R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2004, 02:10 PM   #10711
Tech Initiate
 
Lotus111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 46
Send a message via MSN to Lotus111
Default

Wow, thanks anyway. i make a list for my HP PDA so the work is not for nothing ;-)

Need to refresh my browser more often
__________________
>> no limits <<
http://mcc-konstanz.spaces.live.com
http://de.youtube.com/user/stecher111
http://www.bawue-cup.de
Lotus111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 03:13 PM   #10712
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via ICQ to Herminator
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gazza_D
Glad to see you are happy with that motor Herm, they are a bit of work to get going but it is all worth it in the end

Got my car all ready for the BTCC next weekend, its quick and has planty of grip without trashing the tyres I was the fastest running the control tyre we will be using next week so fingers crossed for a clean run.

Cant say i've had a problem in the cvd/universal area as yet, was that down to wear or just plain bad luck??
It was nice running outdoors with plenty of power, makes indoors with stock motors seem so dull
It took a larger pinion than I expected, will have to find a really small spur for Stonehaven if I go up there again. Could have possibly gone for a little more top end at Stirling but a whole tooth on the pinion would of been a bit too much, unless I get a small fan fitted to my car.

My car was quite kind on tyres this weekend too, used CS22's all day. It was looking like a hot day but it got a little cloudy and there was a chilly wind trying to blow the gazebo's away Some tried CS27's but I wasn't showing much sign of overworking my now fairly old 22's.

I recently went back from my titanium axles to the old steel ones, the titanium had too much slop in them but my front steel ones aren't much better. I didn't rethreadlock the grub screws in the inital replacing since they still had some of the goo on them which usualy means they'll stay nicely but not stick too bad when I unscrew them. Have run them for a couple weeks now without problem then when I went for my first practise run I found the front left wheel wouldn't turn. The pin was half out and stuck in the pivot hole in the bottom of the hub. I took it out and re thread locked it, tightening fully. I don't know how it managed to do the exact same in time for the final
Maybe the vibration from the worn axle helped work it loose
Herminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 04:13 PM   #10713
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,042
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OVA
The car is very stable and smooth and carry good speed coming out of the turn..But not enough going into the corner.so I think I need more less deg caster than the stock block
Try a rear sway bar in back and removing the kick up in front. Place a .5 spacer on the rear instead to create a little more anti squat. If you still need more initial steering try moving the upper outer link higher(front), moving the upper front shock in one hole or give the rear end an extra .5mm of down travel. One at a time of coarse
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 04:14 PM   #10714
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,042
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stjerno
Guess I'll save you the work and post the setup for you
Also included is the spring conversion chart..

Enjoy
Wow- good stuff. That's going right in my toolbox!
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 07:12 PM   #10715
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,799
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Hi MikeR
If I pu the sway bar in the rear,maybe I should take off the front,that way the front end will steer into the coner alittle harder
that's might works
Two ...I never did add any spacer in the front for kick up
three... mount the upper front link higher will give me more higher roll center and I don't the car react too fast in the front.. I want the car roll more into the turn
Four...shock front position is third hole from the center
fifth.... .5mm down travel in the rear
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 07:16 PM   #10716
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,799
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Mike R If I could get the 5 deg.or lower caster block would fine for what I need for my car to do

Our track is very high traction
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 08:47 PM   #10717
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,042
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OVA
Hi MikeR
If I pu the sway bar in the rear,maybe I should take off the front,that way the front end will steer into the coner alittle harder
that's might works
Two ...I never did add any spacer in the front for kick up
three... mount the upper front link higher will give me more higher roll center and I don't the car react too fast in the front.. I want the car roll more into the turn
Four...shock front position is third hole from the center
fifth.... .5mm down travel in the rear
Hi OVA,
Small changes are the key here since the car feels good except when entering the corner Don't want to over do it and lose the rear end grip.
1. I would leave the front on still while adding the back.
2. In your previous post you mentioned you added spacers which added kick up;
"I did add the spacer in the front A-arm for anti dive.but the same as less deg caster block"
3.This will actually give the front a lower roll center which will give the front end a little more grip. Check out RCCA 6/04 issue pg.205 for a detailed explanation
4.Your front shock just may be too firm compared to the back.
5. Allow an additional .5mm of down travel with the downstop screws. If you're not sure what this does then I would skip this one- could get you into trouble if done wrong.

5deg caster can definitely help you there but what are you gonna do until then?
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2004, 06:00 AM   #10718
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,799
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Hi
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2004, 06:06 AM   #10719
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,799
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Hi MIkeR
Yes I agree with the you everything ...
Adding the spacer in the front A-arm is not I want to do.But I don't have any choice right now I'll give a try and see what happen...What do I have to lose Thanks
Nice talking with you
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2004, 11:27 AM   #10720
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,042
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OVA
Hi MIkeR
Yes I agree with the you everything ...
Adding the spacer in the front A-arm is not I want to do.But I don't have any choice right now I'll give a try and see what happen...What do I have to lose Thanks
Nice talking with you
You too

Now maybe you can answer my newbie like question- What size are the diff balls (1/8"?) and what are the stock spring rate that come with the kit I've had the car for so long that I've forgotten the basics
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2004, 12:17 PM   #10721
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,799
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Hi Mike
1/8 is the ball diff size for the R2.
I don't used the alex or barracuda springs
I have Tamiya shock on mine and TC3 springs
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2004, 02:26 PM   #10722
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,042
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Thanks.

By the way- Mark Dawson I hear was racing down here last weekend. Did he move back to SoCal?
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2004, 02:37 PM   #10723
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,799
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Yeah Dawson back down to cal. about two weeks ago
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2004, 02:41 PM   #10724
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,799
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Hey Mike where do you race ? or where 's your home town track located
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2004, 03:33 AM   #10725
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Malta
Posts: 267
Default

Hi Guys,

Does anyone know how much Speedtech's Spool for the R2/R3 weight in grams?

Regards,
Mark
dhiracing.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 Funkymojo R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-03-2007 01:00 PM
alex racing barracuda con81 Electric On-Road 1 12-14-2005 03:36 AM
WTT: Alex Racing Barracuda R2 for PS2 AZ_Ron Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 02-13-2005 07:30 PM
Alex Racing Barracuda R3-New. rcracing1973 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 04-11-2004 08:29 AM
Alex Racing Barracuda Bugs Bunny Singapore R/C Racers 6 01-22-2003 11:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:44 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net