R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-30-2003, 09:25 PM   #6256
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by racer
are there any other type of shocks that can be used with the R2?

when i squeeze the shocks, it starts leaking on the lower rubber seal. should i bleed the shocks alittle more?

Thanks
I've never had a problem with R2 shocks leaking, you might want to make sure they are blead correctly. Steve Wang uses Yokomo shocks on his R2, you can get them right from him at Speedtechrc.com
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 09:28 PM   #6257
Tech Addict
 
racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ADVAN Le Mans Project
Posts: 707
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Randman
I've never had a problem with R2 shocks leaking, you might want to make sure they are blead correctly. Steve Wang uses Yokomo shocks on his R2, you can get them right from him at Speedtechrc.com
do you think Tamiya shocks can be used?
racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 09:40 PM   #6258
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by racer
do you think Tamiya shocks can be used?
Never heard of it done... but anything can be adapted with the right hardware.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 11:19 PM   #6259
Tech Master
 
forty6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Default Xenon conv. kit

Does the Xenon conv. kit have the batteries on the right side too like the stock chassis?


Randman: u got PM
forty6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 11:39 PM   #6260
Tech Master
 
madjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,769
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to madjack
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by racer
are there any other type of shocks that can be used with the R2?

when i squeeze the shocks, it starts leaking on the lower rubber seal. should i bleed the shocks alittle more?

what kind of dampers do most of you use? the stock or modified?

Thanks
I have run both the stock and Tamiya units on my R2. It takes very little to put the Tamiya shocks on your car...smooth shocks, that is for sure.
madjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 11:40 PM   #6261
Tech Master
 
madjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,769
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to madjack
Default Re: Xenon conv. kit

Quote:
Originally posted by forty6
Does the Xenon conv. kit have the batteries on the right side too like the stock chassis?


Randman: u got PM
Yes the bats. are on the same side, but about 1/4 inch forward from the stock R2 chassis
madjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 12:19 AM   #6262
Tech Champion
 
SpeedTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 6,028
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AWOLsoldier
Yah i think i'm going to try the labtech 7.7 pro. SteveM has the previous model for sale, not the 7.7 pro but it's a great deal as well. I just want to go with the newest. As far as support... yah no local support but that's going to change in a few months. If anyone is interested in getting one, pm me.
We were selling the Lab 7.6 at one point, I drove one for about three months. AWOLSoldier, if you need any opinions on the car, email me.

Steve Wang
__________________
>>>www.SpeedtechHobbies.com<<<
SpeedTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 12:21 AM   #6263
Tech Champion
 
SpeedTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 6,028
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Tamiya shocks will work on the cuda, I know a few guys running them. You just have to make sure the shock lengths are around what the instructions specify. Also, the stock shocks on the cuda are really good and should be really smooth if assembled correctly. If it leaks, check the O-rings (on the top of the shock and also at the bottom where the aluminum ends that hold the shock cartridge) when screwing on the aluminum bottom ends of the shock, the O-ring can sometimes get squeezed out and cuase a air hole for oil to leak out.

Also, I used Yokomo shocks on my R2 mainly because I want to copy Kitazawa's setup (The Alex/Xenon racer that finished 5th at the Japanese Nats, who by the way use to run for Yokomo) The R2 shocks are fine

Steve Wang
__________________
>>>www.SpeedtechHobbies.com<<<
SpeedTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 12:24 AM   #6264
Tech Champion
 
SpeedTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 6,028
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wyd
I don't think he is anymore. Something must have happened. SteveM on the RCLab site that they don't have a US distributor at this time. If Speedtech was I might think of getting one of these cars to mess around with.
To make a long story short, it was a car we were trying to get going here, but with the shaft drive car phenomenon, we couldn't get the lab to take off. It's a good car for club racing and your intermediate racer will find the car to be competitive...but for the serious racers, they might find certain limitations with the car.

