R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-10-2005, 10:00 PM   #13786
Tech Master
 
Speed Demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ROCK GARDEN
Posts: 1,053
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

guys...

i just noticed that my R2 shockers is different. Rear is longer than front shockers... However, my R3 came with equal length for all shockers.. which is equal to the R2 front schockers... did I get the correct package??? Or,.. which is better???
__________________
CUSTOM CRAWLER & ROCK STACKER
Speed Demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 01:04 AM   #13787
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Malta
Posts: 267
Default

Yes, the R2 comes with different length shock bodies front & rear, whilst the R3 comes with all equal size. If you need more droop on the R3, you can always use the longer plastic ends that come with the kit for fine tuning

Do not worry, your new kit seems fine
dhiracing.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 09:13 AM   #13788
Tech Master
 
Speed Demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ROCK GARDEN
Posts: 1,053
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

dhi... thank you for making it clear to me.. I appreciate the info...

Thank you..

cheers
__________________
CUSTOM CRAWLER & ROCK STACKER
Speed Demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 05:37 PM   #13789
Tech Addict
 
chappi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Default some questions........

hey, guys.

I live in Australia, and there is no Hobbyshop in here support any Barracuda relate poduct.

SO, I am wondering do any of you know, any parts that from Tamiya, Yokomo, HPI and Associate will fit in a R3 ???

Just any parts will do, it will help me a lot..
cheers
chappi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 05:49 PM   #13790
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Feel The Differnce
Posts: 272
Send a message via AIM to (V)r>??@uD@ Send a message via Yahoo to (V)r>??@uD@
Default

hey chappi i bought a R2 of i guy called stuart , he used to have a shop in Bankstown airport but he left to go back to japan i have a few spares tell me what you need and i might be able to help you out
(V)r>??@uD@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 06:26 PM   #13791
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Feel The Differnce
Posts: 272
Send a message via AIM to (V)r>??@uD@ Send a message via Yahoo to (V)r>??@uD@
Default

hey guys can you fit 26mm foams on the front and 30mm foams on the back of a standard R2
(V)r>??@uD@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 06:36 PM   #13792
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,143
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by (V)r>?[email protected][email protected]
hey guys can you fit 26mm foams on the front and 30mm foams on the back of a standard R2
Not unless you have the Speeway Pal rear low profile hubs and then Ilm still not 100% on if they will fit.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 06:45 PM   #13793
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Feel The Differnce
Posts: 272
Send a message via AIM to (V)r>??@uD@ Send a message via Yahoo to (V)r>??@uD@
Default

that sucks can you modify the hubs like cut off that top link to the top deck
(V)r>??@uD@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 07:43 PM   #13794
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,143
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by (V)r>?[email protected][email protected]
that sucks can you modify the hubs like cut off that top link to the top deck
You could lower the stock plastic rear hubs by cutting them lower but the links on the toplate will take more work
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 05:48 AM   #13795
Tech Master
 
Speed Demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ROCK GARDEN
Posts: 1,053
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

guys...

now I have R3... what should I do with my R2 PAL equipped drive train??? SHould I sell it???
__________________
CUSTOM CRAWLER & ROCK STACKER
Speed Demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 11:02 AM   #13796
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Malta
Posts: 267
Default

In my opinion, an R2 with Pal or Xenon Conversion is as good as an R3. Maybe you should compare the performance of the two kits together and see how they perform on your particular track, then decide
dhiracing.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 01:09 PM   #13797
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,143
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Speed Demon
guys...

now I have R3... what should I do with my R2 PAL equipped drive train??? SHould I sell it???
In my opinoin The R2 withthe Xenon Conversion might be better as the R2 has more steering throw than the R3 with the steering rack. The R2 with the bellcrank steering setup seems to be much better setup than the steering rack on the R3. When I had my R3 even witht he Speedway pal steering wrack I still had less steering throw than the R2 setup.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 03:26 PM   #13798
Tech Addict
 
AZ_Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Well, I just read the past 5 pages of this forum, with the rumors about Alex's popularity declining...
The package deal I'm looking at is for two R3's... not R2's...that was my brain fart. Lots of parts, tires, and an esc...
Price seems great, but I there a chance of the R3's being outdated here pretty quick?
Parts supply?

I'm wondering if I wouldn't be better off going with a TC4, or a Yok, Tamiya? Maybe wait for the new Losi?

Any advice guys?? Just trying to make the best decision!

Thanks!

R
AZ_Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 03:19 AM   #13799
Tech Adept
 
stjerno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 239
Default

Well the R3 is as competetive as other cars on the market.. just people needing to buy a new car every year

I still belive Steve from SpeedTech will be stocking parts for the CUDA in the future so no worries there.

Still love my car and have NO plans on exchanging it for any other brand for the next 12 months..

Just because this thread has slowed down is not the same as the car has .. just the same people writing in here all the time and when they can't get a new CUDA every year as they have been used to .. the start to complain

If the prices is right you will get a great car that can handle as well as any other cars out there.

Claus

Quote:
Originally posted by AZ_Ron
Well, I just read the past 5 pages of this forum, with the rumors about Alex's popularity declining...
The package deal I'm looking at is for two R3's... not R2's...that was my brain fart. Lots of parts, tires, and an esc...
Price seems great, but I there a chance of the R3's being outdated here pretty quick?
Parts supply?

I'm wondering if I wouldn't be better off going with a TC4, or a Yok, Tamiya? Maybe wait for the new Losi?

Any advice guys?? Just trying to make the best decision!

Thanks!

R
stjerno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 01:44 PM   #13800
Tech Addict
 
AZ_Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the comments guys... I'm pretty much commited to buying the package at this point...

Question... I've read several references to the R3 not having as much steering as the R2... is it possible to setup the R3 with the R2 bellcranks instead of the rack?

Thanks!

Ron
AZ_Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 Funkymojo R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-03-2007 01:00 PM
alex racing barracuda con81 Electric On-Road 1 12-14-2005 03:36 AM
WTT: Alex Racing Barracuda R2 for PS2 AZ_Ron Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 02-13-2005 07:30 PM
Alex Racing Barracuda R3-New. rcracing1973 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 04-11-2004 08:29 AM
Alex Racing Barracuda Bugs Bunny Singapore R/C Racers 6 01-22-2003 11:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
Speed Chaser
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:23 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net