Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 >

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Old 06-28-2004, 01:16 AM
  #11536  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by OVA
Dave what time it is there?
Hey OVA.. your PM box is Full Bro .. empty that sucker out
BTW I got it today
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 05:39 PM
  #11537  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (82)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,614
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

I got you Thanks
OVA is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 05:44 PM
  #11538  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (82)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,614
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
5pm at night why
-Dave
I wanted to know when it will be the best pacific time to catch you
OVA is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 07:36 PM
  #11539  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,219
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Anything new on the Cuda front? I'm going to get a new Parma Alpha body this weekend. Can't race it for a week or so since I will be on vacastion this weekend
wyd is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 07:38 PM
  #11540  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by wyd
Anything new on the Cuda front? I'm going to get a new Parma Alpha body this weekend. Can't race it for a week or so since I will be on vacastion this weekend
Read the Last page or so.. ... there is a few new things that I have posted along with a few others
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 07:51 PM
  #11541  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,219
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Cool. I did read most of it. Looks interesting
wyd is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 07:58 PM
  #11542  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by wyd
Cool. I did read most of it. Looks interesting
OTAY
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 08:32 AM
  #11543  
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Default

Dave

First problem is the ball studs for the upper link, Which are you using??I tried TC3 but they just pull straight out again easy
Just ordered Pro4 one's to try them ! can you tell me if they'll be a better fit ?? (this is into the std. cuda knuckles)

Got my bulkheads machined just got to pick them up tonight !!

Thought for the trial run i'd just cut the tops of my cuda C-Hubs to save getting TC3 ones buit may be using both TC3 C-Hubs and Hubs is the answer ??

Got 1 rear hub ordered them but didn't reliese there sold as 1 rear and 1 front in a pack marketing people i hate them !!
Merciless is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 11:18 AM
  #11544  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,448
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Associated and HPI are standard ball studs and so the same (unless pro4 has changed that). You want Yokomo ball cups and studs. They are metric like the Cudas.
MikeR is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 11:34 AM
  #11545  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 88
Default

Hey Guys,

I race a xxx-s gp and I am thinking of getting an R3. I browsed the Speedtech web site for parts and all I see is R2 parts. I'm not too familiar with the car. Are the parts of the R2 interchangeable with the R3? What are the common problems with the car? What normally breaks during races if there is contact with the boards or other cars? Is Speedtech the only place to go for parts? What's the deal? Thanks.
PSI Racer is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 11:52 AM
  #11546  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by PSI Racer
Hey Guys,

I race a xxx-s gp and I am thinking of getting an R3. I browsed the Speedtech web site for parts and all I see is R2 parts. I'm not too familiar with the car. Are the parts of the R2 interchangeable with the R3? What are the common problems with the car? What normally breaks during races if there is contact with the boards or other cars? Is Speedtech the only place to go for parts? What's the deal? Thanks.
PSI Racer...
answers to some of your questions.

#1. you cant go wrong with this car.
#2. a lot of the R2 parts are compatible with the R3. slight differences between the R2 and R3 are:
- steering mechanism
- rear uprights
- motor mount
- chassis type (glitter.. no glitter.) new R3 non glitter chassis is coming out real soon. plus a BMI chassis also.

common problems? the only problem i have is the little screw underneath the front C-hub. i lose those suckers a lot. a hard hit... it'll come loose.

contact with boards.. im always in contact with them..and the car is VERY durable.

for parts, you cant go wrong with speedtech. he has everything you'll need, if not he special orders it. service is fast and you can always get a hold of him. i can give you his home number if you want! (just kidding steve! ) speedtech is the primary distributor for alex racing here in the united states.

any other questions, all these guys will gladly help you out.. me too
Hebiki is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 03:31 PM
  #11547  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Merciless
Dave

First problem is the ball studs for the upper link, Which are you using??I tried TC3 but they just pull straight out again easy
Just ordered Pro4 one's to try them ! can you tell me if they'll be a better fit ?? (this is into the std. cuda knuckles)

Got my bulkheads machined just got to pick them up tonight !!

Thought for the trial run i'd just cut the tops of my cuda C-Hubs to save getting TC3 ones buit may be using both TC3 C-Hubs and Hubs is the answer ??

Got 1 rear hub ordered them but didn't reliese there sold as 1 rear and 1 front in a pack marketing people i hate them !!
Ball cups... RPM
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 04:40 PM
  #11548  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
linger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Retired
Posts: 1,132
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hmm,
That's weird, I don't have that problem. My 4-40 ballstuds fit just fine in the alex knuckles. Make sure to use new knuckles since 4-40 will strip the 3mm tapped holes. I also used the accociated flanged tube bushing in the associated castor blocks. The 3mm hardware does not fit through the associated flanged tubes.


Originally posted by Merciless
Dave

First problem is the ball studs for the upper link, Which are you using??I tried TC3 but they just pull straight out again easy
Just ordered Pro4 one's to try them ! can you tell me if they'll be a better fit ?? (this is into the std. cuda knuckles)
linger is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 04:43 PM
  #11549  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
linger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Retired
Posts: 1,132
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Attached is a pic of the front end conversion before I machined the bulkheads.
Attached Thumbnails Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3-lt_r2_05.jpg  
linger is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 04:45 PM
  #11550  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
linger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Retired
Posts: 1,132
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: if the Link doesn`t work

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
Nice Job there

but what are you using for the Rear hubs..?
-Dave
Hi Dave,
I'm still using the stock hubs. I'm considering cutting them down or drilling new holes.

Any idea if the Yok or Pro4 rear hubs will fit with little or no mods?
linger is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.