R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-16-2004, 11:59 PM   #8296
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 31
Default

Hi guys:
I am pretty new to here, got my used MR-4TC SD a month ago, it was like new with bunch of hop-up, and i realize i am well too new, this thread has 277pages now, i am too busy to sit and read. I dont know if anyone asked or mentioned my question already, so i wonder if there is a part for Tamiya bodies? i mean all my bodies r Tamiya, i dont wanna measure and drill a new hole on it, it will look kinda weird with bunch of holes....
Thanks!
BBSGS4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2004, 03:22 AM   #8297
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Sorry, you're going to have to re-drill!
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2004, 08:44 AM   #8298
Tech Champion
 
ROBORAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: JP Raceway
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to ROBORAT
Default

What's the advantage of using the top-mounted sway bar as opposed to the standard sway. I noticed that Masami and other Yokomo drivers seem to prefer using the top-mounted one. Are there specific situations (i.e. track conditions, surface, type of tires, etc) where one type works better than the other? Thanks.
__________________
[YOKOMO BD7][REEDY RACING][TEAM ORION]
[Sanwa][LRP][Protoform]

http://www.hobbyhaven.com.my/
ROBORAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2004, 12:33 PM   #8299
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 1,499
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default Spool

Can anyone describe the feel/characteristics of using a Spool compared to using ball diff or oneway?

I've used ball diffs and one ways.
Geppetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2004, 04:20 PM   #8300
Tech Champion
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Re: Spool

Quote:
Originally posted by Geppetto
Can anyone describe the feel/characteristics of using a Spool compared to using ball diff or oneway?

I've used ball diffs and one ways.
a spool will have less steering than both the diff and oneway coming into a corner but it will have the same pull out of the corner as the oneway. It will also be easier to drive than a oneway and you'll be able to use the brakes to pass someone if you need it.
__________________
Official member of The Guild of Calamitous Intent and proud supporter of Conjectural Technologies.
Serpent S411 LE kit #192
RCTech #361
Matt Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2004, 04:26 PM   #8301
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sosidge
Sorry, you're going to have to re-drill!
such a pain in the butt to measure it....
is there any easy way???
or i realy have to measure it???
BBSGS4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2004, 05:20 PM   #8302
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BBSGS4
such a pain in the butt to measure it....
is there any easy way???
or i realy have to measure it???
The easy way is to place the body over the chassis and line up the wheel wells over the wheels. Take a flash light and shine it up from the bottom. Mark where the body posts are and drill away. This should work unless you have a real thick coat of paint.
Headbanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2004, 02:10 PM   #8303
Tech Master
 
NVisible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default pics

wow 2nd page, thats no good.

Just got my car in the mail today, and of course. heres teh pix!
56k beware

1
2
3
Oh, just a question. What can i do about that battery strap? do they make a nicer looking (ano blue) one for it?
NVisible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2004, 03:23 PM   #8304
Tech Fanatic
 
utieh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: paris
Posts: 941
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

NVisible,

Shooter's is making a blue anoed battery strap, some shops in HK and Japan are selling it.

Does someone have some news about the new arms?
are the mounting holes different, did some yokomo drivers tried to put front or rear arms everywhere?
utieh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2004, 06:19 PM   #8305
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver Bc
Posts: 349
Default

You can also use the battery strap from the MR4tc - special car. It is blue andoised and it says YOKOMO on it. Cnc'ed in.
shortygy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2004, 06:26 PM   #8306
Tech Master
 
NVisible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

cool, thanks guys
NVisible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2004, 11:05 PM   #8307
jas
Tech Apprentice
 
jas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 90
Default

The CGM Conversion Kit doesn't come with the graphite parts (arms, hubs, steering blocks, C-hubs, gear box) as the full CGM kit does. Is that right?

Thanks in advance!
jas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2004, 11:33 PM   #8308
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,227
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

The conversion kit only comes with the parts to convert a regular plate chassis to the tub: chassis, shock towers, steering bellcranks, motor mount, chassis braces, and suspension mounts.
__________________
Thanks to pops

TLR, Fantom, Horizon, Spektrum, Trackside
Brian L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 03:04 AM   #8309
Tech Adept
 
asimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney AUSTRALIA
Posts: 234
Default

Does anyone have pics of the SSS/SS shock bodies. I want to see the difference.

I'm running a Rayspeed conversion on my Black. It recommends to run the SS shock bodies which are the longer ones right? The kit ones are the short ones?

Also, for those who are running the rayspeed chassis. Can you guys manage to run the Upper sway bars at the front? without having the shocks mounted to close to the middle?

Thanks
asimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 04:39 AM   #8310
Tech Apprentice
 
c.callcott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Tamworth, NSW
Posts: 66
Send a message via ICQ to c.callcott
Default

do you guys race rubber tyres in the US?

as i've only run my sd on foam, and i have the aussie winter champs coming up soon and they are going to be running a control rubber tyre and they will more then likely be sorex 28 or maybe even 24's...

If you guys dont mind, you wouldnt have any setup tips or starting points etc that work good over there?
c.callcott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yokomo or yokomo parts yokomo7 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 12-19-2009 08:45 PM
Yokomo is coming out with a new version of the bd : Yokomo BD 2 roadrashracing Electric On-Road 12 12-19-2007 07:08 AM
yokomo Aluminum Steering Bellcrank Posts and other yokomo spares hurley081182 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 02-27-2006 06:07 PM
Lots FS: CRC 3.2 & Yokomo YRX-12, Yokomo TC Tires, JR Receivers, New Motors, more TurboFC3S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 09-22-2005 09:38 PM
WTB Yokomo 1/12 Mini...Trade for 1/10 Yokomo dynamic_e R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-12-2003 05:58 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:33 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net