Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 >

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Reply

Old 07-08-2003, 05:27 PM
  #1471  
Regional Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: IRT #122
Posts: 3,364
Default Re: Re: Re: Removing Dust Covers

Originally posted by Randman
Thanks, I'll call Steve right now and see if the car went out yet, if not, those posts are mine
you will get some extra post with the web special to play with as far as shorten them or what ever. it easy to do with a dremel and a cut off wheel. the post with the web are ORANGE
Ko Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 05:39 PM
  #1472  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
madjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,781
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Post

Originally posted by cHckbOY5
can u fit the novak brushless on this car? and if so, how does it perform...

i was thinkin og gettin the sd or evo3s, but i heard this was a tank

Yes....you can! It is pretty quick (on par with my 19T times at So Cal) and NO hassle between heats
Attached Thumbnails Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3-122-2286_img.jpg  
madjack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 05:44 PM
  #1473  
Regional Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: IRT #122
Posts: 3,364
Default

Originally posted by madjack
Yes....you can! It is pretty quick (on par with my 19T times at So Cal) and NO hassle between heats
That is sweet madjack tell me what is the maintance to the brushless? and how does it do in the cuda? i have been reading about the brushless system but standing on the edge if i want to sink the money into it or not your thoughts please?
Ko Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 06:07 PM
  #1474  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by RedBullFiXX
Dave: with the bladder caps are you still using the long shocks in the rear ?

I`m using a short shock body with a CE-4 rear shock shaft ..it`s about 2mm longer than the Barracuda ones
-Dave

Last edited by JDM_DOHC_SiR; 07-08-2003 at 06:25 PM.
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 06:16 PM
  #1475  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
madjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,781
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Post Cuda and the Novak BL

Originally posted by Ko Racer
That is sweet madjack tell me what is the maintance to the brushless? and how does it do in the cuda? i have been reading about the brushless system but standing on the edge if i want to sink the money into it or not your thoughts please?
I have yet to perform any maintenance on the system. (and it has been abused in some Enduro races)

I recently installed it in the Cuda...I had been running it in my EVO 3. RedBull has recently started running his again at So Cal. With some luck we should see a BL class again Tues nights. (most of the pro stock racers stoped running brushless to get ready for the Nats.)

The system itself has loads of torque and great run time. It will take some getting use to for some people from a set-up stand point. The system rolls so freely off throttle that some people complain of a initial push because they are use to their brushed motor helping with the braking / chassis rotation thru the corner.

The other thing to watch for when gearing these beasts (start with a 7.1 to 7.3 final) is the heat the ESC generates. I kept gearing my system up because the motor was not that hot ...then I shot a temp gun at the ESC and it was near 200f (still no problem with the sytem however)

Novak recomends keeping the ESC temp in the 140 to 160 range I think?

I have had great luck with the Sport system....and ya gotta' love no com cuts & brush changes between heats

Last edited by madjack; 07-08-2003 at 07:44 PM.
madjack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 06:20 PM
  #1476  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,702
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Well I missed my order for the short posts today, but I'll get it in on Friday. Gonna buy the titanium nitride rear arm mounts, titanium turnbuckles, and clamp wheel hubs as well.
Randy Caster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 06:42 PM
  #1477  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Randman
Well I missed my order for the short posts today, but I'll get it in on Friday. Gonna buy the titanium nitride rear arm mounts, titanium turnbuckles, and clamp wheel hubs as well.
You have a PM
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 07:12 PM
  #1478  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,702
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Thank you for the info Dave, I really appreciate it!
Randy Caster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 07:20 PM
  #1479  
Tech Master
 
cHckbOY5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,066
Default

is this kit hard to build?
cHckbOY5 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 07:23 PM
  #1480  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,702
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I dont have either of my R2's yet, but it looks like it will be easier than the other shaft drive cars out there to build.
Randy Caster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 07:43 PM
  #1481  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
madjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,781
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by cHckbOY5
is this kit hard to build?
Easy kit to build...the few parts that are in the box fit very well
madjack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 08:10 PM
  #1482  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Boulder City
Posts: 412
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Hey, does the person who makes the FLAP products have a web or email?
XCELL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 08:21 PM
  #1483  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by cHckbOY5
is this kit hard to build?
Very easy.... and there are quite a bit of users now than there was a year ago...so help is in abundance

-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 08:27 PM
  #1484  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by XCELL
Hey, does the person who makes the FLAP products have a web or email?

Yes they have a e-mail..... and a home page..




Click here


-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 08:31 PM
  #1485  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Boulder City
Posts: 412
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Thank you.
XCELL is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service