R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-16-2007, 07:52 PM   #76
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

So far I have bought a 4400 saddle lipo for my BJ4, and a 11.1v 4000Mah for a XXXCR. Both cars have Mamba's Bl systems and work perfectly. It took about a week to get the batts because I wanted 12g wire and Thunder power balancing connectors. I havent noticed any performance differances from my orion 3200/4800 packs. If I could charge at 2C, I would, but my Ice charger wont allow you to set it past 1C.
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 08:01 PM   #77
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbipro View Post
So far I have bought a 4400 saddle lipo for my BJ4, and a 11.1v 4000Mah for a XXXCR. Both cars have Mamba's Bl systems and work perfectly. It took about a week to get the batts because I wanted 12g wire and Thunder power balancing connectors. I havent noticed any performance differances from my orion 3200/4800 packs. If I could charge at 2C, I would, but my Ice charger wont allow you to set it past 1C.
Set the pack capacity to 8800 mah if you are running the 4400s. Then set the max charge to 50% so it can't go over 4400 in the event of an error. This will charge at a 2C rate. This is how most lipo chargers are tricked into 2C rates. You have to remember, it'll lower the charge rate the second it hits 8.4V no matter how much capacity it has put in.
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 08:05 PM   #78
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,198
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuzo View Post
Set the pack capacity to 8800 mah if you are running the 4400s. Then set the max charge to 50% so it can't go over 4400 in the event of an error. This will charge at a 2C rate. This is how most lipo chargers are tricked into 2C rates. You have to remember, it'll lower the charge rate the second it hits 8.4V no matter how much capacity it has put in.
we all know what happens when you charge the batteries wrong (dont we kuzo)
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 08:07 PM   #79
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
we all know what happens when you charge the batteries wrong (dont we kuzo)
Actually charging wrong is step 1. It's step 2 you really gotta watch out for - you know leaving it somewhere.
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 04:11 AM   #80
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

kuzo, I understand what you are saying completely. Is something thats been recommended from Rick howart, or Mr. Black with the Orion batts as well? Is there any charges on the marker that actually do a 2C charge rate without fooling the software?
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 06:37 AM   #81
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbipro View Post
kuzo, I understand what you are saying completely. Is something thats been recommended from Rick howart, or Mr. Black with the Orion batts as well? Is there any charges on the marker that actually do a 2C charge rate without fooling the software?
MrBlack did mention it in one of the two Orion threads and he's also said you can do 2C charging.

As for a charger that currently does it without the trickery...good question. I'll let someone else answer that.
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 08:45 AM   #82
Tech Master
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Kuzo, when you say "50% of max charge", exactly what charger are you referring to? I use the mrc 977 and the steps are as follows:

enter number of cells-2 for 2s2p you get the drift. This automatically tells the charger to recognize what type of pack (lipo) and the cell configuration.
mah-6000 is what I use
amps-I hit it with the max of 5 amps
time to charge-optional
mv rating-I go gorilla, usually 35 or 40mv

Is there a way I can do the 2c charge rate on the 977??
__________________
R40-Pondering a new Red Dot
Hara Pro4-GTB/3.5/Max Amps-yea.
Pondering moving on to Xray-have to go with a winner. If you cant beat em, join em!

I gear to run and win, not to THERMAL!
bxpitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 09:27 AM   #83
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

I was only referring to the Ice at that time as that's what he said he was using. No idea about the MRC's capabilities in this regard although I did just respond to your MRC/Orion thread with some stuff MrBlack had posted.
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 10:09 AM   #84
Tech Fanatic
 
Johnathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas!
Posts: 765
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i use a mrc 989. it has a lipo max charge rate of 1.25c. though, i can fool it by saying it has about double the capacity. example:

i have a 4000 mah lipo. i tell the charger its 8000.

i set the rate to 8A. the chager allows it.

the pack charges completely, and reches 8.4 volts, and then sustains it. therfor, the pack cant be overcharged. thats assuming its rated at 2c charging though...

