Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 >

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Like Tree4Likes

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Old 06-04-2004, 05:20 PM
  #11206  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,506
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Re: MIKE R !!

Originally posted by mb racer
YGPM >>>
Here's a set up for ya Mark. Start with this and let me know how it goes and we'll make changes from here. Sorry, can't add attachment in PM.
Attached Thumbnails Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3-castle_park.jpg  
MikeR is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 12:09 PM
  #11207  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by NismoSkyline17
Pretty much everything but the steering parts, ie steering rack, and the chassis parts from the R2 fits the R3.
R3 shock towers wont work on the R2/R1 bulkheads

-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 08:15 PM
  #11208  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Margaritaville
Posts: 1,957
Default

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
R3 shock towers wont work on the R2/R1 bulkheads

-Dave
Ya I prolly should have said all the carbon fiber pieces. I hate when your mind thinks one thing but you mouth says another.
NismoSkyline17 is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 07:29 PM
  #11209  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Does anyone have a yokomo or had a yokomo that they know uses the same size cvd's as the barracuda?
possibly it could be done with a mix of bones and axles?
just looking into a different source of lgith weight yet strong cvd's
Herminator is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 07:35 PM
  #11210  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

I don't think the piece that connects the axle to the dog bone fit. The ones on the Cuda's are smaller. I found out this weekend as I needed to fix my Cuda CVD setup and tried the MIP piece and the Tamiya setup for their CVD's and neither of the two fit. I had a Yoke SD and pretty sure they are different.
wyd is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 07:42 PM
  #11211  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Originally posted by wyd
I don't think the piece that connects the axle to the dog bone fit. The ones on the Cuda's are smaller. I found out this weekend as I needed to fix my Cuda CVD setup and tried the MIP piece and the Tamiya setup for their CVD's and neither of the two fit. I had a Yoke SD and pretty sure they are different.
hmm.... so you're saying the joint is different sized?
if there are some that have the same length pieces and use the same size bearings for holding them in the hub it may still be possible to use them, just have to get hold of a whole cvd.
Herminator is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 07:56 PM
  #11212  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

The joint hole is a little smaller on the Cuda setup. You might be able to do what you said though. It might just be a trial and error thing.
wyd is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 08:45 PM
  #11213  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (84)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,668
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

herminator are you looking for me I'm the guy did the universal dog bone modification
OVA is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 10:57 PM
  #11214  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,819
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

Originally posted by OVA
herminator are you looking for me I'm the guy did the universal dog bone modification
where are you located in washington OVA
JayBee is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 04:49 AM
  #11215  
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Default

Hi ALL,

Project "Balance it up" is now under way !



There X-Ray straps (work out quite expensive , but good)

In short testing before mounting the straps i found in this way the car would balance on balancing pins very well so left right balance i believe to be very good, but as yet i've not looked into front rear. Although to make minimum weight i got to add 90 odd grams some where so i'm sure getting front rear good too won't be a problem !!

MikeR's version is nice too but i ain't got a small servo and i think weight would also be needed to be added battery side, with that configuration to get left/right balance correct after moving 2 cells ??
Merciless is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 05:06 AM
  #11216  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Merciless
Hi ALL,

Project "Balance it up" is now under way !



There X-Ray straps (work out quite expensive , but good)

In short testing before mounting the straps i found in this way the car would balance on balancing pins very well so left right balance i believe to be very good, but as yet i've not looked into front rear. Although to make minimum weight i got to add 90 odd grams some where so i'm sure getting front rear good too won't be a problem !!

MikeR's version is nice too but i ain't got a small servo and i think weight would also be needed to be added battery side, with that configuration to get left/right balance correct after moving 2 cells ??
Looks good but wait till you see the R3 chassis that I have someone working on soon and it will be 3mmand have the 3d cut outs like the Xenon chassis and a bit more FWD bias than the normal R3 chassis ( servo mooved up 3mm and battery moved up3mm and in 1mm )
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 05:10 AM
  #11217  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Herminator
hmm.... so you're saying the joint is different sized?
if there are some that have the same length pieces and use the same size bearings for holding them in the hub it may still be possible to use them, just have to get hold of a whole cvd.
Hey Hermi..

I have a buddy that has done what your trying to do...let me hit him up tommorow
also you can use the front Axel from the MR4TC SD if you need to replace that section for the time being
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 05:17 AM
  #11218  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

OVA- what modification? spill the beans if you have any cuda ideas

Merciless- interesting idea, just a couple quick issues. Where's your spur gear going to go with the battery strap post there?
Would probably be more practicle with the 4/2 configuration, since with 5/1 you're going to have to put a wire joint on the inside edge of two cells, next to the drive shaft. Just makes things a bit tricky.
Get yourself a nice Futaba 9550 servo it makes electronics installation sooo much easier I don't see where you could fit your ESC with cells like that.

It's probably a lot easier to just use those 90grams of balast to get the chassis balanced, but the 4/2 configuration is interesting in that you can move the cells on the right side back and forth. So you can have the weight central, forwards or to the rear, a handy tuning option
Herminator is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 05:26 AM
  #11219  
Tech Elite
 
GTO2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Don't Blink !!
Posts: 2,264
Default

Originally posted by Herminator
Does anyone have a yokomo or had a yokomo that they know uses the same size cvd's as the barracuda?
possibly it could be done with a mix of bones and axles?
just looking into a different source of lgith weight yet strong cvd's
I use Tobeecraft Yoke SD Alum Bones for my R3 front (combine with R3 Axles) They are light and pretty tough. Doesn't fit the rear tho.
GTO2 is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 05:34 AM
  #11220  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Dave, any info would be helpful, don't resort to physical vilence though

So you indicate the front axles from the SD fit...
GTO2 indicates the bones by tobeecraft for the SD fit.....
I don't like alloy bones for the front though.....
which kind of makes me think the overall dimensions for a whole cvd is compatible...
Herminator is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.