R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-04-2004, 12:16 PM   #8356
Regional Moderator
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: IRT #122
Posts: 3,364
Default Re: Re: R3 looking good

Quote:
Originally posted by Randman
I knew ya had em somewhere
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 010.jpg (28.2 KB, 95 views)
Ko Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 12:22 PM   #8357
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ko Racer
there at the photo shop now hope to pick them up monday
i will show you a few when i get them back
Did you get your R3 already?
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 12:22 PM   #8358
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: R3 looking good

Quote:
Originally posted by Ko Racer
Very nice, but it looks like the shock tower will still have to be removed to get it on.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 12:45 PM   #8359
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via ICQ to Herminator
Default

good pic there KO, looks like there isn't the option of mid span arms though, with the rear of the chassis cut away like that.
Herminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 12:56 PM   #8360
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Still not sold on the sparkle chassis but looks nice. I'd like to hear some opinions on the car compared to the R2 as i'm still leaning towards the R2.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 02:06 PM   #8361
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,800
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

herminator
Got me thinking about R2 just might be a better car to get
not better but easy car to work on...
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 02:46 PM   #8362
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: akron,ohio
Posts: 23
Default batteries

hey fellas, my r2 with the hop up chassis has slots for battery tape only to hold in the batteries, but from side impact in carpet racing my batteries keep hitting my drive shaft. has any one thought of putting a little bar down the middle to keep the batteries from being moved around or is there another remedy? ty
chefmo88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 03:01 PM   #8363
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,800
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Wow batteries hitting drive shaft Maybe you should slow down and drive with smart. ask any of the fast guy they'll tell you the same thing take your time to learn to get around the track
PS if you taped it good then the should hold down the battery.
The tape doesnt hold down very well from high impact Good luck
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 03:20 PM   #8364
Tech Fanatic
 
pucho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 804
Send a message via AIM to pucho
Default

How thick is the chassis on the R3? 2.5mm?
pucho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 04:10 PM   #8365
Tech Regular
 
Gazza_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bath, England
Posts: 327
Send a message via Yahoo to Gazza_D
Default

chefmo88

Silly question, but have you chamferred the edges of the battery slots? Helps the cell sit in nice and low, I also did the outside end as GP calls a bit bigger and this helps them sit in there a lot better. Shouldnt have any problems after that. I have modified my car to take an XRay 6 cell battery holder and that works a dream.
Gazza_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 04:28 PM   #8366
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via ICQ to Herminator
Default

As Gaz says, make sure your slots are chamfered well and make sure you tape them down tightly. What chassis have you got? On the Xenon chassis there is an extra hole meant to be used by the standard motor mount. You can take a servo mount block and put it there in the center of the chassis to help stop the cells from moving inwards. Or if you have another chassis you could drilll a hole a little further forwards to do the same.
I've never had any problems when using tape though.
Herminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 04:52 PM   #8367
Regional Moderator
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: IRT #122
Posts: 3,364
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Randman
Did you get your R3 already?
No Sir.............no R3 here!
Ko Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 05:30 PM   #8368
Tech Regular
 
Gazza_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bath, England
Posts: 327
Send a message via Yahoo to Gazza_D
Default

Seems like GTO2 and Dave (who else) are the only ones with their R3's at the mo

Happy with my R2 at the mo and theres not that much difference between that and an R3 anyway. Just the rack type sterring from what I've seen. Sent a PM to Dave to find out all the little changes, but he seems to be working far to hard of late to be natural. Promotion board soon Dave????
Gazza_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 06:05 PM   #8369
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AWOLsoldier
Still not sold on the sparkle chassis but looks nice. I'd like to hear some opinions on the car compared to the R2 as i'm still leaning towards the R2.
Give it a little time, it'll propably grow on ya
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2004, 06:06 PM   #8370
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default Re: batteries

Quote:
Originally posted by chefmo88
hey fellas, my r2 with the hop up chassis has slots for battery tape only to hold in the batteries, but from side impact in carpet racing my batteries keep hitting my drive shaft. has any one thought of putting a little bar down the middle to keep the batteries from being moved around or is there another remedy? ty
Get some of the Tobee Craft cell seperators for the SD, drill a couple holes, and they'll solve your problem.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 Funkymojo R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-03-2007 01:00 PM
alex racing barracuda con81 Electric On-Road 1 12-14-2005 03:36 AM
WTT: Alex Racing Barracuda R2 for PS2 AZ_Ron Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 02-13-2005 07:30 PM
Alex Racing Barracuda R3-New. rcracing1973 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 04-11-2004 08:29 AM
Alex Racing Barracuda Bugs Bunny Singapore R/C Racers 6 01-22-2003 11:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:33 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net