Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 >

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Old 11-12-2003, 02:20 PM
  #7006  
Tech Regular
 
Gazza_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bath, England
Posts: 327
Default

So the 9550 servo, is it an analogue or digital servo and does it have metal or plastic gears????? Excuse the ignorance, only have Sanwa and KO servos
Gazza_D is offline  
Old 11-12-2003, 02:24 PM
  #7007  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default FUTABA S9550 SPECS

Here are the specs:

FEATURES:
Digitally Enhanced Microprocessor Cut About 1/2 of the Response
Time From Transmitter Input To Servo Reaction.
Low Profile allows for the servo to fit into wings and lay
down in car chassis for less obstruction.
Coreless Motor
Metal Gears
Dual Ball-Bearings
High Torque
Case is Made of Black Plastic
Dust and Water Resistant (Not Waterproof)
High current/Low resistance servo leads.
Ideal for F3A aileron application and 1/10 scale electric
touring car

SPECS:
Speed: .14 Sec/60 Deg @ 4.8V or .11 sec/60 deg @ 6V
Torque: 67 oz/in @ 4.8V - 83 oz/in @ 6V
(4.8 kg/cm @ 4.8V - 6.0 kg/cm @ 6V)
Weight: 1.6 oz (45g)
Length: 1.6" (41mm)
Width: 0.8" (20mm)
Height: 1.0" (25mm)
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 11-12-2003, 02:24 PM
  #7008  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,219
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Gazza_D
So the 9550 servo, is it an analogue or digital servo and does it have metal or plastic gears????? Excuse the ignorance, only have Sanwa and KO servos
It is a digital servo. Not sure if it has metal gears or not. I would think that it does but I would check the Futaba website and see if it tells you.
wyd is offline  
Old 11-12-2003, 02:32 PM
  #7009  
Tech Regular
 
Gazza_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bath, England
Posts: 327
Default

Cheers for the info guys

not that I need to create anymore space:-

(a little out of focus but you get the idea!)
Attached Thumbnails Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3-104_0457.jpg  
Gazza_D is offline  
Old 11-12-2003, 03:04 PM
  #7010  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Well you could put the reciever on the chassis, I can just about do it with my KO servo, KO reciever and MRT VX Pro speedo, but using velcro to attach them at the moment means they move a little and the speedo can touch the endbell of the motor if I have them like this. It would actually touch the end of the armature so I don't want that. I have the reciever ontop of the servo for now but the Cirrus should be here in two days and I should be able to fit it along side the reciever on the chassis and have a bit more clearence. If I had a 9550 there would be bags of room
Herminator is offline  
Old 11-12-2003, 06:18 PM
  #7011  
Tech Regular
 
Paul_Kultcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 283
Default

thx guys, the Futaba 9550 servo seems to be the way to go.
Paul_Kultcha is offline  
Old 11-12-2003, 11:07 PM
  #7012  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Why are you usin velcro to hold your stuff in place herm?
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 11-13-2003, 10:24 AM
  #7013  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

And once again, where the heck is everyone???

The other night I had over 3 pages to catch up on, and last night, no posts at all
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 11-13-2003, 10:31 AM
  #7014  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
berger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Im here the new barracuda anodised colour is brown though.
berger is offline  
Old 11-13-2003, 10:32 AM
  #7015  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (4)
 
ImGoinRCn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 2,309
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by berger
Im here the new barracuda anodised colour is brown though.
ewww
ImGoinRCn is offline  
Old 11-13-2003, 10:35 AM
  #7016  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by berger
Im here the new barracuda anodised colour is brown though.
lol, that would definately suck.
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 11-13-2003, 10:39 AM
  #7017  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Originally posted by Randman
Why are you usin velcro to hold your stuff in place herm?
Well Back when I got my Cuda I also had the RC Lab to swap electronics into so velcro was the quick and easy choice. Now I've got the new chassis and new speedo (tomorrow hopefully) I will probably try and find some nice strong double sided tape. The velcro I've been using is strong stuff though, made for heavy duty applications, like holding sub boxes in the boots (trunks for you overseas people) of cars.
Herminator is offline  
Old 11-13-2003, 10:39 AM
  #7018  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by berger
Im here the new barracuda anodised colour is brown though.
brown..

rc-zombies is offline  
Old 11-13-2003, 11:04 AM
  #7019  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Herminator
Well Back when I got my Cuda I also had the RC Lab to swap electronics into so velcro was the quick and easy choice. Now I've got the new chassis and new speedo (tomorrow hopefully) I will probably try and find some nice strong double sided tape. The velcro I've been using is strong stuff though, made for heavy duty applications, like holding sub boxes in the boots (trunks for you overseas people) of cars.
I've always used servo tape, gotta have that low CG man

If you can find it over there, MIP tape is "da bomb" it holds strong, but when you go to take the electronics out, it doesnt rip and tear.
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 11-13-2003, 11:05 AM
  #7020  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ridin my Harley
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Thinking about getting back into TC. I want the Cuda but I don't konw if I should wait for teh R3 or not.
Adam Hartzell is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.