i dont think the 977 has such a high rate of charge available. and you mentioned MV rating? lipo's dont peak! if you are adjusting pmv on a lipo, your asking for an accident!

cheers!
Johnathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 10:29 AM   #85
Tech Master
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnathan View Post
i use a mrc 989. it has a lipo max charge rate of 1.25c. though, i can fool it by saying it has about double the capacity. example:

i have a 4000 mah lipo. i tell the charger its 8000.

i set the rate to 8A. the chager allows it.

the pack charges completely, and reches 8.4 volts, and then sustains it. therfor, the pack cant be overcharged. thats assuming its rated at 2c charging though...

i dont think the 977 has such a high rate of charge available. and you mentioned MV rating? lipo's dont peak! if you are adjusting pmv on a lipo, your asking for an accident!

cheers!
On the mv, oh. Guess that is something that carried over from my sub c days and I have been doing it since converting to lipo. I read it somewhere to have it at 25 mv, so I just bumped it to 35-40mv. Now I will leave it at what it defaults to. The highest amperage is 5 on the 977. Now, here is the question, my charger goes rather high, can I tell it the pack is say an 12000 mah, bump the amps to 5, set the cell rating for 2 (of course) and hit start without biting my nails to the nubs?
__________________
R40-Pondering a new Red Dot
Hara Pro4-GTB/3.5/Max Amps-yea.
Pondering moving on to Xray-have to go with a winner. If you cant beat em, join em!

I gear to run and win, not to THERMAL!
bxpitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 10:29 AM   #86
Tech Master
 
bxpitbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Union City, New Jersey
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuzo View Post
I was only referring to the Ice at that time as that's what he said he was using. No idea about the MRC's capabilities in this regard although I did just respond to your MRC/Orion thread with some stuff MrBlack had posted.
Saw that, thanks.
__________________
R40-Pondering a new Red Dot
Hara Pro4-GTB/3.5/Max Amps-yea.
Pondering moving on to Xray-have to go with a winner. If you cant beat em, join em!

I gear to run and win, not to THERMAL!
bxpitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 10:33 AM   #87
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuzo View Post
MrBlack did mention it in one of the two Orion threads and he's also said you can do 2C charging.

As for a charger that currently does it without the trickery...good question. I'll let someone else answer that.
the charger to get is the FMA/Kokam Scorpion 2S charger. Its LIPO charger that can charge up to 12V! Its about $70, and another optional $20 for its balancer cable for Orion 3200 and 4800 packs. This charger is awesome and can charge the LIPO to 90% capacity in 15 minutes and balances at the same time. Mr. Black endorses it and has spoken highly of it in the threads before...Now 15 minute safe charge times are easy and more track time.

Here's the link to it:

http://fmadirect.com/Products.htm?cat=32&nid=24

Hope it helps...
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 11:07 AM   #88
Tech Elite
 
ottoman's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 2,761
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

You can also get the GFX LiPo update if you have a GFX sitting around.
This will also charge up to 12 amps if you want or need it to.
ottoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 11:27 AM   #89
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ottoman View Post
You can also get the GFX LiPo update if you have a GFX sitting around.
This will also charge up to 12 amps if you want or need it to.
Will it do it at 2C as a setting or do you have to trick it by doubling capacity?
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 11:52 AM   #90
Tech Addict
 
4wheeldrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodstick Ga.
Posts: 690
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Someone mentioned earlier that they didn't like where the wires came out the side of the battery. I was just on their site and the pics show it coming from the top which should make for easier installation. Will they come that way if I order one?
4wheeldrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MAXAMPS LIPO PACKS HEAT Electric Off-Road 99 09-20-2008 09:55 PM
MaxAmps lipo and balancer upnover R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 05-29-2008 03:23 PM
MaxAmps 4400mah Saddle Lipo and Maxamps Balancer dr_hfuhuhurr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 04-13-2008 08:37 AM
MaxAmps LiPo - 4S 5000mAh Mallanaga R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 45 02-29-2008 06:28 PM
Maxamps lipo and DN Power lipo packs harjo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 12-02-2007 11:20 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:47 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net