Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Novak Super Sport Brushless Motor System >

Novak Super Sport Brushless Motor System

Novak Super Sport Brushless Motor System

Reply

Old 10-14-2003, 09:18 PM
  #286  
Tech Master
 
horniez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,266
Default

by the way, has anyone used their BL setup with HRS radio system? Do you face any glitching?
horniez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2003, 10:52 PM
  #287  
Tech Addict
 
Pirvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Singapore/Australia/India
Posts: 511
Default

Am using one with HRS (3pk) was doing fine untill cap died...doing more testing today.
Pirvan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2003, 11:21 PM
  #288  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Illawarra
Posts: 581
Default

i have had no problems with glitching using the 3pk with my brushless either
but did have a problem with glitching that was caused by the radio anntenia ( wrong spelling ) becoming loose inside the radio itself
this was caused by screwing and unscrewing it to put it away in its radio bag after race meets
David is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2003, 01:41 AM
  #289  
Tech Master
 
horniez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,266
Default

okie, thanks for the information...
horniez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2003, 05:17 PM
  #290  
Tech Elite
 
ijnek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S'pore & M'sia, JB
Posts: 2,510
Default

Originally posted by David
i have had no problems with glitching using the 3pk with my brushless either
but did have a problem with glitching that was caused by the radio anntenia ( wrong spelling ) becoming loose inside the radio itself
this was caused by screwing and unscrewing it to put it away in its radio bag after race meets
how did u solve ur problem???...
my friend car did not glitch after he change the receiver to PCM...but once he use back the HRS receiver,glitchs...
not forgetting 2 mention the rx change include a change in tx as well,but similar,both 3pk...
ijnek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2003, 07:01 PM
  #291  
Tech Master
 
horniez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,266
Default

not to mention there's a satellite dish just behind the driver's stand... would there be a cause as well???
horniez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 01:16 AM
  #292  
Tech Master
 
cHckbOY5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,059
Default

can i keep up with an nitrors4ss with this?
cHckbOY5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 09:39 AM
  #293  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 667
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

What kind of temp are you guys finding at end of race with your Novak Brushless motor and speedo in touring cars?

Temps for myself are 240 F on Speedo and 180 F on motor, wondering if this is a little excissive heat wise with car is XXX-S.
corwin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 09:51 PM
  #294  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

WOW. I don't know about touring cars but in my truck after ten minutes, my motor is barely warm to the touch. Haven't hit the ESC with the temp gun yet but it is a lot warmer. I'd say in the 180s though. Not 240!
Jon Kerr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 04:12 AM
  #295  
Tech Addict
 
Pirvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Singapore/Australia/India
Posts: 511
Default

Hmmm 240F? that seems a tad hot for the esc. Mine was coming off after 8-9 minutes and the ESC measured ard 180-185F and i still felt it was a little too hot for my liking, motor was warm to the touch. Ambient temp 30+-C.

Jeff
Pirvan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2003, 08:26 PM
  #296  
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Default

is there a new brushless comming out by novak

if so can i use the original speed control to run it?
Calvin Ng is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2003, 09:03 PM
  #297  
Tech Elite
 
ijnek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S'pore & M'sia, JB
Posts: 2,510
Default

seems like there's a new esc with motor for monstor trucks out soon and also a new motor ss4300 which is close to stock spec out soon.
ijnek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 04:28 PM
  #298  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,269
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Calvin Ng
is there a new brushless comming out by novak

if so can i use the original speed control to run it?
Yes there is a NEW Stock Spec motor just around the corner - it is quite comparable to a nicely tuned stock monster. In fact you on a long straight you it may pull you just a bit, but the tork of the BL is a little better to offset it.

I've been lucky enough to have been testing one for the past 6 weeks or so running locally in normal ProStock class.
The best NEWS is that you do not have to work on the motor all day/nite whatever. Just work on your car to tune it to run good, take the extra $$ and invest in Tires, Inserts, etc.... and go even faster
rocketron is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 08:05 PM
  #299  
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Default

just wondering but ..... (kinda off topic)

do any of you run a 414mII... and have to put an extra belt tensioner on the top?
do you even put it on the bottom?
Calvin Ng is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 09:05 PM
  #300  
Tech Elite
 
ijnek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S'pore & M'sia, JB
Posts: 2,510
Default

Originally posted by rocketron
I've been lucky enough to have been testing one for the past 6 weeks or so running locally in normal ProStock class.
The best NEWS is that you do not have to work on the motor all day/nite whatever. Just work on your car to tune it to run good, take the extra $$ and invest in Tires, Inserts, etc.... and go even faster
tat's wat i like abt brushless,jus concentrate on ur driving lines n setups...
ijnek is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service