R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-24-2003, 04:17 PM   #3616
Tech Regular
 
Gazza_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bath, England
Posts: 327
Send a message via Yahoo to Gazza_D
Talking WOW!

Run the Cuda at my local track for the first time.

I ran the TC3 to give me some lap times to aim for then put same motor/tyre combo on the Cuda and went for it. Straight out of the box using RBF's Reedy set up was matching the times with my sorted??? TC3

Went up a pinion cos the Cuda could easily pull the bigger gear, couls have probably gone up another tooth (64dp) without any problems. Only other cahnge on the car was to move the front shock upper mounting in 2 holes (back to kit I think) to give a touch more initial turn in.

Car responded very well to the changes and by the third run on a med/hard insert vice med the Cuda was over a second a lap faster than my TC3!!!!!

Was even able to run similar laps to a 19T driver and only lost out a bit down the main staight.

Everyone trackside extreemely impressed with my new mount and local top dog wooried I was over 1/2 second a lap faster than his best.

Thanks for your help and advice guys.

Roll on the nationals next week
Gazza_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2003, 06:05 PM   #3617
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via ICQ to Herminator
Default

Looks like RBF's setup is a good starting point, I'll have to try it when my springs arrive.
I've found myself regularaly going back to using a very close to kit setup but with RC Lab pinks up front (a step stiffer than kit)
It seems to give a nice balance for most tracks, with a few adjustments needed with shock positions/droop/camber to get the turn in right or back end to follow nicely around corners.
I just wish I had the opertunity to spend a day or two at a track getting the car fully tuned, instead of settling for a good but not quite right setup.
Herminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2003, 08:44 PM   #3618
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cHckbOY5
no blue?
If you want blue, just use the Associated Factory Team titanium blue ones...
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2003, 08:48 PM   #3619
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default Re: WOW!

Quote:
Originally posted by Gazza_D
Run the Cuda at my local track for the first time.

I ran the TC3 to give me some lap times to aim for then put same motor/tyre combo on the Cuda and went for it. Straight out of the box using RBF's Reedy set up was matching the times with my sorted??? TC3

Went up a pinion cos the Cuda could easily pull the bigger gear, couls have probably gone up another tooth (64dp) without any problems. Only other cahnge on the car was to move the front shock upper mounting in 2 holes (back to kit I think) to give a touch more initial turn in.

Car responded very well to the changes and by the third run on a med/hard insert vice med the Cuda was over a second a lap faster than my TC3!!!!!

Was even able to run similar laps to a 19T driver and only lost out a bit down the main staight.

Everyone trackside extreemely impressed with my new mount and local top dog wooried I was over 1/2 second a lap faster than his best.

Thanks for your help and advice guys.

Roll on the nationals next week
The R2 is the car to have right now, it's so easy to tune, and so fast box stock. You really don't need any hopups on the car, but what fun would it be without breaking your wallet on hopups
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2003, 09:18 PM   #3620
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: WOW!

Quote:
Originally posted by Randman
The R2 is the car to have right now, it's so easy to tune, and so fast box stock. You really don't need any hopups on the car, but what fun would it be without breaking your wallet on hopups
Don"t let Gazza_D fool you that Web Cuda is loaded with all of the same goodies that yo have on you web Randy....I sent that Car to him....He was the guy that got the other one.. Xenon Hubs...in orange and a PAL drive system..

-Dave
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2003, 09:46 PM   #3621
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: WOW!

Quote:
Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
Don"t let Gazza_D fool you that Web Cuda is loaded with all of the same goodies that yo have on you web Randy....I sent that Car to him....He was the guy that got the other one.. Xenon Hubs...in orange and a PAL drive system..

-Dave
...but is it PAL Type A equipped???
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 12:47 AM   #3622
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: WOW!

Quote:
Originally posted by Randman
...but is it PAL Type A equipped???
Nope but it`s just as loaded as the Orange one that I have now..

-Dave
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 01:02 AM   #3623
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Once mine is finished, we're gonna have 3 of em that are loaded like yours
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 01:13 AM   #3624
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Randman
Once mine is finished, we're gonna have 3 of em that are loaded like yours
Sounds sweet..

BTW you have a PM

-Dave
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 01:40 AM   #3625
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Back at ya Dave-O
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 05:00 AM   #3626
TC3
Tech Regular
 
TC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 319
Default Re: Re: shocks

Quote:
Originally posted by Randman
Spacer #15 is a little bit of a pain in the ass to get in correctly... My trick is to slide it over the shaft of a wrench, until it buts up against the handle part (this works with my MIP .050 wrench, not sure about others) and just press it in the cap until the lowest piece of the spacer sits about 1mm out from the bottom of the cap. You'll see how far it's supposed to stick out once you get all 4 done, and just make sure they are all the same. The rear of the R2 has uptravel problems, and one of my tricks to get a little bit more is once the spacer is in all the way, I shave it flush with the bottom of the cap, this gives you a little more uptravel, and takes away the need for front shock bodies in the rear. Be sure that those caps are not sitting at an angle, otherwise your shaft will bind. The shaft should be very smooth, with only a little bind caused by the O-Rings when you get everything done right.
thx
r u using green slime on ur shock shafts?
TC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 06:26 AM   #3627
TC3
Tech Regular
 
TC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 319
Default

should i uese the short ballcups on the rear shocks, or on the front shocks?
i installed the quick shockmounts , but they are way to long, if u wnat tho change the shockposition u have to remove mor than one nut
i think i ll cut them a little bit...
TC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 08:28 AM   #3628
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via ICQ to Herminator
Default

You shouldn't have to remove more than one nut with the quick shockmounts
From the pictures I've seen they do look a little long but maybe thats for an option of mounting the shocks a different way.
Anyway, you should have the flat square section on the side the shock goes, and then the short end goes through the tower and is held by a nut on the other side, so you only have to remove the one nut to move the shock mounting position
Herminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 09:52 AM   #3629
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: shocks

Quote:
Originally posted by TC3
thx
r u using green slime on ur shock shafts?
I usually do, but I ran out recently, so I just coat them in shock oil before I push them through the O-Rings.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 09:54 AM   #3630
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TC3
should i uese the short ballcups on the rear shocks, or on the front shocks?
i installed the quick shockmounts , but they are way to long, if u wnat tho change the shockposition u have to remove mor than one nut
i think i ll cut them a little bit...
They are too long... You'll propably have to take the camber link off in order to change the shock position, so you may want to shorten them and see if it will work. The shocks are still really close to the camber link though.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 Funkymojo R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 02-03-2007 01:00 PM
alex racing barracuda con81 Electric On-Road 1 12-14-2005 03:36 AM
WTT: Alex Racing Barracuda R2 for PS2 AZ_Ron Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 02-13-2005 07:30 PM
Alex Racing Barracuda R3-New. rcracing1973 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 04-11-2004 08:29 AM
Alex Racing Barracuda Bugs Bunny Singapore R/C Racers 6 01-22-2003 11:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:45 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net