Yokomo MR-4TC SD

Reply

Old 07-04-2005, 05:57 PM
  #14086  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Rob Phillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indianapolis / VA
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

How much droop are you running front and rear? How much rear toe? Where is it losing traction entering or exiting? Try running 2, 2.5, 3, degrees rear toe. try increasing rear droop. not enough info on your set up to really help.
Rob Phillips is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 06:04 PM
  #14087  
Tech Fanatic
 
SalvadoriRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brazil, Sao Paulo
Posts: 928
Default

also check if the rear suspension travel is smooth.....sometimes there's some binb on the suspension, and it really makes the rear suspension critical....
SalvadoriRacing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 06:11 PM
  #14088  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by todb
i just got a used rayspeed SD. Ran it on on carpet/rubber/stock. it was ok but the only problem was the rear end would come loose if i was not as smooth as possible which i did not like. it slowed me down to much. i have all rayspeed springs,pistons,oneway option, swaybars as well. i was just looking for some help to keep corner speed up without losing the rearend. thanks
In addition to what they mention, try rebuilding the diffs also.
lem2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 06:19 PM
  #14089  
Regional Moderator
 
daniz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: D-Square Racing
Posts: 3,189
Default

Originally Posted by todb
i just got a used rayspeed SD. Ran it on on carpet/rubber/stock. it was ok but the only problem was the rear end would come loose if i was not as smooth as possible which i did not like. it slowed me down to much. i have all rayspeed springs,pistons,oneway option, swaybars as well. i was just looking for some help to keep corner speed up without losing the rearend. thanks
Try to use less front droop and check your ball diff for gritty feeling.
daniz24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 07:21 PM
  #14090  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: auburn washington
Posts: 2,053
Default

Originally Posted by speedy-932
I just finished the drawings and will show them to the guy with the lathe on Thursday (I hope so... )... I hope I can find enough guys who want a spool and/or outdrives because then I will make them on a huge CNC centrum... Oh guys, that's fun... very precise but expensive... If I can find buyers for around 20 spools or 20 outdrives I will produce them there.

Gruß
Chris
i think you should copy the tc3/4 outdrives so we can use the pin cusions in the spool, alum spool with steel pins = short life. or make to accept the corally blades, i understand they will fit a yok drive pin perfectly just my thoughts
Turtlemaster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 10:28 PM
  #14091  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 377
Default

I forgot to say that. The outdrives and the spool are designed to work with the Xray blades. They work fine aswell. I don't have the Corally blades so I can't meassure them.

Cheers
Chris
speedy-932 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2005, 11:01 PM
  #14092  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,816
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Corally blades are .118 of an inch -JB
JayBee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 05:42 AM
  #14093  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 377
Default

Inch? What's that? We european guys only understand metric sizes...
I designed them to fit with the Xray blades for a few reasons:
1) Better part support
2) I think they are cheaper
3) I have the sizes for the blades here

But do you can make a picture where I can see a Corally blade installed on a Yokomo CVD? Perhaps they fit a bit better...

Cheers
Chris
speedy-932 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 05:53 AM
  #14094  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: auburn washington
Posts: 2,053
Default

Originally Posted by speedy-932
I forgot to say that. The outdrives and the spool are designed to work with the Xray blades. They work fine aswell. I don't have the Corally blades so I can't meassure them.

Cheers
Chris
cool. thanks.
Turtlemaster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 06:43 AM
  #14095  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I would take some outdrives....Two sets one for the BD and one for the LCG....
Let us know when and how much as If I have to buy x ray cvds I will have to make that purchase at the same time.
Thanks,
-Shookie <><


Originally Posted by speedy-932
I just finished the drawings and will show them to the guy with the lathe on Thursday (I hope so... )... I hope I can find enough guys who want a spool and/or outdrives because then I will make them on a huge CNC centrum... Oh guys, that's fun... very precise but expensive... If I can find buyers for around 20 spools or 20 outdrives I will produce them there.

Gruß
Chris
Mr. Shookie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 07:08 AM
  #14096  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Behind the screen
Posts: 226
Default

looks like I found some info on the one-way shaft! but its in Japanese, can someone translate please?

Go here: http://chihuahua.pupu.jp/rc2/34.htm at the end of page

It may be available at rc-rainbow or is it rainbowten?
Tbevofreak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 11:42 AM
  #14097  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 165
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Could anyone tell me if shock towers from BD fit to SD? And if they fit is it good idea to use them in SD?
Tral is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 11:51 AM
  #14098  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 377
Default

@Mr. Shookie: You won't have to buy new CVD's... just the small platic parts called blades... To imitate you...
http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/ebp...id=196&id=1924

I can tell you on Thursday how much they will cost...but still the same rule... the more you take the cheaper they will get...

Cheers
Chris
speedy-932 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 02:14 PM
  #14099  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (6)
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tral
Could anyone tell me if shock towers from BD fit to SD? And if they fit is it good idea to use them in SD?
Nope, sorry. the BD and SD use different mounting styles for the shock towers
Matt Howard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 03:33 PM
  #14100  
Tech Elite
 
Horatio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,056
Default

Originally Posted by speedy-932
@Mr. Shookie: You won't have to buy new CVD's... just the small platic parts called blades... To imitate you...
http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/ebp...id=196&id=1924

I can tell you on Thursday how much they will cost...but still the same rule... the more you take the cheaper they will get...

Cheers
Chris
You could also use RC Lab blades OR Corally blades - either of which will work perfectly provided the diff out's slots are filed carefully to suit. The bonus of using blades = no slop and virtually zero wear on your plastic diff outs.
Horatio is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service