R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-29-2004, 10:13 AM   #8731
Tech Elite
 
Horatio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,056
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Matt Howard
Horatio- this was my reply to trigger who first posted the news that chris was gone. I was going to wait till the morning when I had 100% confirmation on what was going on but he beat me to it. Just trying to set the record straight that I did not start all this "gossip", I was trying to get all the info so people didn't start assuming stuff.

Horatio, Pops- Chill out guys, it's all good
Matt - we all know how much you love to gossip!! ;-D

OK, chill pills all round. I'm now calm.

POPS: If I could shake your hand, I would. I'll wipe my nose if you do
Horatio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 10:28 AM   #8732
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,367
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Horatio


Yep, I got the parts changed all by myself!! My initial complaining was well before even the new, thicker H type c hub moulding came out. The example I finally got hold, weeks after you had it in the states, was full of air and the moulding was flawed. In fact I took pictures of it and it was totally different to other H types I subsequently purchased - no one on this thread could explain it.

Then you guys got the Graphite arms and C Hubs etc. Again, I complained that we didn't have them here (in the UK). When eventually the graphite arms (wishbones this side of the pond) arrived I praised how much better they were and commented/argued that the graphite parts were infact far more durable, which is not normally the case with graphite parts.

Then I complained that the Graphite C hubs still hadn't arrived here - they eventually got here May this year!!!


awwww puh-leeeez.... not again...
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 10:31 AM   #8733
Tech Elite
 
Horatio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,056
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lonestar
awwww puh-leeeez.... not again...


Well he started it........
Horatio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 10:49 AM   #8734
Tech Champion
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by caveman
Hi, Matt. I know CGM is better on high traction surface, eg,indoor carpet. But is it also better on lower grip track like asphalt. I have the Rayspeed version now and it works great on outdoor tracks, Do you think CGM is even better, because you used the CGM at Reedy race. Thanks.
The Rayspeed conversion is a good car but it is still a double deck car and it is possible for it to take a tweek in a wreck. I think for racing on all surfaces the CGM is better because it is stiffer and it doesn't seem to tweek after a wreck. The only downside is that the CGM is pretty heavy where as with the Rayspeed car we had to add weight to bring it up to legal weight.
__________________
Official member of The Guild of Calamitous Intent and proud supporter of Conjectural Technologies.
Serpent S411 LE kit #192
RCTech #361
Matt Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 10:59 AM   #8735
Tech Elite
 
Horatio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,056
Default

Pops:

Talking of wiping noses, take a look at lonestar's avatar. Can you do that?......I bet you can
Horatio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 01:43 PM   #8736
Tech Elite
 
yodace's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Caleb
Posts: 2,497
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Pops,

Were did u get those gold univerals..

Anybody,

How do u adjust the shocks so u don't have to use droop screws...?
yodace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 02:05 PM   #8737
Tech Champion
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KilRuf
Well it's the same basic concept as setting droop with droop screws. You are just unscrewing or screwing the shock ends until you get the droop that you want. So for instance.. saying that you have regular SD shock towers (not RaySpeed as they require longer shocks). Start all your shocks at the same length front and rear. Say, 61mm for example like mine. Drive the car. Then adjust shock length by .5mm until you get the reaction that you are looking for. Or use a droop guage and unscrew the ends til you get the droop that you want. For me, I'll just keep screwing in or screwing out the shock ends by .5mm until I feel the car do what I want.

Now there may be some down sides to this, if your chassis is warped, your droop will not be the same left to right. So you may end up with a longer shock on the left side than the right just to get things even. This'll mean you'll have one arm with a longer stroke/rebound than the other too. But if your chassis is warped... you need to replace it. Also, it takes more time to do this until you find a good setting for your track.

I hope this helps alittle....
Yodace- Kilruf answered your question yesterday
__________________
Official member of The Guild of Calamitous Intent and proud supporter of Conjectural Technologies.
Serpent S411 LE kit #192
RCTech #361
Matt Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 03:20 PM   #8738
Tech Elite
 
yodace's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Caleb
Posts: 2,497
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Matt,

Opps sorry...

