Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 >

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Old 04-25-2004, 09:05 AM
  #10636  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by raving-monkey
thanks guys, there are a couple of big shops with lots of gears in stock now

i will need them
why do you have a pro 4?
JusBox is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 09:15 AM
  #10637  
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Default

FOAM TYRES

how r u guys getting the larger 26mm and 28mm wheels to fit your R3's ??

Please help !!
Merciless is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 09:17 AM
  #10638  
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Default

yeah

just thought it would be better as it is much easier to get parts and setups etc
raving-monkey is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 09:27 AM
  #10639  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by raving-monkey
yeah

just thought it would be better as it is much easier to get parts and setups etc
Cool, it's a great car... i just like ragging on it cause it's not as pretty as the r2/r3.

you do know how teflon sticks to the pan, right?
JusBox is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 11:05 AM
  #10640  
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Default

hmm.....mybe they use CA.....now thats where my CA has gone, the pan makers stole it

lol
raving-monkey is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 01:21 PM
  #10641  
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Default

Originally posted by Merciless
FOAM TYRES

how r u guys getting the larger 26mm and 28mm wheels to fit your R3's ??

Please help !!
NE1 ??
Merciless is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 02:08 PM
  #10642  
Tech Regular
 
RcMonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Philly burbs
Posts: 389
Default

I have used 26mm foams on my R2 without any problems. With 28mm foams they rub the top of the front c-hub and the rear knuckles. I ended cutting the 28m foams down to 26mm on a tire truer. You might be able to make it work by getting c-hubs and rear knuckles made by Speedway Pal(if you have seen what they look like).

Originally posted by Merciless
NE1 ??
RcMonk is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 03:06 PM
  #10643  
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Default

Speedway Pal ?? got XENON hubs front and rear and with 26mm tyres the wheel just touches the trackrod ends

At the moment i was thinking a 1mm or maybe 2mm spacer between the drive hex and the wheel might be the answer but i still don't think that'll get 28mm wheels on there
Merciless is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 03:47 PM
  #10644  
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Default

you could put a washer in there or just use offset wheels.
raving-monkey is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 04:11 PM
  #10645  
Tech Regular
 
RcMonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Philly burbs
Posts: 389
Post

Merciless,

Yes, the Speedway Pal front & rear hubs are different from Xenon's design. With the Pal hubs I think the tie rod ends are under the wheel so your 28mm wheel may have clearance where as with the Xenon ones the tie rod ends are outside the wheel so it rubs.

From what I read Steve at Speedtech is testing the Speedway Pal hubs so he might be able to order some soon. IN case you are interested, here is what the Pal hubs look like.
http://www2.ocn.ne.jp/~sw-pal/Newpro...erarmConv.html

You can do the spacer trick but make sure you have some low profile wheel nuts since you will have less threads on the axle after adding the spacers.

Originally posted by Merciless
Speedway Pal ?? got XENON hubs front and rear and with 26mm tyres the wheel just touches the trackrod ends

At the moment i was thinking a 1mm or maybe 2mm spacer between the drive hex and the wheel might be the answer but i still don't think that'll get 28mm wheels on there
RcMonk is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 04:40 PM
  #10646  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

the speedway pal hubs are the answer for wide wheels, but you'll also need the drop down mounts shown at the bottom of the page RcMonk posted, otherwise the turnbuckles will foul the top deck.

For 26mm wheels you will be able to get away with thin spacers, too thick will mean there's not enough thread for the wheel nut to secure to. HPI used to include some very thin round spacers with their wheels, these are very handy if you can find them. I use them on the rear a lot because running on wood I use 21mm wheels and tyres and Schumacher are about the only company that make 21mm wheels that are easy to get and they have thick spokes that foul the suspension arms a little.
Herminator is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 04:57 PM
  #10647  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Margaritaville
Posts: 1,957
Default

Finally I was just about to ask if they still made them any more. I hope Steve gets them soon. 'Hint' 'Hint'
NismoSkyline17 is offline  
Old 04-26-2004, 02:59 AM
  #10648  
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Default

Looks interesting but those camber arms are very short when compared to the std. alex design versions.I believe this will give very aggressive turn in but there after not so good ??

Can't believe there's not another way of getting something as simiple as Std. sized foam tyres on a modern RC tourer
Merciless is offline  
Old 04-26-2004, 06:17 AM
  #10649  
Tech Regular
 
Gazza_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bath, England
Posts: 327
Default

stjerno,
going back to the Cirrus speedo, fits really easily in the cuda, found this pic of one mounted in my car to give you an idea on how much room there is with it mounted.
Attached Thumbnails Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3-104_0491.jpg  
Gazza_D is offline  
Old 04-26-2004, 06:32 AM
  #10650  
Tech Adept
 
stjerno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 239
Default

Hi Gazza,

Thanks for the pic.. I'm now almost and very close to settling on the Cirrus (And then I'm reading that Tekin is back in business..)

What is that batterymount your are using ?

Stjerno
stjerno is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.