Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 >

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Like Tree4Likes

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Old 10-30-2004, 05:51 AM
  #13276  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Originally posted by raving-monkey
like hell thats their actually car...its only just been built hasn't even been run (no dirt or anything on it) and they would most likely have the new hubs on wouldn't they
Certainly looks like it could be a team drivers car to me.
Xenon R2 chassis but with R3 bulkheads and possibly R3 shock towers, the front shock tower looks cut down a little too. R3 bumper brace also.
Looks like they just took the bits they liked out of all the versions of the Cuda.
Herminator is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 08:06 AM
  #13277  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Car looks pretty nice but not using as many after market stuff as I thought I would see on the car. He was I think if I looked at it correctly 3rd in the D which considering how many mains they had and who was racing he did great for Alex Racing. I saw many top name drivers way lower than the D main so I would think he did great.
wyd is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 02:05 PM
  #13278  
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Default

VERY quiet
Any more news from the worlds ??

Or god forbid more pictures ??

It's all very interesting seeing what there up too .. !!

What do you think to the yokomo, all i can see is they still haven't addressed those front hubs yet and they shatter for a pass time, guess massami don't hit things as much as the rest of us mortals tho
Merciless is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 04:13 PM
  #13279  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Funny thing is Billy Easton made the A with a pretty stock looking Yoke SD with the silver chassis and he has not run much as of late. Says alot for the Yoke if you ask me. He had some alum. toe in blocks like the ones they use on the Pro4.
wyd is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 01:00 AM
  #13280  
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Default

Hey,

I wasn't bashing , simiply statating that i didn't think that possibly the SD's greatest flaw had been addressed !!

I've had 1 and when there going well, they go very well , just ensure you don't hit the boards or the front'll fall off
Merciless is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 04:29 AM
  #13281  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Merciless
Hey,

I wasn't bashing , simiply statating that i didn't think that possibly the SD's greatest flaw had been addressed !!

I've had 1 and when there going well, they go very well , just ensure you don't hit the boards or the front'll fall off
I didn't think you were bashing at all. I also had a few Yokes and the SD was the last one I had and yes I would agree with you about the weeak front end. I also had problems if I took a shot in the rear as the rear shock tower liked to break alot.

I just thought that it was impressive for Easton to make the show with a pretty stock SD while Masami's was pretty tricked out.

Lets hope more info pops up on the the Cuda's that ran at the Worlds. It is nice to see a pick of two fo their cars but it would be cool if their setups were posted.

I think the magazines could do a better job of posting car setups. They only post the winners. Wouldn't it be cool if at major races they posted the setups of like 5 to 6 brands of cars for the top guys. Like the top Losi, Associated, Corally, Yoke, Cuda and stuff like that. Tired of the same damn thing all the time.
wyd is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 06:29 PM
  #13282  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Man quiet in here today!!!!! Well I just ordered some ceramics for my Cuda. It will be smoother than ever before.
wyd is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 07:20 PM
  #13283  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by wyd
Man quiet in here today!!!!! Well I just ordered some ceramics for my Cuda. It will be smoother than ever before.
Been kind of busy with the other cars I have .... but I'll have some things to report after wed thurs this week ...when I get back from the Race at Kawaba R/C plaza ..putting the R2 PAL to work!!
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 07:31 PM
  #13284  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
Been kind of busy with the other cars I have .... but I'll have some things to report after wed thurs this week ...when I get back from the Race at Kawaba R/C plaza ..putting the R2 PAL to work!!
-Dave
Sounds good. I'm doing a complete rebuild once my Pal stuff arrives. I got all my other stuff ready to go and a few things from Speedtech that will be here on Wed and then I will be getting to work.
wyd is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 08:51 PM
  #13285  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
pumpkinfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Schwenksville, PA
Posts: 609
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Any word on the BMI chassis? I remember some talk then it just died.
pumpkinfish is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 04:55 AM
  #13286  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by pumpkinfish
Any word on the BMI chassis? I remember some talk then it just died.
Jason just got back from Vacation last week and was sick most of the week and was trying to catch up on his orders from being away. It is going to happen for sure but might another week or two.
wyd is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 09:48 AM
  #13287  
TC3
Tech Regular
 
TC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 319
Default

Originally posted by Crashmaster
Same here mate. Are you running rubbers or foams??

Cheers
Dan
back from racing last weekend. (rubber on carpet)

i was doing quiet well, the car was handling ok.

setup:

trf shocks 3 hole pistons
60wt front, 40wt rear

1,4x 5,25 front , 1,4x 5,50 rear

1,6mm swaybar in front, rear none

midspawn arms

3deg toe-in rear

0 kickup front and rear..

tires: pit 24r
TC3 is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 10:26 AM
  #13288  
Tech Regular
 
Crashmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincs, England
Posts: 363
Default

Cheers TC3, I'll give that a run next meet.

On another matter, does anyone know how I can stop the batteries literally flying out of the car?? It managed to wreck 2 quali runs, and the final

Anyway, thanks for any help

Cheers
Dan
Crashmaster is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 10:40 AM
  #13289  
Tech Adept
 
COLEKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: La Mirada
Posts: 206
Default

Originally posted by Crashmaster
Cheers TC3, I'll give that a run next meet.

On another matter, does anyone know how I can stop the batteries literally flying out of the car?? It managed to wreck 2 quali runs, and the final

Anyway, thanks for any help

Cheers
Dan
If your using GP's the chassis needs to be filed down so the batteries sit into the chassis. Are you using the battery strap that came with the kit? If you are toss it use tape. Much better to hold in the batteries.
COLEKO is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 12:54 PM
  #13290  
Tech Regular
 
Crashmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincs, England
Posts: 363
Default

Originally posted by COLEKO
If your using GP's the chassis needs to be filed down so the batteries sit into the chassis. Are you using the battery strap that came with the kit? If you are toss it use tape. Much better to hold in the batteries.
You guessed it, I'm using the kit battery strap!

Ah well, lets get some tape

Cheers
Dan
Crashmaster is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.