R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-20-2004, 10:45 PM   #8341
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jas
Does the Rayspeed conversion has the same body mount locations as the standard SD?

Thanks in advance!
The body mounts are about 1-1.5cm wider than the standard.
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 01:28 AM   #8342
Tech Master
 
johnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta. G.C.
Posts: 1,762
Default

Hi friends. Greetings from Malta.

Rayspeed bodymount holes are different to SSG.Much further apart.

Here's my electrics installation. I have a normal size servo - KO digital, GT7 with external schottky diode and capacitor, XXL receiver and fan, and they all fit.

Regards

Joe from sunny Malta.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg jan 04 yoke electrics.jpg (77.8 KB, 249 views)
johnbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 01:32 AM   #8343
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Joe,

Is that a special capacitator on the GT7? How did you mount it?

Also, on the GT7, the wire for the switch is on the lower part of the case. How did you mount it vertically?

Thanks
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 05:45 AM   #8344
Tech Master
 
johnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta. G.C.
Posts: 1,762
Default

DOMO.

The capacitor is the normal GT7 one - just covered with shrink tube.

You can easily redrill the GT7 case to put the switch wherever it's most convenient.

Actually since that photo was taken I have repositioned the GT7 flat, instead of being on it's side, the capacitor upright between the fan and the receiver and the schottky diode on the floor between the GT7 and the fan.

They are positioned this way on my son's TC3 also. see photo attached.

Regards

Joe from sunny Malta.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg jan 04 jb tc3.jpg (99.9 KB, 241 views)
johnbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 12:31 PM   #8345
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Thanks.

But how did you mount the capacitator? Double sided tape? Doesn't really seem sticky enough to last a whole race.
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 03:22 PM   #8346
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

How does one prepare the gears in the gear box, for the best efficiency? Dry or a certain lube?
alien too is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 04:10 PM   #8347
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 300
Default

I assembled mine with no lube and broke them in by running the motor at 5v for 2 hours. I've seen others use teflon spray. It's up to you. Also, graphite versions of the gears have just come recently. I've never had a problem with mine so far.

Also, after the gears are broken in, you may want to play with the shims. Just don't go overboard or you might get into some problems.
Headbanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 02:10 PM   #8348
Tech Master
 
NVisible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Aku-Man
Thanks lem2, I'll try the tall one.


NVisible, here's my old pic.
can i ask where you got all that blue stuff?
ie: shock mounts, body posts, axles?
NVisible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 09:43 AM   #8349
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

Quote:
can i ask where you got all that blue stuff?
Speedtech, Tower Hobbies, RC Model, Precisionrc, and KT Hobbies.
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 09:46 AM   #8350
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NVisible
can i ask where you got all that blue stuff?
ie: shock mounts, body posts, axles?
the stuff are probably from RC Square, and its available at SpeedtechRC. You can view the products at rc-square.com
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 09:49 AM   #8351
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

Square did not make any blue part for SD except newly released shock mount.

I used blue spacer and Tamiya alum. ball nuts for my shock mount.
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 10:26 AM   #8352
Tech Master
 
NVisible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

thx aku-man
NVisible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 11:49 AM   #8353
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

Touring Car Nordics in Staffanstorp, Sweden is coming up. I have searched through the collection to find my SD again and race outdoors for probably the first time on asphalt in elec sedan . I will run CGM because i don't have the time to converse it to SSG again
Now the question: What is the main difference in setting up the car for asphalt from running on Carpet?
It'll be heaps of fun!
BTW. I will run Sorex 36R's on some kind of Sorex insert and Schumacher rims (control tire)
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Sav÷x - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 09:29 PM   #8354
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Aku-Man
Square did not make any blue part for SD except newly released shock mount.

I used blue spacer and Tamiya alum. ball nuts for my shock mount.
i stand corrected. so where did you get the blu alum post?
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 10:01 PM   #8355
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 992
Default

Tobee Craft.
Aku-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yokomo or yokomo parts yokomo7 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 12-19-2009 08:45 PM
Yokomo is coming out with a new version of the bd : Yokomo BD 2 roadrashracing Electric On-Road 12 12-19-2007 07:08 AM
yokomo Aluminum Steering Bellcrank Posts and other yokomo spares hurley081182 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 02-27-2006 06:07 PM
Lots FS: CRC 3.2 & Yokomo YRX-12, Yokomo TC Tires, JR Receivers, New Motors, more TurboFC3S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 09-22-2005 09:38 PM
WTB Yokomo 1/12 Mini...Trade for 1/10 Yokomo dynamic_e R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-12-2003 05:58 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:15 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net