A few threads back somebody said to start with measurements.
62.5 front
60 rear

I was just wondering what u set you shocks at ?
I was wondering currently what springs are u running?
What surface do u race on be it indoor or outdoor?

yodace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 03:32 PM   #8739
Tech Champion
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by yodace
Matt,

Opps sorry...

A few threads back somebody said to start with measurements.
62.5 front
60 rear

I was just wondering what u set you shocks at ?
I was wondering currently what springs are u running?
What surface do u race on be it indoor or outdoor?
I don't know the length of my shocks since I set droop with the droop screws. I usually run a droop measurement of 7 in the front and 6 in the rear. My home track is speedworld raceway and its an outdoor asphalt track in Roseville california. You can see pics of the track at www.speedworldraceway.com The last time I ran I used RS white's in the front and RS blues in the rear.
__________________
Official member of The Guild of Calamitous Intent and proud supporter of Conjectural Technologies.
Serpent S411 LE kit #192
RCTech #361
Matt Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 05:14 PM   #8740
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,197
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by yodace
Pops,

Were did u get those gold univerals..

Anybody,

How do u adjust the shocks so u don't have to use droop screws...?
They aren't gold, just bad lighting.

IMO it is easier to adjust the droop than to fiddle with the length of the shocks every time you change holes on the arms and shock towers. You should also make sure you limit the uptravel of the shocks as well. I use Shumacher clip on shock-limiters, they work very well. We run 61.5mm shocks in the front with 5mm of outside limiters and 64mm shocks on the rear with 4mm of outside limiters. Assoc 40wt in front and 35 wt in rear. Using Yokomo#3 pistions all around, with green springs on front and pink springs on the rear. We are using 2nd hole from the outside on both towers(CGM type), 2nd hole from inside on front arm and 2nd hole from outside on rear arm. The car was very stable, and had plenty of traction.
pops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 05:36 PM   #8741
Tech Elite
 
yodace's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Caleb
Posts: 2,497
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the info:

I am making the switch from the SSG to the CGM.

I'm currently running the AE springs and shock ends. Have u guys every tried the AE springs/ends on your cars?
yodace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 05:41 PM   #8742
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,197
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by yodace
Thanks for the info:

I am making the switch from the SSG to the CGM.

I'm currently running the AE springs and shock ends. Have u guys every tried the AE springs/ends on your cars?
No but I think Matt did.
pops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 05:46 PM   #8743
Tech Champion
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by yodace
Thanks for the info:

I am making the switch from the SSG to the CGM.

I'm currently running the AE springs and shock ends. Have u guys every tried the AE springs/ends on your cars?
before the RS spring cups came out I ran the AE shock cups and AE ball cups for shock ends and used a ball stud on the arms to attach them whenever I ran the AE or RS springs. It worked fine.
__________________
Official member of The Guild of Calamitous Intent and proud supporter of Conjectural Technologies.
Serpent S411 LE kit #192
RCTech #361
Matt Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 07:31 PM   #8744
Tech Elite
 
yodace's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Caleb
Posts: 2,497
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Any tips on aligning the servo in the CGM? I'm using the SSG servo horn.
yodace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 07:36 PM   #8745
Tech Champion
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by yodace
Any tips on aligning the servo in the CGM? I'm using the SSG servo horn.
I know the servo arm is supposed to be angled but I don't remember by how much. Check your instructions, they should tell you. Any reason you're not using the supplied servo saver? I haven't had a problem with mine.
__________________
Official member of The Guild of Calamitous Intent and proud supporter of Conjectural Technologies.
Serpent S411 LE kit #192
RCTech #361
Matt Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yokomo or yokomo parts yokomo7 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 12-19-2009 08:45 PM
Yokomo is coming out with a new version of the bd : Yokomo BD 2 roadrashracing Electric On-Road 12 12-19-2007 07:08 AM
yokomo Aluminum Steering Bellcrank Posts and other yokomo spares hurley081182 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 02-27-2006 06:07 PM
Lots FS: CRC 3.2 & Yokomo YRX-12, Yokomo TC Tires, JR Receivers, New Motors, more TurboFC3S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 09-22-2005 09:38 PM
WTB Yokomo 1/12 Mini...Trade for 1/10 Yokomo dynamic_e R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-12-2003 05:58 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:55 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net