Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 >

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Old 02-19-2005, 01:47 PM
  #13936  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: england
Posts: 9
Wink What is it

Originally posted by Tekin
No it's not the reciever, take A look at the other pictures and you'll notice that the reciever's placed on the servo and the ESC behind it.
I don't know for sure what it is, but I guess it's A (personal) transponder.
The item you are wondering about is a personal transponder made by a British company called M.R.T
Hope this helps,
By the way just got a r3 and have to say its gggrrreeeaaattt
wotcars is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 03:00 PM
  #13937  
Tech Addict
 
Thraex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 527
Default

Thanks!
I hope it goes as fast as it looks
Post some pictures when you finished building it...
Thraex is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 04:30 PM
  #13938  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (16)
 
AZ_Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Just got back from the carpet track... car is WAY better than last time... I converted it to the R3, wound up going to 60wt in the front, White springs on front and Red on rear. I'm running CRC orange/red's up front, and Jaco Purples in the rear.
I found I couldn't get more than about 3.5mm in ride height in the front... droop screws were worthless... I wound up moving the shock mounting point on the bottom to the inside hole, and Man, after all those changes, it's really come around... now if I can drive it to it's potential, I should do well... Only broke one steering arm today...

R
AZ_Ron is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 05:38 PM
  #13939  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
berger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You shouldnt be using your droop screws to set ride height, can you not adjust the shocks enough to get 4-5mm?
berger is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 05:46 PM
  #13940  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (16)
 
AZ_Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Once I moved the bottoms of the front shocks to the inner hole, I had enough room to adjust the shocks and get 5mm for ride height. I wasn't using the droop screws for ride height...just mentioning them as a reference.
I'm running the mid span arms, as I feel our track is a bit tight and technical... I may play with the long span setup and some point and see how it feels...

R
AZ_Ron is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 07:02 PM
  #13941  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
berger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Anyone got a carpet setup using dual diffs and rubbers that i can use as a starter. My one way setup isnt too bad but it can be better, going to put a few more runs into it and see how it can improve then try a diff setup.
berger is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 07:12 PM
  #13942  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by berger
Anyone got a carpet setup using dual diffs and rubbers that i can use as a starter. My one way setup isnt too bad but it can be better, going to put a few more runs into it and see how it can improve then try a diff setup.
THere are about 3 Carpet set ups posted about 30+ pages back that use dual diff`s and Rubber tires.... happy hunting
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 07:20 PM
  #13943  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
berger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Lol i did try the search, tried "barracuda carpet setup" and didnt get that many, wish me look. Ill start looking!
berger is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 07:31 PM
  #13944  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by berger
Lol i did try the search, tried "barracuda carpet setup" and didnt get that many, wish me look. Ill start looking!
When you do find it link it to your next post so that others that want to run on carpet are not struggling

-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 07:39 PM
  #13945  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
berger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Here we go, its not a million miles away from what ive got on at the moment so i could change it mid meeting if i have enough time Just have to check the diff tightness on each end.

My car is a missile currently, just need the setup taming so i can lay the power down even more.
Attached Thumbnails Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3-r3jim.jpg  
berger is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 11:29 AM
  #13946  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Malta
Posts: 267
Default

Originally posted by RcMonk
Car looks great. See you got the alum diff outdrives on there too !! Is that green thing on the top deck a receiver pack ?
Wotcars is right, the green thing in my photos above, is a personal transponder we use here in Malta.
dhiracing.com is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 11:42 AM
  #13947  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (16)
 
AZ_Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Berger, what tires are you running? I've been unable to run 28mm foams on my cars with the standard hubs... are you trimming the inside edge of the tires/rims away? I'm much happier with mine now, but it can probably be a little better...
I'm currently running the PAL low profile hubs, but am building an R2 with the stock hubs and am wondering what you did...

Thanks!

R
AZ_Ron is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 11:43 AM
  #13948  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
berger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Im not using foams, CS22 premounts. I have the alloy hubs on mine.
berger is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 11:57 AM
  #13949  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (16)
 
AZ_Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Ahhhhh... you're running rubber on carpet... gotcha... I might try it...see how it is compared to foams...
I have the tall (std) aluminum hubs for the R2, but have the low profile hubs for running foams on my R3...

R
AZ_Ron is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 12:07 AM
  #13950  
Tech Adept
 
stjerno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 239
Default Rideheight

Originally posted by AZ_Ron
Just got back from the carpet track... car is WAY better than last time... I converted it to the R3, wound up going to 60wt in the front, White springs on front and Red on rear. I'm running CRC orange/red's up front, and Jaco Purples in the rear.
I found I couldn't get more than about 3.5mm in ride height in the front... droop screws were worthless... I wound up moving the shock mounting point on the bottom to the inside hole, and Man, after all those changes, it's really come around... now if I can drive it to it's potential, I should do well... Only broke one steering arm today...

R
Try to build your shocks without the internal spacer .. then you can get 8+ mm of ridehight
stjerno is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.