Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
GP3300 Overcharging >

GP3300 Overcharging

GP3300 Overcharging

Old 12-28-2006, 02:07 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
thecrow2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 451
Default GP3300 Overcharging

I just assembled some new Epic Monster Metal cells. I put them on a first charge and they took in 4300mah without peaking, I took them off the charger in fear that it wouldnt peak and they could vent or explode, is this normal.
thecrow2k is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 02:46 PM
  #2  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: IOWA
Posts: 89
Default

What amps are you charging them at? 5,6 and what is your delta peak? As long as your cell temp does not get above 130 you should be ok. 4300 mah's is a good number.


Good luck
Jack
jackh is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 02:46 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
thecrow2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 451
Default

I havent got a temp gauge but they felt rather hot. They were charged at 4amps
thecrow2k is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 02:48 PM
  #4  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: IOWA
Posts: 89
Default

You can buy a temp gun for about 30.00 US. I get mine from Harbor Freight.
CHEAP TOOLS.


Jack
jackh is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 02:54 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
thecrow2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 451
Default

Im in the UK and Im not really that bothered
thecrow2k is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 04:35 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
 
Speedie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844
Default

Its not that unusual for new cells to take alot of mah on the first charge especially if they sat around a while and self discharged alot. Discharge them and let them rest for a few hours and see what the second cycle yeilds.
Speedie is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 02:52 AM
  #7  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

what mv cutoff were you using?
surrealmaterial is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 02:57 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Usually the numbers I get would be about 3600-3700 on my good 'ol 3300s back then...But 4300 is really over that.... Do check if it is not damaged.
Ben.C is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 03:49 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
 
t4m1y4niac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4,309
Default

what charger did you use??? is there a temperature probe???
t4m1y4niac is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.