Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 >

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Old 06-18-2004, 11:41 AM
  #11401  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,219
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by RcMonk
Wyd,

Would be cool if you showed up at WC this Sat. I had planned to go two weeks ago but it was rained out. Definately going to make it there this weekend if the weather holds up.
I'm pretty sure I'm going to WC. I need to cut some tires tonight and then pack my stuff and I'm ready.
wyd is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 06:45 PM
  #11402  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,219
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Anyone make diff halfs for the the Cuda. The stock ones are ok but if you ever get in a wreck and the dog bone gets pulled out of the diff half it breaks. I race at a very brutal track and today I broek both sides of the diff halves and finally ripped one completely off. All my other touring cars with diffs like this the bones can come out pretty easy but the Cuda setup is not like this so they seem to break or at leat crack anytime the bone is pulled out of a diff half. When my steering block was ripped out it also tokk out the diff.

Man it looks like I need to order one replacement and one extra and a few bevel gears. I ran the spool today once in practice and touched the wall a tad and with the spool in it tore up the bevel gear. Missing two teeth so now it is a 14 tooth gear.
wyd is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 07:03 PM
  #11403  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by wyd


Man it looks like I need to order one replacement and one extra and a few bevel gears. I ran the spool today once in practice and touched the wall a tad and with the spool in it tore up the bevel gear. Missing two teeth so now it is a 14 tooth gear.
Congrats on the 14t gear .. I have broke teeth off of the main gear before.. but never the 16T

as for the Diff half troubles... there was a company about a year or two ago that made some in hard carbon for the R1 but I have yet to see and the past year here in Japan.
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 07:27 PM
  #11404  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,219
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

You know Dave I guess I shuld just stay off the pipes at this place but it is very hard to see with the super low drivers stand they have so alot of guys hit the pipe and rip stuff off the car.

Maybe I can start selling the 14 tooth gear as a hopup part.

I did get rid of all my glitching at this track so that is very cool. Car is coming around pretty good now. Just need to buy some swaybars for the front and a few pairs of diff halfs and I think I'm good to go.
wyd is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 09:47 PM
  #11405  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (17)
 
chappi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Default a short Question...

Can anyone tell me, where does the Barracuda R3 made in?

China? Japan?

thank you ..
chappi is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 09:59 PM
  #11406  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: a short Question...

Originally posted by chappi
Can anyone tell me, where does the Barracuda R3 made in?

China? Japan?

thank you ..
japan.
JusBox is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 10:00 PM
  #11407  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (82)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,617
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

I believe in Japan
OVA is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 10:34 PM
  #11408  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (17)
 
chappi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Default

so, it doesn't wrote anything like

MADE IN JAPAN

on the box?
chappi is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 12:24 AM
  #11409  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
SpeedTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 6,028
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

chappi,

The Barracuda line of cars are made in Japan. The Alex Racing factories have all the machining equipments in house and I think some where on that box it says "Made in Japan"

Steve Wang
SpeedTech is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 12:29 AM
  #11410  
Tech Adept
 
stjerno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 239
Default

Originally posted by SpeedTech
chappi,

The Barracuda line of cars are made in Japan. The Alex Racing factories have all the machining equipments in house and I think some where on that box it says "Made in Japan"

Steve Wang
Long time no post Steve

There's no (english) made in Japan on the box of the R3 !
Got that cleared

Now let get back to the interesting part .. the Cuda ..

Dave - any news on the "toe out" on the front arms with the long arms ?
stjerno is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 12:49 AM
  #11411  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (17)
 
chappi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Default

o ic

thx guys...

also, another question.

Is it a new version of R3 coming? the BLACK CHASSIS edition?


when does it start selling in the market?
chappi is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 01:13 AM
  #11412  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by chappi
o ic

thx guys...

also, another question.

Is it a new version of R3 coming? the BLACK CHASSIS edition?


when does it start selling in the market?
THe Black chassis has been out in Japan for about 2 weeks ...almost everybody that runs the R3 at the local track has swiched to the Black one over the Sparkle chassis ....
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 01:15 AM
  #11413  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by stjerno


Dave - any news on the "toe out" on the front arms with the long arms ?
Much improved turn in with the car..and mid corner feels much better... on a side note though... with this set up in the front I have found that my car likes a bit more rear toe in???
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 01:21 AM
  #11414  
Tech Adept
 
stjerno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 239
Default

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
Much improved turn in with the car..and mid corner feels much better... on a side note though... with this set up in the front I have found that my car likes a bit more rear toe in???
-Dave
What to do you run in the front (total on the wheels) ?
More rear toe .. more than the stock 4d ??
How about steering on power out of the turn, seems to be missing a little on my R3 at the moment ?

Have you tried the 3 deg front hubs and added some kickup ?

Thanks
stjerno is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 01:34 AM
  #11415  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by stjerno
What to do you run in the front (total on the wheels) ?
More rear toe .. more than the stock 4d ??
How about steering on power out of the turn, seems to be missing a little on my R3 at the moment ?

Have you tried the 3 deg front hubs and added some kickup ?

Thanks
On power out of the corners is one thing I think some of my setups or the R3 lacks ...anyways.. I hope to have that little problem fixed with the shifted batterys & servo moved forward on the Chassis that BMI is going to be working on
as for total fornt toe at the wheels??? .5 deg out .25 per wheel.. but as far as the A-arm toe out..I have the offset balls set for MAX A-ARM toe out..the most it could go...I want to say about 1.5~2.0 deg out on the front arms
..
now for the Hubs..?

I run the PAL 5 deg ones up forn and the Pal 1 deg ones in the Rear

On a side note I have found that running the shocks all the way out on the rear shock tower and on the second position in from the bottom on the rear a-arm kind of makes on power steering abit better.. this was with 400 oil up front and 300 in the rear with 1.5x6 springs up front and 1.5 x 7 in the rear..
no sway bars..( easier to drive without them )
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.