R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-14-2004, 08:32 PM   #10801
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,142
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

I'm really thinking of getting a R2 and going with the Xenon kit on it. I really don't care for TC3 style steering rack. Always seem to be a problem on my TC3 when I had it. It was always something with it. Either loose or binding up.

I was also thinking the Mid span arms are the way to go as well. Anyone try Tamiya TRF Flourine coated shocks on this car or not? How are the Cuda shocks as I have never seen them up close to really know how they are.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2004, 09:06 PM   #10802
Tech Master
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Margaritaville
Posts: 1,957
Default

I use the Alex shock from the kit. I just went ahead and put the Yok bladder shock caps from the SD. Make the shock feel so much better and less bleeding you have to do. Now if I can just get them anodized red to match the shocks.
NismoSkyline17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2004, 09:46 PM   #10803
Tech Fanatic
 
S-T-R-l-K-E-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CS RACING / RIDDLER HOBBIES
Posts: 973
Send a message via ICQ to S-T-R-l-K-E-R
Default shock talks

speaking of shocks - i find the shocks of the cuda a bit tideous. there are alot of steps and you must do it all perfectly otherwise you would hafta do it all over again. unlike the SD shocks just pop in the bladder and you are most likely good to go.

i know some guys here use rayspeed springs on cuda shocks MY QUESTION IS that has anyone tried using SD shocks for the cuda?
S-T-R-l-K-E-R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2004, 09:54 PM   #10804
Tech Master
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Margaritaville
Posts: 1,957
Default

The Yok SD shock caps work great. I use them on mine. The SD's shocks might work, but not exactly sure.
NismoSkyline17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2004, 11:51 PM   #10805
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: shock talks

Quote:
Originally posted by S-T-R-l-K-E-R
speaking of shocks - i find the shocks of the cuda a bit tideous. there are alot of steps and you must do it all perfectly otherwise you would hafta do it all over again. unlike the SD shocks just pop in the bladder and you are most likely good to go.

i know some guys here use rayspeed springs on cuda shocks MY QUESTION IS that has anyone tried using SD shocks for the cuda?
You can always go with the Tamiya TRF shocks, those work well with the cuda.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 01:33 AM   #10806
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MALTA
Posts: 27
Default

Hi Nismoskyline

I done the same on my R2.I tried the yoko shock caps and they feels great with only one bleed and they're good.But they leaked a lot when i tried them on the track yesterday.I removed the o-ring from the shock body.The yoko shocks are a bit shorter than the cuda but i will try them too and tell you guys what happened.I will try to fit the cuda shafts into the yoko bodies!!!!to get more lenght.

Henry

Malta
speed1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 09:03 AM   #10807
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

i dunno if this is old news for you guys but i just noticed this bit of news on orion website about a new cuda.

here is a link to more pics

http://www.team-td.net/ebent/r3vp.htm

imo, it just looks a bit..hmm...wrong
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 09:53 AM   #10808
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

nope,

my understanding is that it's a one of, proto that looks very appealing. it will not be production, and i don't believe the creator has any ties to alex but infatuation.

i would love to see a company like bmi hit the market offering c/f tub chassis for all of the popular cars. 3-4 mm thick lower with a top plate and link configuration. regardless of the $, i feel that there would be many sales.
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 10:42 AM   #10809
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

a 3-4mm thick tub chassis isn't nessecary i dont think.

well, take a tc3 one i think they are about 2mm thick...maybe 2.5mm

a 3-4mm thick CF tub chassis would jsut be reeeeeeeeealy stuff, maybe to stiff.

fibre lyte made a CF tub chassis for brokomo SD and that was supposed to be good. i think that was 2.5mm
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 11:26 AM   #10810
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 289
Send a message via AIM to Dougnuts55
Default

So do any of you guys drive r3s or do yall just stick with the r2s.


Doug
Dougnuts55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 11:27 AM   #10811
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,142
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

A tube graphite chassis like the TC3 and Losi use are alot different than a straight carbon fiber chassis like the Yoke, Cuda, and others use. That is why you see 3mm thick graphite chassis to help make the car stiffer. The TC3 and losi tubs are stiffer to begin with.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 03:39 PM   #10812
Tech Champion
 
SpeedTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 6,028
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
THanks guys....sorry for the long away time...but it was something out of my control .... I`m back to help and answer Q`s again ...Pic`s ect ect....

-Dave

Welcome back Dave, send me an email when you get a chance. By the way, hope you enjoy the Shizouka show, I was hoping to run into you there (but didn't) hope to hear from you soon.

Steve Wang
__________________
>>>www.SpeedtechHobbies.com<<<
SpeedTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 03:41 PM   #10813
Tech Champion
 
SpeedTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 6,028
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Hi Guys,

Just came back from the Shizouka show in Japan and I also had the opportunity to visit both Alex Racing Factory and Xenon Racing factory. I will post some pictures when I recover from the 9 1/2 hour plane ride and also share some new product information (which is already featured in the June issue of R/C Magazine)

Steve Wang
__________________
>>>www.SpeedtechHobbies.com<<<
SpeedTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 04:12 PM   #10814
Tech Champion
 
SpeedTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 6,028
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Also, our shipment will be leaving Japan tomorrow, which will have some pal parts in there as well. We are trying to put together the short camber link coversion (with front and rear aluminum hub carriers together). Hopefully I will receive it in the next few days.

Alex Racing has also announce that they will have a new graphite chassis for the R3 (no more glitter). It is a different type of graphite (stiffer) woven differently. I will post pictures of the sample I received when I get a chance

Steve Wang
__________________
>>>www.SpeedtechHobbies.com<<<
SpeedTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 05:13 PM   #10815
Tech Regular
 
RcMonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Philly burbs
Posts: 389
Default

Cool....can't wait for you to post pics of the new stuff you saw at the Japan show.

Quote:
Originally posted by SpeedTech
Hi Guys,

Just came back from the Shizouka show in Japan and I also had the opportunity to visit both Alex Racing Factory and Xenon Racing factory. I will post some pictures when I recover from the 9 1/2 hour plane ride and also share some new product information (which is already featured in the June issue of R/C Magazine)

Steve Wang
RcMonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 Funkymojo R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-03-2007 01:00 PM
alex racing barracuda con81 Electric On-Road 1 12-14-2005 03:36 AM
WTT: Alex Racing Barracuda R2 for PS2 AZ_Ron Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 02-13-2005 07:30 PM
Alex Racing Barracuda R3-New. rcracing1973 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 04-11-2004 08:29 AM
Alex Racing Barracuda Bugs Bunny Singapore R/C Racers 6 01-22-2003 11:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:18 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net