Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
How To Gear Novak 13.5 >

How To Gear Novak 13.5

How To Gear Novak 13.5

Old 12-31-2006, 11:54 PM
  #46  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (30)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,574
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

5.2 is perfect for norcal for sure.
racenut123 is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 10:54 PM
  #47  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (96)
 
lbckevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,654
Trader Rating: 96 (99%+)
Default

Hey guys...

I ran the 13.5 for the first time at our local indoor carpet track, BCRaceway.com . I ran the T2 "007 with RP30 rubber tires and geared it 30/114 and it thermal'd at 4:45 on the second to last lap....Its a tight 80x40 track. What would you guys recomend ?
lbckevin is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 05:18 AM
  #48  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (79)
 
F. Mendoza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 7,267
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

I reccomend you check your PMs.
F. Mendoza is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 10:03 AM
  #49  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,249
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lbckevin
Hey guys...

I ran the 13.5 for the first time at our local indoor carpet track, BCRaceway.com . I ran the T2 "007 with RP30 rubber tires and geared it 30/114 and it thermal'd at 4:45 on the second to last lap....Its a tight 80x40 track. What would you guys recomend ?
Hard to tell...and hard to believe. I thermal (in purpose) with 5.12 FDR @ about 8:15 minutes and I was gunning the car from start to finish (again, in purpose)...
The past weekend NOVAK race....ppl in 13.5 were running about 4.6-5ish FDR.

Your option is SINTERED rotor for sure....your FDR (6.46) sounds too high (slow).
Solara is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 09:31 PM
  #50  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (96)
 
lbckevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,654
Trader Rating: 96 (99%+)
Default

Thanks....I was using the stock rotor...Sintered rotor is on order !!
lbckevin is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 11:27 PM
  #51  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (2)
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,073
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lbckevin
Thanks....I was using the stock rotor...Sintered rotor is on order !!
Good idea, I was talking to Bob(Novak) during the weekend about the original & sintered rotors, & found out from him that the sintered one can handle MUCH more heat(about 100 degrees or so, if memory serves), which is why we were gearing them to the moon(Bob even said he tried 3.9:1 FDR & it just kept on pulling hard). But the thermalling happens with the original because it can't take the heat so well, so the ESC's thermal sensor was set for the temp with the original rotor in it(to protect it), but with the sintered one, some guys are just pulling out the blue sensor wire(which I'm told is the one to the thermal sensor) so it won't do a thermal shutdown(but obviously, that's one of those things where you are still taking a risk, & I for one intend to keep mine plugged in).....
Grizzbob is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.