Steve Wang
__________________
>>>www.SpeedtechHobbies.com<<<
SpeedTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 07:15 AM   #6265
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SpeedTech
I used Yokomo shocks on my R2 mainly because I want to copy Kitazawa's setup (The Alex/Xenon racer that finished 5th at the Japanese Nats, who by the way use to run for Yokomo) The R2 shocks are fine

Steve Wang

... SD shocks? did you use the diaphram also? on the R2, do you use a diaphram? how about the shock oil, did you use the one recommended by ALEX or YOKE?

... did you notce a difference in handling with the SD shocks on the R2? what springs did you use? rayspeed or ALEX?

thanks

- jason

Last edited by highwayman; 10-31-2003 at 07:34 AM.
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 07:30 AM   #6266
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: akron,ohio
Posts: 23
Default battery

hey fellas, put down 4 -26 lap heats last night, 4th in b-main(thats darn good for me) but was wondering, I put in the pal set up and was having problems with battery lock down. because I couldn't use the factory holder I too some mounts off my 12-scale and flipped the battery brace up-side down to hold the batterys but the brace bows in the middle. and I haven't had much luck taping but is that the only way to go? ty
chefmo88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 08:18 AM   #6267
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SpeedTech
We were selling the Lab 7.6 at one point, I drove one for about three months. AWOLSoldier, if you need any opinions on the car, email me.

Steve Wang
Sent you an email steve... let me know if you got it.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 08:36 AM   #6268
Regional Moderator
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: IRT #122
Posts: 3,364
Default Re: battery

Quote:
Originally posted by chefmo88
hey fellas, put down 4 -26 lap heats last night, 4th in b-main(thats darn good for me) but was wondering, I put in the pal set up and was having problems with battery lock down. because I couldn't use the factory holder I too some mounts off my 12-scale and flipped the battery brace up-side down to hold the batterys but the brace bows in the middle. and I haven't had much luck taping but is that the only way to go? ty
you can do them like this if you have a dremrel . this has worked out good and you can still use the battery brace .
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bpost.jpg (152.5 KB, 75 views)
Ko Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 08:48 AM   #6269
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default Re: Xenon conv. kit

Quote:
Originally posted by forty6
Does the Xenon conv. kit have the batteries on the right side too like the stock chassis?


Randman: u got PM
Back at ya
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 10:10 AM   #6270
Tech Champion
 
SpeedTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 6,028
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by highwayman
... SD shocks? did you use the diaphram also? on the R2, do you use a diaphram? how about the shock oil, did you use the one recommended by ALEX or YOKE?

... did you notce a difference in handling with the SD shocks on the R2? what springs did you use? rayspeed or ALEX?

thanks

- jason
Hi Jason,

I didn't use the diaphram, I just use the regular plastic cap. You can use the diaphram (YS-8D) on the Yokomo shocks (YS-1sss-6 is what I used) and it will also work on the R2 shocks. When you put it on the R2 shocks, make sure you remove the O-ring on the top of the shock that seals the plastic shock cap. You won't need it for the diaphram type shocks.

I use 40WT associated shock oil. There is really no significant gain by switching to the Yokomo shocks. But the Yokomo shocks were just a bit easier to bleed for some reason (maybe I just got lucky during assembly ) I used Yokomo springs, and I haven't tried the rayspeed stuff yet.

Steve Wang
__________________
>>>www.SpeedtechHobbies.com<<<
SpeedTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 Funkymojo R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-03-2007 01:00 PM
alex racing barracuda con81 Electric On-Road 1 12-14-2005 03:36 AM
WTT: Alex Racing Barracuda R2 for PS2 AZ_Ron Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 02-13-2005 07:30 PM
Alex Racing Barracuda R3-New. rcracing1973 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 04-11-2004 08:29 AM
Alex Racing Barracuda Bugs Bunny Singapore R/C Racers 6 01-22-2003 11:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:09 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net