Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 >

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Like Tree4Likes

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Old 10-23-2003, 10:44 PM
  #5776  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
You really need to get that Cuda back together

-Dave

man do you need to send that one to me to..
lol, propably be quicker to send it to you... I'm just having a hard time getting myself to start sanding that chassis... Lots of cutouts = lots of time

I've already got the tough stuff built, so as soon as I seal it up, it'll take maybe 30 mins to build...
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 10-23-2003, 10:46 PM
  #5777  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Randman
lol, propably be quicker to send it to you... I'm just having a hard time getting myself to start sanding that chassis... Lots of cutouts = lots of time

I've already got the tough stuff built, so as soon as I seal it up, it'll take maybe 30 mins to build...

or 30 mins to pack up and send to me

-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 10-23-2003, 10:49 PM
  #5778  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Originally posted by Randman
I might have to go with the Pro-Trac charger... looks like it has everything I need. Is the motor run in stand necissary to do motor run in?

You dont know of a price list in USD do you?
Yeah, unfortunatly you need the motor run in stand thing to do a motor run in, tempted to get it myself now, then I can run in the Cuda's drivetrain overnight whenever I change gears
Price list is linked at the bottom of the page, the middle button below the UK price. Just need to convert pounds to dollars, lucky you get away with uk vat I use http://www.xe.com/ucc all the time to convert currencies, just have to be weary it's likely to end up a little more because they use transfer rates of large amounts I think.

There may be a small waiting list at the moment for it, since the guy that makes them has just come back from a holiday/race event, at normal times you can sometimes have to wait a couple weeks atleast you can tell him what colour facia and heatsink you want it with though
Herminator is offline  
Old 10-23-2003, 10:49 PM
  #5779  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

lol, I'll get around to it after this Sunday, just had a lot to do this week... built 4 battery packs, and 4 motors, plus worked on the STi a bit as well
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 10-23-2003, 10:50 PM
  #5780  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
or 30 mins to pack up and send to me

-Dave
err... not with your mail system
Herminator is offline  
Old 10-23-2003, 10:53 PM
  #5781  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Just did a conversion, for the charger, temp module, motor run in, and post......

471.484 USD


Ouch, sounds even more in dollars than pounds

Oh yeah, I forgot to put the carry case in the pic, that comes as standard so it stays clean when transporting it . although it could do with some card or something in it to make it stiff for better protection
Herminator is offline  
Old 10-23-2003, 10:58 PM
  #5782  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Herminator
err... not with your mail system
actually I can get stuff back quick...it's just the getting to me here in Japan part that stinks

-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 10-23-2003, 10:59 PM
  #5783  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
The Pro trak looks nice...but then again it looks like a phone

-Dave
Atleast you don't have to get within 30cm to read the silly little text crammed onto a large blue screen

All those keys are very handy, although I only just started to use them (manuals are for wimps ) the keys can be used as hotkeys, so you hold a certain number down and it will start an automatic discharge/charge without going through the options.
Herminator is offline  
Old 10-23-2003, 11:00 PM
  #5784  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Wow! I didn't realize that dollars vs pounds were so different... That charger would cost more than the GFX over here, and yet I'm still so tempted...
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 10-23-2003, 11:01 PM
  #5785  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
actually I can get stuff back quick...it's just the getting to me here in Japan part that stinks

-Dave
yes well thats the point, he's got to get it to you in Japan before you can build it
If it was quick I'd be tempted to get you to quieten my Cuda I don't have a spare to drive though while it would take probably around a month just to get to you
Herminator is offline  
Old 10-23-2003, 11:01 PM
  #5786  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Herminator
Just did a conversion, for the charger, temp module, motor run in, and post......

471.484 USD


Ouch, sounds even more in dollars than pounds

Oh yeah, I forgot to put the carry case in the pic, that comes as standard so it stays clean when transporting it . although it could do with some card or something in it to make it stiff for better protection
Do the cables to monitor the individual cells come with the charger?
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 10-23-2003, 11:03 PM
  #5787  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Originally posted by Randman
Wow! I didn't realize that dollars vs pounds were so different... That charger would cost more than the GFX over here, and yet I'm still so tempted...
yeah, the difference has grown a lot recently which is actually quite nice for me

Go on, be different
Herminator is offline  
Old 10-23-2003, 11:03 PM
  #5788  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Herminator
yeah, the difference has grown a lot recently which is actually quite nice for me

Go on, be different
I do like the look of the charger, you said that he can custom anodize the heatsink, and make a custom face as well?
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 10-23-2003, 11:07 PM
  #5789  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Originally posted by Randman
Do the cables to monitor the individual cells come with the charger?
yup, I think it's almost another of those parts that cost more to make than for the components but he makes it anyway and gives it with the charger because he calibrates each charger to take into account the length of the wires So you shouldn't change the length of any of the charging wires. It comes with a small sheet telling you the calibration numbers incase for some reason they wander, need to keep that very safe I think it's done to the 100th of a volt.
Herminator is offline  
Old 10-23-2003, 11:16 PM
  #5790  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

Originally posted by Randman
I do like the look of the charger, you said that he can custom anodize the heatsink, and make a custom face as well?
You can pick from the old black heatsink and blue or purple anodized. If you're really fussy you could re-anodize it yourself I suppose, you thinking orange?
The facia comes in a couple colours too I think, atleast it did when I got mine, but the pic of the options doesn't seem to be up anymore, the links gone anyway. There is the one on the site and my charger with multicoloured clouds, there is also a purple clouds one and possibly blue. There was also a link for a black facia that you could use to put the text/cut outs onto a picture of your choice and print out, it's link has gone too You may be able to ask for the file, or even send a pic for him to use and print out for you. He's a friendly guy, although he'll be a touch busy at the moment
Herminator is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.