007 chatter noise

Reply

Old 12-28-2006, 09:22 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 17
Default 007 chatter noise

hey i was running over at the track near my house with my new 007 that i got from christmas and everything was running fine. well it than started making a chatter noise when i turn the steering wheel all the way and its a full throttle i checked everything it's not the dog bones. has this happened to anyone else and if so i need help it only happens when i turn the wheel all the way when it's going straight its fine. thanks alot
Dan

Xray007
hckeyplayer74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 09:59 PM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (22)
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Probably the belt rubbing on the steering post.
Hold the car with the right side up, turn the wheel and throttle it.
If the belt rubs, tight'n it.
Holding it up right will be like making a hard right turn.
Also the less throw in steering travel will make the dog bones wear better, and corner smoother, with less resistance.
UN4RACING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 10:14 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (22)
 
xray racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 1,574
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Are you running on carpet???

If so, or you're running foams at all... it could be that they are rubbing on your lower shock collars.

Check with the car stationary whether, at full lock, the wheels rub on the shocks. If they do, reduce your travel so that they miss by 2mm or so, just to be sure.

Hope that helps,

Cheers,

Robbie
xray racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 04:30 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
 
stephen hilton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 265
Default

this problem is common on all cars turn your steering epa down.
stephen hilton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 08:22 AM
  #5  
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ROAR HAD ME BANNED FROM RC TECH.
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

If you find its nothing rubbing, and if you put your CVD's together try take a little bushing lube and put a few drops in the CVD, if the CVD quiets down you need to open up the axle side of the cvd socket with a grinder; or keep it lubed until it stops doing it (wears itself in.)

Both my cars did this in situations where I had to have the EPA 100%. Might be your issue too.
Desolas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 09:54 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
c-lyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,738
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

In my case it was the pin working loose from the drive shaft; a little threadlock on the set screw solved the problem.
c-lyon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 09:45 PM
  #7  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (22)
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

With al these tip's he better post back and let us know what the heck happened.
Propably shimed the camber link to high or the outer roll pin was comeing out?
UN4RACING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 07:27 PM
  #8  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 17
Default

hey guys thanks for all of the tips i'm gonna try them and see if it works. i already tried tightening the belt i have a feeling it's hitting the steering post in the middle. it first started with one one of the CVD's being loose and then i tightened it and i thought it would be fixed but that wasn't it. i'm going to try some of your tips and see what works. thanks for all of the help.
hckeyplayer74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 07:30 PM
  #9  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 17
Default

i am running on carpet with foams and i already looked at the shocks and wheels NOTHING is rubbing anywhere! i took apart the CVD's and rebuilt them
hckeyplayer74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 07:31 PM
  #10  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (22)
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Be sure and keep us up to date. And good luck and have fun thats an awesome car.
Man you had me biting my nails, the suspence.
UN4RACING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 09:30 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
 
PitCrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle Indoor Raceway
Posts: 2,129
Default

I can just about guarantee you its the CVD's. Lots of cars do this. Here is how you fix it. Turn down your EPA about 5-10%. You don't want them to full lock.
PitCrew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2006, 01:56 AM
  #12  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (22)
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I run the fk05 and put the spring steel hubs on, full lock can ruin those aluminum ones and cause a real pain when replacing a dog bone huh.
On the t2 it wasnt as bad though. but it would cause the wheels to wobble,and binde.
UN4RACING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2006, 05:43 AM
  #13  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
fire929's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Posts: 922
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

This happen before 2 me, check free movement of the cv's the migh b binding up.
fire929 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2006, 12:59 PM
  #14  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 17
Default

i checked all of the CVD's but there's nothing binding. and i turned the epa down but than i can't go around the turns on the track as well it takes the turns wider. i do love the car it's a great upgrade from a TC3 OF COURSE. i have an m8 and a futaba s9550 servo. i'm trying everything i no and there are guys at the track helping me but no one knows. it must be the CVD's.
hckeyplayer74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2006, 01:06 PM
  #15  
Tech Regular
 
thecrow2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 451
Default

If your lacking turn in from turning the EPA down, just set your front wheels with a hint of toe out
thecrow2k is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service