R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2006, 10:18 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
D Hunt 3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Durand, IL / Platteville, WI
Posts: 2,225
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to D Hunt 3
Default M11 charging- AA NiMh

Ok, so I just got an M11 for xmas and some Energizer 2500mah NiMH batteries. I plan on using the charging outlet so I dont have to take out the batteries. I'll use my LRP Pulsar and Competition Electronics T-35bl for charging. How many amps and what should other settings be at for these chargers?

Thanks,
David
D Hunt 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 11:20 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
cfwdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 288
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

i just use an old cell phone charger that's rated for 12v and 300maH, it has the same jack as the battery holder. (M8, not M11)

on a side note, all of the Energizer2500 AA's that i have suck compared to the Rayovack2500's, and Panasonic 2100's. They don't seem to last nearly as long between charges.

(this comparison is using my phone charger, and the charger that comes with the batteries.)
cfwdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 11:22 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
D Hunt 3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Durand, IL / Platteville, WI
Posts: 2,225
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to D Hunt 3
Default

Well I plan on using my Pulsar and T-35bl so ya.
D Hunt 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 11:27 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D Hunt 3
Ok, so I just got an M11 for xmas and some Energizer 2500mah NiMH batteries. I plan on using the charging outlet so I dont have to take out the batteries. I'll use my LRP Pulsar and Competition Electronics T-35bl for charging. How many amps and what should other settings be at for these chargers?

Thanks,
David
dont do this or you may hurt the radio
wallyedmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 11:32 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
D Hunt 3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Durand, IL / Platteville, WI
Posts: 2,225
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to D Hunt 3
Default

What will? Charging it inside the radio?
D Hunt 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 12:09 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 441
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D Hunt 3
What will? Charging it inside the radio?
yes, when nimh charge, they release gas that can damage circuitry of radio
MManson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 01:40 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
AM03GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,028
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

i use my pulsar at 1 amp... has been working fine over 2 years...
__________________
Associated // Reedy // Radiopost // Integy // Parma PSE
AM03GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 02:34 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
D Hunt 3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Durand, IL / Platteville, WI
Posts: 2,225
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to D Hunt 3
Default

Thanks Guys!! I just charged them out outside the radio instead at 1 amp.

AMO- What do you use for a D-Peak on the pulsar?

David
D Hunt 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 03:04 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D Hunt 3

AMO- What do you use for a D-Peak on the pulsar?

David
I'd say under anything under 30 mV, i'm mostly using 15 on my Orion 2300 AA's but when i forget to change the profile i use 35 mV with a slight temp difference, maybe 5 degrees...
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Sav÷x - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 03:05 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

the proper way is to plug a slow charger in the radio cuz of the wiring and stuff its not good for the radio or take the pack out of the radio and charge at .8A i do both.
wallyedmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 03:40 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
D Hunt 3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Durand, IL / Platteville, WI
Posts: 2,225
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to D Hunt 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparx
I'd say under anything under 30 mV, i'm mostly using 15 on my Orion 2300 AA's but when i forget to change the profile i use 35 mV with a slight temp difference, maybe 5 degrees...

Thanks. Right now I'm using 25 at 6amps with my 3800's. Should I be using something different?

Thank You
D Hunt 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 04:31 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brisbane. Australia
Posts: 1,820
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

just charge them at .5 to .8 amps until they are slight ly warm maybe 36 degreee's celcius, but the most important thing is charge them out side the controller because people have had troubles with the m11 blowing a pin head capacitor because of the voltage spike caused bye freshly charged cells.
havnt had it happen but a few guys all agreed it happended to them so that enough for me to be cautious
__________________
Josh P
to make Keith happy
Corally phi
M11
SP GT
SP 5.5,17.5
aus jd 2703 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 07:17 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
AM03GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,028
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D Hunt 3
Thanks. Right now I'm using 25 at 6amps with my 3800's. Should I be using something different?

Thank You
im using 15mV delta peak at 1amp for my transmitter
__________________
Associated // Reedy // Radiopost // Integy // Parma PSE
AM03GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1100 mah nimh charging blackdog Micro and Mini Scales 6 12-26-2006 07:26 AM
Charging NiMH HVAC25000 Electric On-Road 9 03-07-2005 11:38 AM
Need help with charging AA NIMH MrRolla Australian Racing 7 09-26-2004 04:45 AM
Charging NiMH omyers Electric On-Road 1 06-28-2004 07:40 PM
Charging Nimh??? Lerlo Electric On-Road 1 04-12-2003 12:08 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:40 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net