R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-08-2007, 01:33 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
PerformanceRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 493
Default Low Profile Servos

What is shortest low profile servo available?
PerformanceRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 01:40 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

The KO 2413 or the Futaba 9550. If you're looking at touring application...
Ben.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 01:45 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
rampal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to rampal
Default

both Futaba s9550 and KO Propo PDS-2413 are low profile, with similar sizes


this is for the S9550


hope it helps!
cheers,
__________________
The Blue Armada: Tamiya TRF415MSXX, Tamiya TA05MS, Tamiya/Xenon TA05
Novak Brushless, Orion/Peak LiPo batteries, 5-cell
Sanwa M11 DSSS, KO Propo Servos
rampal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 01:49 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

yup, those are teh only ones avaible, the 9550 is liek $80 bucks! cant beat that, its kinda on the low torque and speed that i like, i usualy transfer my servo, rx, and qc2 to my offroad stuff, and i like the fastness for offroad, atleast .06-.08 where the 9550 is .10
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 09:32 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSchorr
yup, those are teh only ones avaible, the 9550 is liek $80 bucks! cant beat that, its kinda on the low torque and speed that i like, i usualy transfer my servo, rx, and qc2 to my offroad stuff, and i like the fastness for offroad, atleast .06-.08 where the 9550 is .10
Speeds not everything. It actually screws up alot of peoples cars, when it becomes to twitchy from the fast responce. Had a chance to use both and the futaba just feels smoother to me. Don't get caught up with speed.
Juan Aveytia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 09:43 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Ive had no issues with my s9550, its a nice piece of kit for the money
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 09:43 AM   #7
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,191
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team
Ive had no issues with my s9550, its a nice piece of kit for the money
i have the 9550 in all my touring cars, great servo
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 09:48 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Chemical X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 625
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I've been having an issue with a Futaba 9550 servo introducing interference and misc glitches. It really gets "nervous" when my transponder is mounted near it. Anyone else having this issue?

If I replace the 9550 with a KO-2343 servo (not the low profile one) I don't have any glitches or radio interference, however, the KO-2343 seems to draw more power and you can see the LED on the transponder really dim when turning the steering servo. This has resulted in missed laps. I'm curious if anyone else has had similar issues.

- Tom
Chemical X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 09:49 AM   #9
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,191
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chemical X
I've been having an issue with a Futaba 9550 servo introducing interference and misc glitches. It really gets "nervous" when my transponder is mounted near it. Anyone else having this issue?

If I replace the 9550 with a KO-2343 servo (not the low profile one) I don't have any glitches or radio interference, however, the KO-2343 seems to draw more power and you can see the LED on the transponder really dim when turning the steering servo. This has resulted in missed laps. I'm curious if anyone else has had similar issues.

- Tom
not here i mount my personal transponders on top of the servo with no problems at all
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 10:09 AM   #10
Tech Champion
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,833
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kevin K Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin K
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chemical X
I've been having an issue with a Futaba 9550 servo introducing interference and misc glitches. It really gets "nervous" when my transponder is mounted near it. Anyone else having this issue?
- Tom
I had this issue when I had a Pro-4 and had to take it off my 9550....but now I dont with my MI2ec. There is one track that my personal will not pick up when its on top of the servo....so I just mount it on the chassis now no more problems.
__________________
2013 USVTA World Champion of the World
MOTIV RC presents the Midwest All-Star Carpet Series....15th year running 2017/18!!!
USVTA National Championship....check it out!!!
Im only responsible for what I say NOT what you understand.
Kevin K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 10:19 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Jam-ehz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Jam-ehz
Default

When I had my transponder mounted on the servo it messed up the steering when driving in certain spots on the track. Maybe a certain mixture of different signals just enough to make it wonky..

Granted, it was right beside the receiver too, but I had to place it as far away as possible to the front of the car. No problems since.

When I had my Quantum 2 I had to put a cap into the receiver to keep it from losing laps and glitching when accelerating, and it was just a regular analog plastic-geared servo! I had since dumped it for a GTX and a Keyence, no issues with either. I do keep a capacitor in the receiver for my 1/12th scale though..

KO servos (esp. digital) really take a lot more current than others, you'll want a cap for those too.
__________________
-=≡ Tamiya TA05 TRF415MSX F103R M-03R M-04 M-05 ≡=-
-=≡ CRC Carpet Knife 3.2 OFNA LD3 Pro Fastcats Spektrum ׀ווlı ≡=-
Jam-ehz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 10:44 AM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Chemical X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 625
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the feedback.

I am using a Quantum 2 esc and was thinking about adding in a capacitor to see if that would help on the servo's power draw. What capacitor are you using? The one from the QC2 Worlds Kit?
Chemical X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 11:02 AM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Sean T Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 172
Default

I have used both the Futaba and KO low profile servo's. Actuall performance difference is none that you would notice. The only reason I changed to the KO is that I read that whilst running a QC2 and Spektrum there was glitch problems especially on rubber tyres on carpet. I used to get a glitch maybe every 10 races which in the end wound me up.
I was so upset that I also bought the twister 2.1 and installed both. Appx 100 races later I have had no glitches and gone faster
__________________
Schumacher Racing UK
Team Scream UK
eXpress Motorsports UK
FTQ Models
Sean T Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 11:07 AM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Holland, Gouda
Posts: 113
Default

Does someone know if the different type of servos has an influence on the electric energy they use.

For example is the current draw of an KO 2413(low profile) lower then the current draw of the KO 2343 servo(digital fet).

Arjen
Arjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 01:44 PM   #15
Shop Owner
 
nnick's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cheapest prices in Europe ;)
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to nnick Send a message via MSN to nnick Send a message via Yahoo to nnick Send a message via Skype™ to nnick
Default

Would you suggest the use of such servo for off road??

Nick
__________________
Nikolakopoulos Nick
RC RING

The #1 source for all your electric needs www.rcring.eu

Enjoy RCing....
R/C Tech #82
IRT #123

Don't practice until you get it right. Practice until you can't get it wrong

Team Xray T4'17, Team Xray X10'18, TOP Racing Rebel
nnick is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTB profile burris7555 Radio and Electronics 8 03-05-2008 09:04 PM
looking at your profile roadrashracing R/C Tech Site Forum 0 06-03-2007 03:27 PM
low profile servos rampal Electric On-Road 25 04-26-2006 11:48 AM
What GT-7 Profile to use with a 19T? bigdog xxx-s Electric On-Road 1 08-19-2005 10:05 AM
low profile servos... davioh Electric On-Road 21 08-02-2003 09:09 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:47 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net