Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 >

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Like Tree4Likes

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Old 04-10-2004, 07:22 AM
  #10456  
Tech Elite
 
GTO2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Don't Blink !!
Posts: 2,264
Default

Mine is well protected, thanks for the warning.
GTO2 is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 08:24 AM
  #10457  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
pumpkinfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Schwenksville, PA
Posts: 609
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I need some help setting my ride height. I just finished building my pink R3, and I cannot get the rear any lower than 8mm! I run 5mm ride height at my track since that is the lowest we can go. I also can not get the front up. It is stuck at 3.5mm. I followed the directions as best I could. Someone please offer a suggestion, I am going nuts!

pumpkinfish is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 09:07 AM
  #10458  
Tech Elite
 
GTO2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Don't Blink !!
Posts: 2,264
Default

8mm ?
Did your damper checked out ok?
There's a way to lower your rear by placing 3mm spacer under all the rear ballstuds, but I feel that wouldn't be necessary under normal condition. It may be lower than that when your cuda is fully loaded.
GTO2 is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 09:38 AM
  #10459  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

That's odd that you can't get the ride height high enough, usually it's the other way around. Check your droop screws to see that they aren't screwed down too far. Check the shock length and make sure there's no binding anywhere.
JusBox is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 10:05 AM
  #10460  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
pumpkinfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Schwenksville, PA
Posts: 609
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Let me ask this. The directions looked like you had to put a spacer under the piston when building. Did you guys put spacers and if so, how thick? I put spacers in the front but not the rear. That is the only difference between the two. I am thinking this is my mistake. Any thoughts on this theory?
pumpkinfish is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 11:47 AM
  #10461  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by pumpkinfish
Let me ask this. The directions looked like you had to put a spacer under the piston when building. Did you guys put spacers and if so, how thick? I put spacers in the front but not the rear. That is the only difference between the two. I am thinking this is my mistake. Any thoughts on this theory?
Yes I think that's where the problem is. I didn't put any spacers in... the shock instructions are tricky. I have a few posts of my own when i was trying to build them. Try tearing down your front shocks and take a picture of how you installed the parts and we can tell you what's up.
JusBox is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 12:13 PM
  #10462  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

It's the rear shocks that are supposed to have the spacer in, even then they're not really needed. In the front it will cause more problems because the shock bodies are short.
What springs are you using? As far as I know all Alex Racing springs are black. The rears on your photo aren't sitting on the threaded collar properly, they should sit on the step. Alex Racing springs are shorter than a lot of other makes, so you need them for the proper ride height in most cases.

And of course, never measure your ride height without all the electronics in it, especially the cells.
Herminator is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 12:15 PM
  #10463  
TC3
Tech Regular
 
TC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 319
Default

@pumpkinfish
i think u are using longer springs (in rear) than the alex springs..
TC3 is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 12:30 PM
  #10464  
TC3
Tech Regular
 
TC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 319
Default

Originally posted by GTO2
that should be lowering the roll center. It will roll less in cornering. On the other hand, too much roll will make the car feel twitchy.
lowering the rollcenter will result in more chassie roll
but it will increase traction...
TC3 is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 12:32 PM
  #10465  
TC3
Tech Regular
 
TC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 319
Default

does anybody know, if tamiya trf shocks fit the R2 ??
thx
TC3 is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 03:56 PM
  #10466  
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Default HELP PLEASE

I'm sure this has been asked b4 but i don't think a full answer has ever been given !!

When using the XENON front C-Hubs on my R3 i have an issue with ground clearence, well lack of it, the Hubs make contact with the wishbones very soon stoping there downward travel keeping the chassis within about 3mm of the ground when using worn foams.

Is there anything that can be done to help with this problem or is a change back to the std. C-hubs ??

Only thing i could think of was to take a dremel to the shoulders of the alloy C-hubs to narrow them allowing more movement ?!?!
that just seems alittle drastic ??
Merciless is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 06:00 PM
  #10467  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
pumpkinfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Schwenksville, PA
Posts: 609
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I squeezed on my TC3 springs . I was working off of Linger's setup sheet since he had posted a carpet setup that is close to my track. I figured that would be a good start point.

I will put on the included black springs...are all four the same rate? I will also tear down my shocks and post how I assembled them.
pumpkinfish is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 07:52 PM
  #10468  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
SpeedDesignz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 555
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

AE springs are to long for the cuda shocks.

Go to SpeedTech and order some Yokomo ones.


Also I've noticed that if the tc3 guys are running one kind of tension. (say .., AE yellow 35.00) With the cuda you are going to want to go a few rates lower. Right now I'm using Yokomo Hot Green in front / Hot pink In rear. That's a good starting point for mod. Works like crap with stock though. If you are running stock I'd say a combination of Brown in front / Grey in rear.

YS-1750 Brown
YS-1755 Grey

Steve should have all the springs in stock.

Good Luck !
SpeedDesignz is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 08:20 PM
  #10469  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (84)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,668
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Hey TC3
I'm running Tamiya shock and useing TC3 shock spring.. works great
PS. Don't use tamiya spring they're alittle too long.
OVA is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 08:29 PM
  #10470  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (84)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,668
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Hey DHIracing .com
If you change your camber link to top location rear hub, the will give you a higher Roll Center and make the TC react quicker
OVA is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.