Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 >

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Old 01-02-2004, 10:15 AM
  #8311  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

do you use the long shock bodies in front or rear? i got this car from Rocketron, and the long are in the back. he mentioned i may need to switch them....
Turbonium is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 10:32 AM
  #8312  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Originally posted by tamiyadriver
do you use the long shock bodies in front or rear? i got this car from Rocketron, and the long are in the back. he mentioned i may need to switch them....
keep the longs on the rear for now, what he probably meant was you may want to buy short bodies for the rear so you have short ones all round. Quite a few people do this (me included) as with the long bodies you can get the shock limiting suspension compression when using the inner shock positions.
Herminator is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 10:32 AM
  #8313  
Tech Addict
 
John_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 724
Default

i think some of the guys found out that when they used some of the shock mounting positions they wernt getin the proper shock travel at low ride heights with the long bodys in the rear, so they changed to the shorter bodys all round, mabe that was what he was talking about
John_S is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 10:35 AM
  #8314  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by tamiyadriver
do you use the long shock bodies in front or rear? i got this car from Rocketron, and the long are in the back. he mentioned i may need to switch them....
Did ya get his blue or purple car?
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 12:15 PM
  #8315  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

i got the blue one... plus some of the extra parts he had. ive had it for a couple months, but with some of the races we have had around here, just hasnt let me spend enuff time with it. generally more comfortable with my Evo3's, since i run it every weekend...
Turbonium is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 12:19 PM
  #8316  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by tamiyadriver
i got the blue one... plus some of the extra parts he had. ive had it for a couple months, but with some of the races we have had around here, just hasnt let me spend enuff time with it. generally more comfortable with my Evo3's, since i run it every weekend...
His blue car is the one he was running with, very good car, he got that thing dialed at SoCal.
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 02:22 PM
  #8317  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

it does really well... it still has pretty much the same setup. i did switch to a diff in the front, tho, since me and oneways usually dont get along. i think i need to switch to heavier shock oil. it has the HPI #2s, and i think 40 wt right now. do i need the midspan arms when i run on carpet? i didnt get any of those yet... mostly run on a surface called Skid-Not...
Turbonium is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 02:37 PM
  #8318  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (4)
 
ImGoinRCn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 2,309
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I use the midspan on carpet...
ImGoinRCn is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 02:38 PM
  #8319  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by tamiyadriver
it does really well... it still has pretty much the same setup. i did switch to a diff in the front, tho, since me and oneways usually dont get along. i think i need to switch to heavier shock oil. it has the HPI #2s, and i think 40 wt right now. do i need the midspan arms when i run on carpet? i didnt get any of those yet... mostly run on a surface called Skid-Not...
For carpet I'd propably up the oil to 60wt or so, and go with the midspan arms. Did he give you any spare springs?
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 02:48 PM
  #8320  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

i thought i needed those arms for carpet... and yep, he gave me a pretty good assortment of the AR springs, from 5.25 to 6.75, all in 1.4 dia wire. plus i have a very good asst of Yoke MR4TC springs to choose from.
Turbonium is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 02:59 PM
  #8321  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I'd start out with the 5.25 all around, with 60wt oil, and the short span arms. Might not be dialed, but it'll be a starting point.
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 03:08 PM
  #8322  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

cool, thanks! ill give it a shot. i have never been to as big a race as the Novak, but lots of guys here in town go up there every year. ill try that out and go from there...
Turbonium is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 03:09 PM
  #8323  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Good luck with it, should work descently. If not, just tell us what's wrong and we can help with the setup.
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 03:29 PM
  #8324  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Springfield, Illinois
Posts: 129
Default sway bar assembly/install

Got some new tires and a couple of sway bars for the R2 today.
Anyone have a picture of one assembled and installed??
Does the included spacer replace the one between the tower and bulkhead and which way does the slot face ...towards the bulkhead or the shock tower?
what about the long threaded rod, is there a certain length that needs to be when assembled
Help!!!

Thanks

Jim C
JIMC is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 03:50 PM
  #8325  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I dont have a pic, but I can help you out. The included spacer replaces the stock one with the kit. I had my swaybar closest to the shock towers, not the bulkhead, although I dont know that it matters either way. The threaded piece doesnt need to be any exact measurement, but try to get the 2 as close to eachother as you can. I actually built 12 of the swaybar ball ends and paired them up with the closest ones together. Just try to make the swaybar level.
Randy Caster is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.