R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2005, 04:23 PM   #13066
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,197
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JayBee
OK guys help time... here's my set-up-
*tyres- Take Off CS27
*ride height- 5mm
*droop (front-2mm) (rear- 6mm)
*shock oil- 40wt. all around
*springs- RS green all around
*shock tower position (front)- 2nd hole from INSIDE using old RS rear(not the new geometry one) shock tower
*camber link position (frt.)- lower row/ innermost hole (middle hole on C-hub)
*front HD lower arm position- middle
*shock tower position (rear)- 2nd hole from OUTSIDE using old RS rear shock tower
*camber link position (rear)- lower row/innermost hole (3rd from outside on hub carrier)
*3-degree rear toe
I'm on a tight-technical carpet track w/nice traction. I had RS blue springs on the rear first but the ass-end was sliding on initial thru mid-corner so I switched to green and that helped ALOT. The rear-end is scrubbing/skipping thru the corner now, if you know what I mean?
Could someone give me tips on how to improve my set-up, starting with some things to change first...
Thanx -JB
JayBee, was kinda having a simular problem this last weekend, couldn't seem to help anything no matter what I tried to change on the set-up. The car would tend to get loose or spin out in the sweepers. I spoke to Robert at Yokomo and he said it sounded like a hairline crack on the end of an arm. Closer inspection and sure enough there was a hairline crack at the end of the arm. You could barely see it. Robert recomended going the the heavy duty arms to fix the problem.

Try stiffing up the front of your car (heavier oil in front than rear 50/40) Rayspeed Red springs in front and Yellow in rear). Also put a little black grease in the slots of your diff halves for the universal pins to slide on. This will help with the chatter.
pops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 04:36 PM   #13067
mo
Tech Master
 
mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,359
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Hopefully no more super spinout for Alex. Did you get the new car yet?
__________________
TLR, Spektrum, Tekin, SMC, MO-GRIP, www.factory-rc.com https://www.shapeways.com/shops/MPP
mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 05:39 PM   #13068
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

hey Pops

you have a good starting set for 19T for SWR?


oops... nevermind... i'm in the wrong forum..
need set-up for the BD..
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 05:40 PM   #13069
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,197
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mo
Hopefully no more super spinout for Alex. Did you get the new car yet?
Should arrive tomorrow, didn't go out until Friday, hobby shops come first.
pops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 05:42 PM   #13070
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by pops
JayBee, was kinda having a simular problem this last weekend, couldn't seem to help anything no matter what I tried to change on the set-up. The car would tend to get loose or spin out in the sweepers. I spoke to Robert at Yokomo and he said it sounded like a hairline crack on the end of an arm. Closer inspection and sure enough there was a hairline crack at the end of the arm. You could barely see it. Robert recomended going the the heavy duty arms to fix the problem.

Try stiffing up the front of your car (heavier oil in front than rear 50/40) Rayspeed Red springs in front and Yellow in rear). Also put a little black grease in the slots of your diff halves for the universal pins to slide on. This will help with the chatter.
Thanx pops, I gotta check my arms now .
I do have the HD arms on the front but regular graphite on the rear.
And talking to Mr. Wang today I got similar advice with the addition of making my droop more equal.
Again thanx for the help -JB
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 05:44 PM   #13071
Tech Master
 
rc_bam226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,074
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rc-zombies
hey Pops

you have a good starting set for 19T for SWR?


oops... nevermind... i'm in the wrong forum..
need set-up for the BD..
DOH!!!
rc_bam226 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 05:48 PM   #13072
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,197
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JayBee
Thanx pops, I gotta check my arms now .
I do have the HD arms on the front but regular graphite on the rear.
And talking to Mr. Wang today I got similar advice with the addition of making my droop more equal.
Again thanx for the help -JB
Oh yeah, you've got way too much droop in the front, try 6mm in front and 5mm in rear.
pops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 05:51 PM   #13073
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,197
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rc-zombies
hey Pops

you have a good starting set for 19T for SWR?


oops... nevermind... i'm in the wrong forum..
need set-up for the BD..
From what I was told, the stock set up in the kit should be a pretty good staring point.
pops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 07:42 PM   #13074
Tech Regular
 
bigragu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: BROOKLYN
Posts: 302
Default can i use ssd chassie

does anyone know if you need the new chassie with the conversion kit or can you use a ssd chassie for it. i know that it has the slot system for the 3800 but i have a custom chassie made for carpet 4mm thick and i wonder if i can use it with the conversion kit. thanks for any info in advance.
bigragu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 10:08 PM   #13075
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,197
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: can i use ssd chassie

Quote:
Originally posted by bigragu
does anyone know if you need the new chassie with the conversion kit or can you use a ssd chassie for it. i know that it has the slot system for the 3800 but i have a custom chassie made for carpet 4mm thick and i wonder if i can use it with the conversion kit. thanks for any info in advance.

Last edited by pops; 04-04-2005 at 10:55 PM.
pops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 01:25 PM   #13076
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 377
Default

Does anyone have a good setup for the CGM and rubber tires (CS-27 or Sorex 28) for a high bite carpet track? My current setup is not bad but perhaps someone has a better one.

Thanks
Chris
speedy-932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 02:48 PM   #13077
Tech Master
 
rc_bam226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,074
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by speedy-932
Does anyone have a good setup for the CGM and rubber tires (CS-27 or Sorex 28) for a high bite carpet track? My current setup is not bad but perhaps someone has a better one.

Thanks
Chris
Check out www.yokomo.tk
rc_bam226 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 02:57 PM   #13078
Tech Master
 
NVisible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

wtf.... edit
NVisible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 04:47 PM   #13079
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Adelaide..
Posts: 3,414
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to v0rtex Send a message via AIM to v0rtex Send a message via MSN to v0rtex
Default

Does anyone know if the new LCG conversion will convert a CGM ok, or will it only convert an SSG or Black?

I assume the CGM would be OK because its just a different chassis on the CGM, right?
__________________
;)
v0rtex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 04:50 PM   #13080
Tech Champion
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

.
__________________
Official member of The Guild of Calamitous Intent and proud supporter of Conjectural Technologies.
Serpent S411 LE kit #192
RCTech #361
Matt Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yokomo or yokomo parts yokomo7 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 12-19-2009 08:45 PM
Yokomo is coming out with a new version of the bd : Yokomo BD 2 roadrashracing Electric On-Road 12 12-19-2007 07:08 AM
yokomo Aluminum Steering Bellcrank Posts and other yokomo spares hurley081182 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 02-27-2006 06:07 PM
Lots FS: CRC 3.2 & Yokomo YRX-12, Yokomo TC Tires, JR Receivers, New Motors, more TurboFC3S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 09-22-2005 09:38 PM
WTB Yokomo 1/12 Mini...Trade for 1/10 Yokomo dynamic_e R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-12-2003 05:58 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:07 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net