Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Xipp Super Lathe Trouble >

Xipp Super Lathe Trouble

Xipp Super Lathe Trouble

Old 01-13-2007, 06:04 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Xipp Super Lathe Trouble

I just perchased a used Xipp Super Lathe in great condition, but with no bit, I dug up some old post by Big Jim, and he said to use McMaster-Carr Carbide AL-4 Bits #3367A131, but the bit appears to be almost .5 an inch to long, I wind the lathe all the way out, and when I put the bit in it is already on the comm, is there an adjustment I am missing, or do I trim the backside of the bit down being as it is just soft metal?
Big B is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 06:09 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 732
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Are you sure you have the bit in correctly? Are you sure you have the correct bit? Pictures always help if possible.
AChupp2 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 07:26 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I will try and get some tomarrow, I have these for right now
Attached Thumbnails Xipp Super Lathe Trouble-lathe1.jpg   Xipp Super Lathe Trouble-lathe2.jpg   Xipp Super Lathe Trouble-3367ap2s.jpg  
Big B is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 07:28 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 732
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

As long as you have a left handed bit the only thing I can think of is that you have it installed upside down.
AChupp2 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 08:03 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,357
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

I have a xipp similar to that. Watch for when the bearings get a bit loose as it will start cutting very much out of round. I just took the bearings out and let it ride in the slots now. I would just trim the back of the bit off if that is all that is holding you up.
jbrow1 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 08:48 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

That is what I think I will try, They are only $6 each, so what if I screw one up, attached is a pic of a simmilar lathe, that has a bit like the one I am trying to fit, same idea just opposite cutting L to R mine R to L, pics of mine will be up tomarrow
Attached Thumbnails Xipp Super Lathe Trouble-lathe.jpg  
Big B is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 08:51 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the Heads up on the Bearings, I was going to order the carbide v blocks but if that works I will just take them out. On the Pic above see how the lathe is all the way open and the bit is right up agains the v blocks, that is what I am talking about, I emailed the guy who has this for sale and asked him if he trims them (no response yet) I wish Big Jim was still around
Big B is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 09:30 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,357
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

I see what you are talking about. Cutting the back of the toolbar should not hurt anything. I used the bearings until I kept finding all my motors were cutting weird, like half the comm would still have sharpie on it after cutting it. Took the bearings out and recentered the bit and it cuts fine again. Fine enough for me anyhow, the carbide blocks sound like the best idea though. Do you have a link for them?
jbrow1 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 09:59 PM
  #9  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
SpeedySST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wheatland, WY
Posts: 781
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Xipp lathe

I have the same lathe and it appears to me that the bit is a right handed bit not a left hand.
SpeedySST is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 09:50 AM
  #10  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SpeedySST
I have the same lathe and it appears to me that the bit is a right handed bit not a left hand.
Depends on which lathe you are refering to the 1st cuts R to L the second cuts L to R and you buy the bit opposite to which way yours cuts, as the bits for our type of Lathes are upsidedown in the holder. Here is the link to Integy, they are out of stock right now but I am sure they can be special ordered http://integy.automated-shops.com/cg...54107496054.96
Big B is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 06:17 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Well I trimmed down the bit and it fits fine, Now I have another question, I have a Duratrax Ice, says it runs lathes, ok, so I connect my lathe to it, starts to turn for 4 sec then says motor disconected, so I try just running the motor, works fine, so I try the lathe again, runs for a few sec then, beep beep beep, motor disconected, I have checked, the clips are on the lathe, WHAT IS GOING ON??????????
Big B is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 07:02 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,357
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like the oring or whatever is driving the armature might be to tight..
Maybe try cranking the amps up a bit.
jbrow1 is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 07:23 PM
  #13  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I was wondering that, I will try getting a larger O ring maybe, tried running it off my power supply, no problem there
Big B is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 04:22 AM
  #14  
Tech Adept
 
haagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 102
Default

I had the same problem with my ICE when my lathe was new. I cut a couple of motors running the lathe off a battery and the o-ring seemed to break in. I can run it off my ICE with no problems now.
haagar is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 11:47 AM
  #15  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I bought one of the Integy 55t motors, that Reedy Mvp in the lathe was pulling down some serious amps, thanks to all for your help, I am new to electric and just learning about all the terms and what they mean etc.., So I take it the 55t will draw alot less amps
Big B is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.