R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-29-2003, 11:57 PM   #1351
Tech Addict
 
dyaz21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cali
Posts: 672
Default carbon shaft to aluminum

I want to change the center shaft from carbon to aluminum. Is there a hopup aluminum shaft from alex racing or I have to get Speedway pal system or Square aluminum motor mount and drive assembly?? I don't want to spend a lot so any suggestions ?/

BTW im running stock only.
dyaz21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2003, 03:14 AM   #1352
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default Re: carbon shaft to aluminum

Quote:
Originally posted by dyaz21
I want to change the center shaft from carbon to aluminum. Is there a hopup aluminum shaft from alex racing or I have to get Speedway pal system or Square aluminum motor mount and drive assembly?? I don't want to spend a lot so any suggestions ?/

BTW im running stock only.
you really don`t need one for stock...but... if you want to you can run the PAL drive system if you have a R2 and if you have a R1 you can use the Square motor mount

-Dave
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2003, 08:19 AM   #1353
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

I ran a carbon shaft in my MR-4TCSD with an 8 turn mod motor without any kind of problems. I dont think you'd want to go with aluminum, it would be twice the weight, and you want as little rotating mass as possible with a stock motor.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2003, 02:33 PM   #1354
Tech Addict
 
dyaz21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cali
Posts: 672
Default

Thanks for the help guys. I'll try running it with a carbon shaft. And on the rear hub, Can I buy a different hub to lessen the toe in or I have to buy the gold ball studs ??
dyaz21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2003, 04:46 PM   #1355
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dyaz21
Thanks for the help guys. I'll try running it with a carbon shaft. And on the rear hub, Can I buy a different hub to lessen the toe in or I have to buy the gold ball studs ??
you can flip the rear hubs or you can buy the standard rear hub that doesn`t have any toe added to it
-Dave
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2003, 07:38 PM   #1356
Tech Addict
 
dyaz21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cali
Posts: 672
Default

I tried flipping it but it seems like its toe out. Im looking to get 2 deg toe in.
dyaz21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2003, 08:06 PM   #1357
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

I know SpeedTech listed hubs with 2 degrees of toe in, do the pivot balls for the arms have toe in as well?
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2003, 10:10 PM   #1358
Tech Master
 
Deves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Randman, The aftermarket pivot balls are concentric so you adjust untill you get the toe in your looking for.
Deves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2003, 10:25 PM   #1359
Tech Master
 
Deves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Does anybody have the link to the English version of the Square website? Thanks
Deves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2003, 10:31 PM   #1360
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

With the offcentered pivoting ball, I would think that there would only be 2 camber settings that could be used, because it will only line up 2 times with the hole in the A-Arm. Am I wrong?
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2003, 10:32 PM   #1361
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

2 times if turned in a 360 degree circle that is.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2003, 10:36 PM   #1362
Tech Master
 
Deves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

the pivot balls have a notch on each one that you point in different directions like 10 and 2 on top and 7 and 5 in clock terms
Deves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2003, 10:38 PM   #1363
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: concord Ca
Posts: 1,440
Send a message via AIM to HEYALIGNMENTGUY Send a message via Yahoo to HEYALIGNMENTGUY
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Deves
Randman, The aftermarket pivot balls are concentric so you adjust untill you get the toe in your looking for.
The assentric pivit balls seem to only move slightly, I got only 1 deg of movement on the Integy set up board, I went and orderd the 2 deg uprights It would have been nice if you could get 2 deg of movement but the pivit ball is not big enough.
HEYALIGNMENTGUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2003, 11:00 PM   #1364
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Deves
the pivot balls have a notch on each one that you point in different directions like 10 and 2 on top and 7 and 5 in clock terms
Thats cool, I was wondering how they worked, what is the max toe in I can get with the stock parts and the offset arm mounts?
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2003, 05:55 AM   #1365
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Randman
Thats cool, I was wondering how they worked, what is the max toe in I can get with the stock parts and the offset arm mounts?
3.5 deg. ish is what I measured

-Dave
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 Funkymojo R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-03-2007 01:00 PM
alex racing barracuda con81 Electric On-Road 1 12-14-2005 03:36 AM
WTT: Alex Racing Barracuda R2 for PS2 AZ_Ron Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 02-13-2005 07:30 PM
Alex Racing Barracuda R3-New. rcracing1973 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 04-11-2004 08:29 AM
Alex Racing Barracuda Bugs Bunny Singapore R/C Racers 6 01-22-2003 11:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:20 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net