Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3 >

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Like Tree4Likes

Alex Racing Barracuda R2 & R3

Old 03-18-2003, 08:30 PM
  #151  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Saguenay, Québec, Canada
Posts: 13
Default

Dave :

By looking at the way the suspension arms are mounted (on pivot balls), i'm wondering if the arms have the bad habit of poping out sometime
MarNaDaKi is offline  
Old 03-18-2003, 09:42 PM
  #152  
Tech Fanatic
 
glide 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 760
Default ...what he means by "OUTLAW"

Originally posted by linger
Mark - what are you talking about
I think what Mdawson means is the the 2-speed ver. of the R2!!!

A friend of mine was in HKG a few days ago and he saw a partly assembled R2 in 1 of the shops there with a 2-speed transmission very similar to an NTC3 (cam type)....intresting.

Would love to see pics, if anyone has 1 please post.
Do you think this would work?? what happens when your batts drop?
glide 1 is offline  
Old 03-19-2003, 03:39 AM
  #153  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
Fastburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Strathroy, ON
Posts: 1,191
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default someone got my battery strap.......

Originally posted by itchynads
The R2 does come with a plastic battery strap


I just tore my box of my barracuda apart, and no battery strap.

Steve....is there any way that you would be able to send me a battery strap to replace the one that wasnt in my box?

Thanks
Nate
Fastburn is offline  
Old 03-19-2003, 06:57 AM
  #154  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Hey Guys...
The R1 Had a battery strap/holder when it came out.... but the they maid the chassis narrower on the R2 and moved the battery closer to the Drive shaft... .... ..now you'll still be able to use the Alloy Alex strap...but you will need to get mounting posts for it..


Now as for the A-arm balls.. if you can get one of those to come out in a crash your the man ...because I have never seen it done to this day yet!! ....but what you can do is turn the ball upsidedown and put a 1mm shim under the ball head to make up the differance in height ..


-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 03-19-2003, 07:22 AM
  #155  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default Re: ...what he means by "OUTLAW"

Originally posted by glide 1
I think what Mdawson means is the the 2-speed ver. of the R2!!!

A friend of mine was in HKG a few days ago and he saw a partly assembled R2 in 1 of the shops there with a 2-speed transmission very similar to an NTC3 (cam type)....intresting.

Would love to see pics, if anyone has 1 please post.
Do you think this would work?? what happens when your batts drop?
I think I know of the shop that has that stuff .... also the 2 speed came with the Early R2 as a option and the R1 chassis conversion kit!..works rather well but is mor suited for JMRCA 23T stock motors

-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 03-19-2003, 07:32 AM
  #156  
Ian
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Home
Posts: 310
Default Re: Re: ...what he means by "OUTLAW"

Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
I think I know of the shop that has that stuff .... also the 2 speed came with the Early R2 as a option and the R1 chassis conversion kit!..works rather well but is mor suited for JMRCA 23T stock motors

-Dave
do you mean the new R2 2speed has gearing options for mod motors??
Ian is offline  
Old 03-19-2003, 09:52 AM
  #157  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: ...what he means by "OUTLAW"

Originally posted by Ian
do you mean the new R2 2speed has gearing options for mod motors??
The 2 speed Kit from Alex only has 2 set gears it comes with....but at my local track there is a guy that makes gearing options up to 8.9 final I belive
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 03-19-2003, 10:02 AM
  #158  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (105)
 
Core Creations's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Back in the booth
Posts: 6,009
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

I took the setup sheet off the Speedtech/Barracuda site and cleaned it up a bit.....if anyone wants one to start with here it is.

Last edited by Core Creations; 07-22-2008 at 05:49 PM.
Core Creations is offline  
Old 03-19-2003, 10:22 AM
  #159  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,503
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Nice- printing it now
MikeR is offline  
Old 03-19-2003, 10:59 AM
  #160  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,087
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by CIVIC91
I took the setup sheet off the Speedtech/Barracuda site and cleaned it up a bit.....if anyone wants one to start with here it is.

Great Job!!!!!!!!!!!!


-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Old 03-19-2003, 05:14 PM
  #161  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
SpeedTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 6,028
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Civic91,

If you don't mind, I would like to use that on our website (www.alexracingusa.com) it looks great

Guys, I'm looking into the battery strap issue right now, I'll post something as soon as I can. And also, I'll let you guys know how everything went last night at SoCal Raceway with my "cuda"

Thanks

Steve Wang
SpeedTech is offline  
Old 03-19-2003, 05:26 PM
  #162  
Tech Elite
 
Herminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: England
Posts: 2,280
Default

So is the missing battery strap a one off or do the kits not come with one?

I may be waiting a little longer for my cuda aparently it only left CA at 11am today, which is more like 7pm to me
Herminator is offline  
Old 03-19-2003, 05:47 PM
  #163  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (105)
 
Core Creations's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Back in the booth
Posts: 6,009
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

No problem, just tried to make something a little easier to use. If anyone thinks it needs a change or anything added let me know.

Just got my R2 today.....in the building process. Gotta love that matte carbon fiber!
Core Creations is offline  
Old 03-20-2003, 09:44 AM
  #164  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (23)
 
Jeff Werner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 2,371
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Well Steve, some track reports from you running the Cuda is eagerly anticpated!....many of us are living vicariuously!


Jeff
Jeff Werner is offline  
Old 03-20-2003, 10:15 AM
  #165  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (5)
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Jeff Werner,

my TBEvo3 is for sale and I am just looking around. This car has a lot of potential. I dont like the camber link pick-up points (only because they are in totaly different positions than Tc3, Losi and TB), but very similar to cars that are only designed for rubber tire/asphalt racing. I am picky!!!! I dont want to spend weeks drilling new holes and custom making pieces to get this thing arond an Ozite track-if you know what I mean!!!

Ray
rayhuang is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.