R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-10-2004, 12:00 AM   #9301
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,997
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pops
Some of us like it hot! As long as I've got shade it's cool.
Mo and I will be there. It should be a fun weekend. I think that Javier might even be able to come out and play. I'm going to win this weekend for Matt..
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 02:21 AM   #9302
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,367
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Re: Well what do ya know :)

Quote:
Originally posted by Mabuchi540

Now tell me if I'm wrong but putting the pin in the lower hole (like you said most ppl do) would have the same effect as turning in the droop screw 1mm that I have done to stop the binding?
No. This just lowers the ride height. Don't mistake the real droop (how far your chassis can go up without the wheels lifting from the ground) with what your read on the droop gauge (which is just probing the lowest point your A-arm can go to without the droop screw hitting the chassis). Depending on where you measure, the gauge gives different readings, while physically the droop remains the same.

What I suggest : Throw the droop gauge off the window, build the shocks with around 63mm length overall in front, mount them on the car, set up camber symmetrically at 1degree (pops suggested that asymetrical camber could be the reason for your "problem"), set ride height to 5mm (with the shock collars), recheck camber, and tell us if your "problem" is still here.

Quote:
Originally posted by Mabuchi540
And if this is correct what would be the better option 2mm and the lower hole or 3mm and the upper hole?
Don't bother about this stuff at this point.... this is way too early to wonder about this kind of stuff handling-wise... Build the car and we'll see later. Setups are made to be modified all the time anyway. The good thing about running the lower hole is that it prevents hitting the inside spokes of some rims. Use the lower hole (front).

May I add that you never gave any replies to the extensive fix suggestions that were made by the various users who tried to help you. As far as I'm concerned, this was my last post about your issues...

Good luck,
Paul
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 02:40 AM   #9303
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,204
Default

Well seeing how as most of the comments more or less suggested an inattention to following kit instructions (see various axel comments for example) I thought it best not to reply to them.

I've been building and rechecking this thing for weeks only at a couple of hours a night if there are mistakes it's because I followed the instructions.
Mabuchi540 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 05:20 AM   #9304
Registered User
 
ritchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,044
Default

i probably should have asked or stated earlier, to use the droop gauge, you hold it against the bottom of the chassis with the "steps" on the top side and measure at the edge of the arm below the outter hinge pin and screw. hope this helps, and it sounds like the problem is solved. alot of times, kit instructions will give you a setting point "2mm below arm" but thats not actually the running set up point. in the back of the manual it may have come with a couple of setups. those are the ones you should be setting the car to. good luck and kit butt
ritchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 10:04 AM   #9305
Tech Addict
 
Sleighty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 568
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mabuchi540
Well seeing how as most of the comments more or less suggested an inattention to following kit instructions (see various axel comments for example) I thought it best not to reply to them.

I've been building and rechecking this thing for weeks only at a couple of hours a night if there are mistakes it's because I followed the instructions.
I'll know where to take my help in the future
__________________
A1-RC.com
Team Scream
Xray
Sleighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 10:45 AM   #9306
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hinckley, England
Posts: 448
Default

hi.

what is the best shop in the us that sells the cgm will post to england?

Last edited by agower; 08-10-2004 at 11:34 AM.
agower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 01:07 PM   #9307
Tech Elite
 
dawgmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,505
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default PIc

CCGM
Attached Images
File Type: jpg picture 556.jpg (192.0 KB, 125 views)
dawgmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 01:08 PM   #9308
Tech Elite
 
dawgmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,505
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default pic

cgm
Attached Images
File Type: jpg picture 544.jpg (140.4 KB, 113 views)
dawgmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 01:13 PM   #9309
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by agower
hi.

what is the best shop in the us that sells the cgm will post to england?

It is not in US but it is better than shops in US.

http://shopping.rcmodel.hk/product_i...18df1c0d7ba104

They ship to UK and everywhere. You can ask them to mark the package as a gift or with value up to 40 and you will not pay any duties. I always do it.
dicort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 01:14 PM   #9310
Tech Elite
 
dawgmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,505
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default pic

cgm
Attached Images
File Type: jpg picture 548.jpg (145.1 KB, 123 views)
dawgmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 01:25 PM   #9311
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hinckley, England
Posts: 448
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dicort
It is not in US but it is better than shops in US.

http://shopping.rcmodel.hk/product_i...18df1c0d7ba104

They ship to UK and everywhere. You can ask them to mark the package as a gift or with value up to 40 and you will not pay any duties. I always do it.
how do you ask them to do that?
agower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 01:38 PM   #9312
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 35
Default

When you are in CHECKOUT there will be window "add comments about your order".
dicort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 02:22 PM   #9313
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 121
Default

A couple of quick question...

-Do you have to remove the "outdrive" retaining rings in order to remove the diff/bones? (mine where a nightmare to put on and off)?

-What is a good rolling weight (roughly)?

-Where to find a basic carpet foam stock CGM setup?

-I run the folloing...FRONT: stock outdrives w/Yoke ti bones, REAR: Delrin outdrives w/Yoke Aluminum bones. Any possible problems or suggestion? (Seen allot of different drive-line variations discussed).

Thanks!
Shrub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 03:30 PM   #9314
Tech Apprentice
 
mymax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Quebec,Canada
Posts: 94
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pops
Yes, it sells for $99.50
look at this one...........

http://integy.automated-shops.com/cg...32104542978.e6
mymax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 04:04 PM   #9315
Tech Master
 
rc_bam226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,074
Default

Wow, integy has defintely showed up Yokomo on the aftermarket motor mount. I would pay that price anyday for that kind of upgrade.
rc_bam226 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yokomo or yokomo parts yokomo7 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 12-19-2009 08:45 PM
Yokomo is coming out with a new version of the bd : Yokomo BD 2 roadrashracing Electric On-Road 12 12-19-2007 07:08 AM
yokomo Aluminum Steering Bellcrank Posts and other yokomo spares hurley081182 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 02-27-2006 06:07 PM
Lots FS: CRC 3.2 & Yokomo YRX-12, Yokomo TC Tires, JR Receivers, New Motors, more TurboFC3S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 09-22-2005 09:38 PM
WTB Yokomo 1/12 Mini...Trade for 1/10 Yokomo dynamic_e R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-12-2003 05:58 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:25 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net