Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 >

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Like Tree4Likes

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Old 03-26-2003, 02:50 PM
  #271  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (4)
 
ImGoinRCn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 2,309
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I'm painting up a Yokomo D type... Dave told me that works good on the R2.
ImGoinRCn is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 02:50 PM
  #272  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
Fastburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Strathroy, ON
Posts: 1,191
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

I was able to get my R2 our for its maiden race last night.
had the day off work so me and some buddies went to the local carpet track(1 hour away) and spent the afternoon bombing around.
I basically raced the stock setup, with heavier oil and stiffer springs and the car was hooked, a little too hooked mind you. I was thinking the whole time though how I wish there wasnt so much rear toe, but I found the car very responsive to my every input. I ended up Tq'ing and winning, in a small field mind you, but its a good taste of what the car is capable of, and what im capable of.
things I would like though, especially as im going to be running it in Mod touring

the Above motor mount and the alum shaft/pinion mounts in blue.

im looking forward to dropping an 8x3 in it.
Fastburn is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 03:01 PM
  #273  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

First run I used an old Mondeo, been used on three different cars so it's full of body mount holes and the wheel arches are now huge
About to start painting a Chrysler 300M, will probably get an alfa later too, it's a good tuning change
Herminator is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 03:08 PM
  #274  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (4)
 
ImGoinRCn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 2,309
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Fastburn, what shock oil, pistons and tires did you run on carpet? We run stock/19turn with foams on carpet. I run 80wt oil and heavy springs on my yoke. Thanks!!
ImGoinRCn is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 03:39 PM
  #275  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Herminator
First run I used an old Mondeo, been used on three different cars so it's full of body mount holes and the wheel arches are now huge
About to start painting a Chrysler 300M, will probably get an alfa later too, it's a good tuning change
Hey Hermi' Stick with the 300M / Yokomo Type D / or Stratus 2.0..

These work the Best on the "CUDA's"

-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 03:42 PM
  #276  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by RideRed98
the Losi Alpha on mine...i like the looks for some reason
Try the Protoform Stratus 2.0 or 300M You'll be surprised how well they work on the Cuda'
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 03:48 PM
  #277  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Fastburn
I was able to get my R2 our for its maiden race last night.
had the day off work so me and some buddies went to the local carpet track(1 hour away) and spent the afternoon bombing around.
I basically raced the stock setup, with heavier oil and stiffer springs and the car was hooked, a little too hooked mind you. I was thinking the whole time though how I wish there wasnt so much rear toe, but I found the car very responsive to my every input. I ended up Tq'ing and winning, in a small field mind you, but its a good taste of what the car is capable of, and what im capable of.
things I would like though, especially as im going to be running it in Mod touring

the Above motor mount and the alum shaft/pinion mounts in blue.

im looking forward to dropping an 8x3 in it.
Congrats' on the Maiden run

plus a cuda with a 8x3 is going to move!!!!!!!!

-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 03:52 PM
  #278  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by ImGoinRCn
I'm painting up a Yokomo D type... Dave told me that works good on the R2.

Sure Does

-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 03:59 PM
  #279  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
Fastburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Strathroy, ON
Posts: 1,191
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by ImGoinRCn
Fastburn, what shock oil, pistons and tires did you run on carpet? We run stock/19turn with foams on carpet. I run 80wt oil and heavy springs on my yoke. Thanks!!
Well, being my first run on Carpet ever with a touing car, I decided to run it so that it was stuck, incase I got into trouble
I ran the stock pistons, and 50wt oil all around and heavy yok springs.
I know to run heavier oil on carpet, and most of the guys at the track run 70-100wt.
I just kept the car motoring and she did alright.
The body I ran was a protoform Volvo.
I dont know what it is abou this body, but I like in electric.
I won my outdoor title with it on my XXXS last year, and im gonna have one in my bag for this year, along with my protoform Vauxhall Vectra.
Maybe I can get my hands on a Frewer Holden Commodore as well.
Fastburn is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 04:03 PM
  #280  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
Fastburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Strathroy, ON
Posts: 1,191
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
Congrats' on the Maiden run

plus a cuda with a 8x3 is going to move!!!!!!!!

-Dave
Thanks Dave

Yeah, im hopin that the 8x3 will be enough motor for this year.
Im kinda worried about the way the pinion and spur line up.
I bitched the stock Xenon spur last night in about 20 mins, and replaced it with a Kimbrough which lasted all night.
I need to know where I can get that Speedway Pal motor/shaft mount and the front and rear alum pinion mounts.
Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.
and Steve, if you read this, if you have them, email me and I will buy them from you ASAP as my first outdoor race is on the 13th(my bday) and I dont want to have to run my Xray or TBevo2

thanks
Nate

[email protected]
Fastburn is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 04:11 PM
  #281  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
Fastburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Strathroy, ON
Posts: 1,191
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

ok....this might sound like a dumb question, but is there a translator I can DL that will allow me to view Japanese webpages in english?

Im tryin Dave's links and man, I thought french was tough.

help would be amazing

thanks
Nate :nods:
Fastburn is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 04:16 PM
  #282  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Fastburn
Thanks Dave

Yeah, im hopin that the 8x3 will be enough motor for this year.
Im kinda worried about the way the pinion and spur line up.
I bitched the stock Xenon spur last night in about 20 mins, and replaced it with a Kimbrough which lasted all night.
I need to know where I can get that Speedway Pal motor/shaft mount and the front and rear alum pinion mounts.
Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.
and Steve, if you read this, if you have them, email me and I will buy them from you ASAP as my first outdoor race is on the 13th(my bday) and I dont want to have to run my Xray or TBevo2

thanks
Nate

[email protected]
Steve Has the Alloy holders you need in Stock now drop him a e-mail!!!!

Also I think that Steve is trying to get the PAL motor mount/ shaft holders in soon .. also I Like using the Kimbrough Spurs also they are Bullet proof and they are a tad bit wider also

-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 04:27 PM
  #283  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Fastburn
ok....this might sound like a dumb question, but is there a translator I can DL that will allow me to view Japanese webpages in english?

Im tryin Dave's links and man, I thought french was tough.

help would be amazing

thanks
Nate :nods:
Try this link copy and paste the Japanese page to the Server.. Click here


Help you asked for .........you got it

-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 06:42 PM
  #284  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (4)
 
ImGoinRCn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 2,309
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
Try this link copy and paste the Japanese page to the Server.. Click here


Help you asked for .........you got it

-Dave
Thanks Dave, that is very useful!!!
ImGoinRCn is offline  
Old 03-26-2003, 06:51 PM
  #285  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by ImGoinRCn
Thanks Dave, that is very useful!!!
Your welcome

-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.