Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 >

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Reply

Old 06-26-2005, 11:20 AM
  #14206  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Well it seems my aging R2 still has some life in it. Went to a club meeting at Carlisle today and for the first time this year we had lots of sun (I'm kind of red )
Qualifying was tight all day, well into 18 laps which is pretty good. Pole ended up at 18-305, I was 4th on 18-309. Had a good clean run in the last qualifier but lacked a bit of raw speed.
Final one a I borrowed some tyres, first time I've not used premounted take offs for probably two years. I was given some 27's on 24mm inch up rimms with yokomo insirts. They squeeled a bit more and didn't like the shadows on the track but worked ok. I ended up 3rd.
Final two I geared up two teeth after getting some advice, aparently motors have three power points, low, med and high, I was on the med power point, jumping up a few teeth put me on the high point I actualy found I could go another tooth up if I had had another run. The sun was on all of the track this time too so the tyres seemed to work a bit better. I managed to finish 2nd this time, had a great race with my mate. Had to chase him for most of the race then the final minute I had to hold him off, some nice close racing. Wouldn't of been able to stick with him if I hadn't geared up.
Herminator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 08:24 PM
  #14207  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (4)
 
ImGoinRCn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 2,307
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

wow, this thread still going...
ImGoinRCn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 08:30 PM
  #14208  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (37)
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,394
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Yea just dont ask any questions..
Oasis is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 09:14 PM
  #14209  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
Thai3g_Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 879
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I've been looking at an R3 for quite sometime now, can anyone tell me if there is any fitment problems with 26/28mm foam wheels? Thanks.
Thai3g_Eclipse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 09:15 PM
  #14210  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
Thai3g_Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 879
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by xxxkat
Yea just dont ask any questions..
LOL oops.
Thai3g_Eclipse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 12:07 AM
  #14211  
Tech Adept
 
stjerno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 239
Default

Originally Posted by Thai3g_Eclipse
I've been looking at an R3 for quite sometime now, can anyone tell me if there is any fitment problems with 26/28mm foam wheels? Thanks.
Haven't tried running foams myself, but the word is that they don't fit on the stock R3.
Don't think you should have any problems with the R3CE
Problem is the hubs..
stjerno is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 02:21 AM
  #14212  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

You'll have to cut down 28mm foams to fit, or find someone willing to sell you some low profile hubs with the mounting gear needed too. 26mm wheels should just about fit I think but may rub without thin spacers on the wheel hexs.
Herminator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 02:23 AM
  #14213  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Originally Posted by xxxkat
Yea just dont ask any questions..
Problem is not many of us run carpet. Personaly I don't like the stuff, tarmac is a much more interesting surface to race on
Herminator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 02:53 AM
  #14214  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Herminator
You'll have to cut down 28mm foams to fit, or find someone willing to sell you some low profile hubs with the mounting gear needed too. 26mm wheels should just about fit I think but may rub without thin spacers on the wheel hexs.
I still have 2 new sets of the PAL hubs with drop down mounts...PM me if interested

-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 09:15 AM
  #14215  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
Thai3g_Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 879
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Alright thanks guys.
Thai3g_Eclipse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 03:47 PM
  #14216  
Tech Adept
 
FaiLip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 133
Default

A question for those who have a R2 with the Xenon C-hub and rear up right, what do you use to shim the play out on the lower suspension arm? do you all just use metal washer or something else.
FaiLip is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 04:07 PM
  #14217  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Originally Posted by FaiLip
A question for those who have a R2 with the Xenon C-hub and rear up right, what do you use to shim the play out on the lower suspension arm? do you all just use metal washer or something else.
Armature shims, preferably teflon ones
Herminator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 04:08 PM
  #14218  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by FaiLip
A question for those who have a R2 with the Xenon C-hub and rear up right, what do you use to shim the play out on the lower suspension arm? do you all just use metal washer or something else.
any shim that is .5mm
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 05:17 PM
  #14219  
Tech Adept
 
FaiLip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 133
Default

Thanks guys, look like I have to dig up some shim somewhere in the tool box

It wasn't until I put my car on the setup board that I realise without shim them, I was getting active toe from 2 to 4 degree in the rear...
FaiLip is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 02:27 PM
  #14220  
sbs
Tech Apprentice
 
sbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Faxe , Denmark
Posts: 90
Barracuda R3 chassi

Do anyone know if it's possible to get a chassi where a 3700mA battery fit in ?
sbs is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service