modified motor lathe" is simply left over from this era when a "stock motor lathe" existed.

Nick
__________________
Team Kwik
http://www.teamkwik.com
Team Kwik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 01:12 PM   #7
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Kwik
That description you are seeing on Tower is extremely old. Way back when you didn't have the ability to remove the arm from a stock motor. You would bolt the motor into a very different looking lathe, remove the hardware and cut through the opening in the endbell. The wording "modified motor lathe" is simply left over from this era when a "stock motor lathe" existed.

Nick
Exactly, I have an even older Cobra Mod lathe(got it about 11 years ago) that came out well before rebuildable stocks were introduced, & it works on them just fine. And about diamond bits, you can get just as good a finish from a carbide bit, but carbide bits can't do it nearly as many times before the finish does start to suffer(I could get about 20 cuts max before the bit would go bad). That's where you have an advantage with diamond, they'll keep going for YEARS & continue to give excellent cuts(& as an example, I've had the same diamond bit on mine for about 7 years now, & it still cuts beautifully, so I definitely consider it money well spent).....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 06:11 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 102
Default

Thank you for all the replys, I am gonna try and pick one out...My Ice and APS say they will run the lathe, what voltage would you wanna put into it? I saw something posted somewhere about using lower voltage with certain slave motors so it doesn't spin too much... Thank you again for all the information it is definately helping with my decision process
jeffbhhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 06:19 PM   #9
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,838
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

i use a 19 turn motor and run it at 2 volts.
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 06:45 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,761
Default

With a second hand carbide bit;

__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 06:48 PM   #11
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

It all depends on the drive motor you use, personally, I've been using an old stock armature in an old mod can(with the timing set to zero degrees) & running it at about 2-3 volts. Seems to work pretty well, but there are also some purpose-made motors for that(check out Integy's stuff, I believe they have a 55-turn motor just for use in lathes)......
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 06:55 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

I'm quite confused about all this lathe malarky.

Well not the actual lathes but the speeds you run them at.

I run lathes at work, day in day out and generally speeding, on a smaller diameter and a softer material you run them at a far higher speed.

So if your running them at 500rpm for example, i cut steel at 700-1400 depending on the diameter.

I guess there must be a reason for running them slower...mainly because the lathe isn't fixed to a solid object? Or the belt would slip on the arm?
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 06:57 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
Speedie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844
Default

I have the same cobra lathe with the diamond bit and it works great. One thing about a diamond bit it is alot more fragile than the carbide and will chip easy. If it gets chipped it can cut and look just fine but the finish will be bad. So ya just need to be careful. Both bits can be resharpened for a few dollars at a machine shop or a sharpening place. I have ran my lathe slower and faster and it dont seem to make much difference but as to how fast I can send the bit across faster seems easier tho. I use an old stock associated motor that came with my first RC a 12I with an old 4 cell pack and it works great.
__________________
www.victoryhobbies.com Greenbay, Wisconsin
Speedie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 07:49 PM   #14
Tech Apprentice
 
steve a.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Goose Creek SC
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to steve a. Send a message via MSN to steve a.
Default

I like my twister lathe with a carbide bit (no problems yet) but one other thing you want to look at is v-block vs. bearings mho you get a cleaner cut with the v-block
__________________
Starcar Vice President come check us out
www.starcarrc.com
steve a. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 09:11 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
kcrunchone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WWW.MAXAMPS.COM
Posts: 527
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Currently using Integy Xipp mod lathe
With a diamond bit and the cuts are sweet. Smooth as ever
It is really a good lathe

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXLBB7&P=ML
__________________
Rick Hill

"Failure Is Not An Option"
kcrunchone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trinity Tru Lathe Motor Comm Cutter Lathe maximum R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-14-2007 04:56 PM
Trinity Tru-Lathe Motor Lathe RandomFellow R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 04-27-2006 09:46 PM
Motor Lathe (Integy Xipp X-Mod Super Lathe) Geppetto R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 01-27-2006 05:10 PM
Trinity Tru-Lathe 3 Motor Lathe - $100 Bob Nilsen R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 08-16-2005 02:49 PM
Tire Lathe, Motor Dyno, Comm Lathe For Sale 17Mark71 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 06-05-2005 01:07 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:35 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net