R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-09-2004, 11:06 AM   #11296
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

I did order some offset pillow balls and more hardened midspan a arms. Speedtech didn't have any extra diff gears or bevel gears showing in their inventory right now so I will get that stuff as soon as he gets them in.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 11:09 AM   #11297
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wyd
I did order some offset pillow balls and more hardened midspan a arms. Speedtech didn't have any extra diff gears or bevel gears showing in their inventory right now so I will get that stuff as soon as he gets them in.
WYD..

PM me with your address... I've got a diff and one-way bevel gears I can send you...left over from my WEB.
I'll look for them tonight....
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 11:27 AM   #11298
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rc-zombies
WYD..

PM me with your address... I've got a diff and one-way bevel gears I can send you...left over from my WEB.
I'll look for them tonight....
Thanks. I sent you a PM. Once again another good guy on the R/C Tech forums.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 11:45 AM   #11299
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,799
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Between the MG proform and the Mazda 6 I think the MG is alittle more stable than the Mazda6 The Mazda 6 have alittle more down force than the MG
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 06:40 PM   #11300
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Herminator


So track testing is whats been keeping you busy the last couple days I'll just stay bored then....... nothing to look at......


Yep... It`s been a while ..have to pratice a bit
-Dave
BTW you`ll see something by the end of the week just kind of busy
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2004, 07:13 PM   #11301
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via ICQ to Herminator
Default

hehe, I bet, you must be just a little rusty
although if you've got it, you never really loose it
we had a club member return recently after two years off, within a few weeks he was back up to the top, although maybe not quite as good as he once was ,but it could be his aging equipment holding him back a bit too... He stills runs a Pro 2 and all of his cells apart from a set he bought from me, were old nicads not that they can't still be fast....

don't take too long getting to the post office, I won't be here to recieve it in a couple weeks
Herminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 08:34 AM   #11302
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

herminator,

i need a favor. i am running the cirrus esc as well. i have noticed something that i don't like. while the car is on the bench, i was slowly accellerating and decellerating while watching the led's. i saw that there is a distinct "jump" when the orange light goes out, leaving only the green on. this occurs to signify that 100% power is acheived.

well, if i move the trigger slow enough, i can actually get the esc to stop in it's deadband that occurs from the 99 to 100% transition. can you get your cirrus to do this? i am bothered by this, and maybe i've got a blow fet or something. what do you think?

the esc is smooth from 0-99%, but the motor arcs when going to 100% and it's audibly, and visually noticeable. like i said, if i hold at the 99.5% position the esc sits quietly in it's deadband, and the motor is still. can you reproduce these results?

please advise.

chris
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 09:28 AM   #11303
Tech Fanatic
 
rcsabah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: TQ around de World
Posts: 996
Default

have you check your radio setting at your ESC requirement
rcsabah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 10:25 AM   #11304
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wyd
Thanks. I sent you a PM. Once again another good guy on the R/C Tech forums.
your PM box is full

Found them!.. no charge bro...
you should have it sometime next week...

happy racin..
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 10:47 AM   #11305
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via ICQ to Herminator
Default

I've never noticed it myself, but I'll check for you soon.
When did you get your Cirrus?
what did it include in the way of capacitors?

What radio do you use? how many steps or how much travel does it have? if you know.
Herminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 11:16 AM   #11306
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

the cirrus has maybe 15 runs on it, and is two months old.
wired in is a 4.7 uF x 10v cap (novak cap)
schottky diode (novak board style)

i am running a futaba 3pm radio on 75 band (not hrs). brand new actually. as far as travel goes, it's set for 100% throttle epa, and the esc is calibrated accordingly. the zero is good, the high level and braking are as well. it's just getting there that exposes the discontinuities.

i have played with frequency settings in the cirrus profile, but to no avail. i will play more, but i am skeptical that anything will change. i have not had great luck with the mtroniks stuff thus far, (two cubes and a cirrus) but i love their specs.
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 11:38 AM   #11307
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via ICQ to Herminator
Default

OK, I've checked mine out and there's definetly no jump, or stall. I can get the orange led to flicker on and off but there's no actual power issues at the motor. The orange LED goes out a bit before 99% power, probably more like 95%.
When I got my Cirrus back the other day it came with an extra cap, the same as used on motors, 0.1 uF. There was an added note to say it has to be soldered across the negative motor and negative battery terminals on the ESC. M.Troniks have always stressed that the smaller of the power caps supplied must always be used.

Some radio's have too much throttle range for the speedo, a club mate with a cheapo radio had erratic power glitches when at full throttle, since the radio sent out a signal out of the speedo's range so the speedo didn't know what to do. Doesn't sound like your problem though, I use a Futaba 3PK, so there shouldn't be much difference.
Herminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 12:25 PM   #11308
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rc-zombies
your PM box is full

Found them!.. no charge bro...
you should have it sometime next week...

happy racin..
I emptied my PM. Funny thing it is not really that full to begin with. Oh well thanks for the hook up. If you need anything let mw know and I will try to help you out.

Brian
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 02:21 PM   #11309
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Thumbs up thank you

for the quick help. i'll look some more, but it doesn't look good. you are man herm. perfect!
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 11:03 PM   #11310
Tech Adept
 
psmart2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tulsa, Ok
Posts: 105
Default

Does anyone have a good setup for modified/rubber tire/indoor asphalt medium tight track? Will be using R2 with Xenon Stage 2& Square front and rear hubs. Motor will be 10T limit.

Thanks
psmart2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 Funkymojo R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-03-2007 01:00 PM
alex racing barracuda con81 Electric On-Road 1 12-14-2005 03:36 AM
WTT: Alex Racing Barracuda R2 for PS2 AZ_Ron Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 02-13-2005 07:30 PM
Alex Racing Barracuda R3-New. rcracing1973 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 04-11-2004 08:29 AM
Alex Racing Barracuda Bugs Bunny Singapore R/C Racers 6 01-22-2003 11:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:29 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net