R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-07-2003, 08:57 AM   #256
Tech Elite
 
ijnek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S'pore & M'sia, JB
Posts: 2,510
Send a message via ICQ to ijnek
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by crono man
for the people that are using the novak bl with a xxx-s,could you please tell me your gear ratio?
with my ta04r,i'm running it with a ratio of FDR 7...
ijnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 08:42 PM   #257
Tech Elite
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,045
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by crono man
for the people that are using the novak bl with a xxx-s,could you please tell me your gear ratio?
7.3 to 7.5 unlimited
MDawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2003, 10:51 AM   #258
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I ran my BL in my XXXT for the first time yesterday. I think I may have been overgeared by a tooth or two but it was awesome. So much punch, more top end than was needed. And I didn't have to break out the motor spary all night! I hate cutting motors in a dirty environment. This is the perfect solution. I just need to get used to the lack of drag brake but at the same time, I need to dial out a lot of brakes from the radio. It has no drag brake but when you hit the brakes, they pertty much lock up the rears. Anyone else notice this?
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2003, 12:45 PM   #259
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: California
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default drag brake on KoPropo Mars-R radio???

Hello, i have the Novak Brushless system also, and
how do i dial in drag brake on the radio?????

thanks

p.s. there are four trim buttons???
rclab1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 12:51 AM   #260
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jkerr0043
It has no drag brake but when you hit the brakes, they pertty much lock up the rears. Anyone else notice this?
It's called "TORQUE"! Plenty of it!

Also, I just checked out Novak's website. They have add new brushless items. They now have a system for the E-maxx and another motor for stock racing!
Headbanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 05:22 AM   #261
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: canada
Posts: 126
Default

Ok guys one thing i would like to know about the ss(ve had mine for 5months and its GREAT!!)
But i never had the chance to tested against a mod brushed motor in a TC!

Did any of you guys do a straight up drag race against one of your budies that has a 10t high end brushed motor??
crono man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 07:03 AM   #262
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 589
Default

Crono,

I have had mine for several months also. I had a chance to race it last weekend in an open electric class. Some of the guys were running nine and ten turn motors. Probably not top of the line hand wounds but still plenty of rip. My Novak brushless was just as fast on the top end with better punch out of the corners. It was my first chance to race it against brushed motors and I was very pleased with the results. I think the other racers were just as impressed as I was and one was seriously considering purchasing a brushless. I love the no maintenance aspect of brushless and believe that the future of electric racing will be with brushless motors.

Dave
dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2003, 03:37 AM   #263
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Californication
Posts: 81
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
airtronics m8 setting

For m8 users, what settings do u have as far as end points for the brakes and throttle? are u using the recommended setting on the novak webpage? thanks in advance.
eklips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2003, 10:26 AM   #264
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I've had to dial out a lot of brake running it in my truck. I think on my brake endpoint I'm at 50% after last night. I kept locking up the rears at the end of the straight.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 10:20 AM   #265
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: California
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Novak

whens' the faster Brushless come out from Novak?

thanks

keep me informed
rclab1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2003, 09:26 PM   #266
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 358
Send a message via ICQ to nizee
Default Bearing Size

Does anyone know the exact ball bearing size (front & rear) for the Novak SS brushless Systems?

Thanks.
nizee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2003, 12:10 AM   #267
Tech Addict
 
Pirvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Singapore/Australia/India
Posts: 511
Default

HI guys, anyone has any ideas where i can get the power capacitors for the SS? Or is it possible for me to use the ones from Cyclones (4700uf)?

Thanks in advance!
Jeff
Pirvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2003, 02:37 AM   #268
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: LI, New York
Posts: 370
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JasonC
i ran my bl in my t3 and b4 and it was awsome in both. i now have the bl in my t4

you will not be disapointed if you put on in your xxx-t how is the track at family hobbies, i have been waiting to see if anyone post some pic's,

i need to justify the drive. from oceanside it will be aprox the same distance for me to drive to socal..
Do you have problem with ESC overheating with the B4? I run with 23T which gives you 9.16 final, but this thing still gets over heated? Also where do you mount the ESC so it's doesn't touch the body.

thanks

Last edited by Jasonchi; 10-08-2003 at 10:57 AM.
Jasonchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2003, 10:56 AM   #269
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: LI, New York
Posts: 370
Default

bump
Jasonchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2003, 07:51 PM   #270
Tech Addict
 
Pirvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Singapore/Australia/India
Posts: 511
Default

Just an update on the Capacitor status. Charlie was kind enough to send me a reply and it seems that there is no harm going to a bigger capacitor. So if anyone was curious about it or scared of changes like me...there you go.

Cheers
Jeff
Pirvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak Super Sport Plus Brushless System hot4teach R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-16-2007 03:09 PM
new novak super sport brushless plus system 8.5 motor vintagetamiya R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 02-21-2007 07:23 PM
Novak Super Sport Brushless System (NIB) Key R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 09-24-2004 09:50 AM
new Novak Super Sport Brushless Motor system sm64000 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 05-28-2004 11:10 PM
Novak Super Sport Brushless Motor System MDawson R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-31-2003 11:06 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:13 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net